Selected sources on specific religious traditions:
Main databases for Religious Studies topics:
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for major religion and theology journals.
This link opens in a new windowProvides extensive coverage of world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Other databases that may be useful for this project:
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowATLA includes a Thesaurus that will help direct you to the spelling/phrasing of a particular holiday that that database uses for its subject terms.
What's a subject term? It's a standardized term that helps you find articles/resources on the same topic even if the keywords are different, or spelled differently: Chanukah/Hanukkah, for example.
In order to find ATLA's subject term for a particular holiday, click Thesaurus (near the top of the search page) and then type the term into the search box
From the library's homepage, click on Library Catalog to search for books.
Use Browse Search to search for individual holiday/tradition names as subject terms.
or for particular religious groups/affiliations.
* * * * *
These subject terms may be useful for finding resources about particular customs/traditions. Add the text in red to the name of the particular faith tradition, as shown below
Other, more ambiguously defined traditions may take some more fiddling around with search terms. Try these:
Need help finding ebooks while the library is closed?
Check out the Find Books tab on the main Religious Studies research guide!
The following related guides may also be useful to you:
