Skip to main content

HIST 4290: Enslavement in the Americas (Fuller/Fall 2018): Books

Handbook of Latin American Studies

Online bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress

Bibliography published from 1936-present, so will include older materials potentially useful as primary sources.

New Resources relating to Atlantic Studies

Loading ...

Start By Searching Our Library Catalog

Use GILFind / "Catalog" tab on the GSU Library's homepage to find books in the GSU Library and at University System of Georgia libraries. 

GILFind includes books and materials from ALL of the GSU campuses: Atlanta, Clarkston, Decatur, Dunwoody, Newton, and Alpharetta. Use the "Place Request" link in the book's record to request a book from a GSU campus other than your own. GILFind also lists other materials in the library - including microfilm, dissertations, movies, music and special collections.

New! GILFind now also lets you search all of the University System of Georgia library holdings at once. Just select "University System of Georgia" instead of "Georgia State University" in Simple Search, or in the "Search Scope" dropdown in Advanced Search. 

To request a book from a GSU library:

  1. Click "Sign in" in the upper right-hand corner and sign in with your Campus ID and Password.
  2. Search for the book in the catalog.
  3. In the book's record, under "Get It," click on the name of the library with an "1 Available" copy.
  4. Click "Request" and select whichever GSU campus you want the book sent to in "Pickup Location."
  5. Click the orange "Request" button to submit.
  6. You will be notified by email when this book is available for pickup at the circulation desk on LN 1.

To request a book from any other USG campus via GIL Express: (click here for list of USG campuses)

  1. Click "Sign in" in the upper right-hand corner and sign in with your Campus ID and Password.
  2. Select "University System of Georgia" in the dropdown search box and search for the book.
  3. Click "More USG Libraries/GIL Express Request."
  4. Click the name of a USG library that shows as "Available" with a green dot. 
  5. Click "Request." The default "Pickup Institution" here should be "Georgia State University." If it is NOT, select "Georgia State University" from the list of schools. (Yes, it's silly that that list is not in alphabetical order. That is beyond my control, sadly). 
  6. Select whichever GSU campus you want the book sent to in "Pickup Library."
  7. Click the orange "Request" button to submit.
  8. You will be notified by email when this book is available for pickup at the circulation desk on LN 1.

You can also go to any GSU or USG Library and check out books in person using your Panthercard. 

A keyword search is a good place to start if you are looking for information on a topic. If you have more specific information, you can also search by title, subject or author.

Need more options? Try "Advanced Search" and "Browse Search" for more ways to search. 

* * * * * *

"Help! I'm looking at an ebook and can't figure out how to download it!"

We have a research guide to help with that! See http://research.library.gsu.edu/ebooks for information and instructions about how to access and download ebooks. Note that the answer will depend on the source of the ebook, so look for a vendor name like Ebook Central, eBooks on EBSCOHost, or Books 24x7 (for example) in the library catalog's information about the ebook. 

Use the Power of Subject Searching

Use these to search in the library catalog (GIL-Find) for relevant materials.

You can also use these terms keyword/subject terms searches to find secondary-source articles in Historical Abstracts and other databases (see the Articles tab, above). 

Examples might be:

  • Maroons (for more specific colonies/regions, try searches like Maroons Jamaica or Maroons Caribbean Area or Maroons Southern States -- switch out other colony names or region names)
  • Fugitive Slaves (try Fugitive Slaves Jamaica or similar strategies as with Maroons, above)
  • Slave Insurrections (again, add colony or region names to get more specific)
  • Slave Trade Caribbean Area (or other country/region: France, Atlantic Ocean Region, United States)
  • Cuba History (or start with another colony/regional name: Florida History, Jamaica History, Antigua History, Atlantic Ocean Region History
  • Spain Colonies America Race Relations (try substituting other colonizing countries in place of Spain: Denmark Colonies, etc.)
  • France Commerce America History (start with colonizing country name, like Spain, England, Denmark, and so on for resources on Atlantic trade)
  • Garifuna Caribbean people 
  • If you have identified particular individuals' or organizations'  names, those can also be useful search terms.
  • You can also try searching by names of events, for example: Maroon War (Jamaica: 1795-1796)

Search Other Library Catalogs

Start with our catalog at GILFind.

If GSU's library doesn't have what you need, you have, don't give up.  There are several options to get the book you want:

Universal Catalog - includes all Georgia public colleges and universities. The Universal Catalog is now included in GIL -- just select "University System of Georgia" in the dropdown next to the search box!) To see information about participating USG schools, click here. Request books through GIL Express (see above), or use your Panther Card to check out books at USG schools.

Emory - you can also borrow materials at Emory with your Panther Card

ARCHE - with a special ARCHE borrower's card, you can check out books from several local private colleges. Click here for information about ARCHE schools and getting a borrower's card

Atlanta-Fulton County Public Library Catalog - GSU students & faculty may obtain library cards from the Atlanta-Fulton County Public Library, then borrow materials.


Use Interlibrary Loan to request books you find in the following catalogs
(or any other library catalog):