Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives Student Assistant Guide: Visitor Rules & Forms

A helpful guide for student assistants working in Special Collections.

Reading Room

Reading Room Quick Facts

  1. The Special Collections & Archives Reading Room provides a secure space for users to work with materials housed in the department.
  2. Any user can work with the materials, but they can only do so in the Reading Room. 
  3. Materials from Special Collections & Archives do not get checked-out.
  4. Materials in this department are handled with special care (they're one of a kind!)
  5. Users of the Reading Room MUST comply with registration forms and policies. 
  6. NO FOOD OR DRINK ALLOWED. This includes water, gum, mints, coffee, etc. 

Researcher Rules and Policies

These rules should be enforced uniformly. 

  • Researchers must write in pencil; no pens permitted.

  • Researchers may not take or make telephone calls in the reading room.

  • Personal items such as purses, book bags, briefcases, etc., must be placed in a locker. Jackets, coats, umbrellas, etc., should be placed on the coat hooks.

  • No food, drink, gum chewing, or smoking/vaping. Open drinks should be left in the gallery (not on display cases) or discarded.

  • Any researcher is allowed to access the material in Special Collections, but they must show a valid photo identification such as a driver’s license, passport, school, work, or military ID, and fill out a registration form. 

  • The reading room is for persons using Special Collections material only, not for study or other work. 

  • No handheld scanners are permitted. Researchers are permitted to use laptops, smart phones (for cameras or web access), or personal cameras at their research table.  The volume should be silenced on all electronic devices. 

  • Researchers may not remove any archival materials from the Reading Room.

  • During the week prior to final examinations and the exam period, library access is limited.  Non-GSU, USG, and ARCHE researchers must plan visits in advance, and Special Collections staff must obtain a security letter from the Library Administration Office to allow them access to the building. 

  • Saturday hours are by appointment only and must be made by 4 P.M. on Thursday.