Skip to main content

Georgia Archives Institute: Host Institutions

Information About Host Institutions

The following institutions kindly offered to host interns in 2019.

Atlanta History Center

Atlanta History Center

Directions to the Atlanta History Center

Recommended hotel close to the Atlanta History Center

Cost of parking: free

Internship hours: 9:00 am-5:00 pm

Dress code: business casual

Host institution coordinator: Paul Crater / pcrater@atlantahistorycenter.com / 404.814.4049

Atlanta University Center

Atlanta University Center

Atlanta University Center Archives

Address: 111 James P. Brawley Dr. SW, Atlanta, GA 30314

From the North/Downtown: From I-75/85 South to I-20 West. Exit at Joseph Lowery Boulevard (Exit 55A). Turn right at the traffic light and continue past Fair Street to the next street, Parsons Street. Make a right onto Parsons Street and then a left onto Milton Street. The entrance to the Library's gated parking lot is located at the corner of Parsons and Milton Streets. Limited parking is available to authorized visitors. For admittance, press the intercom to speak with a Security Services officer. Additional parking is available at the Clark Atlanta University parking deck located within walking distance at the corner of Fair and Mildred streets.

From the South/Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport: From I-75/85 North to I-20 West. Exit at Joseph Lowery Boulevard (Exit 55A). Turn right at the traffic light and continue past Fair Street to the next street, Parsons Street. Make a right onto Parsons Street and then a left onto Milton Street. The entrance to the Library's gated parking lot is located at the corner of Parsons and Milton Streets. Limited parking is available to authorized visitors. For admittance, press the intercom to speak with a Security Services officer. Additional parking is available at the Clark Atlanta University parking deck located within walking distance at the corner of Fair and Mildred streets.

From the I-20 East (Traveling Westbound): From I-20 East about a mile past downtown Atlanta. Exit at Joseph Lowery Boulevard (Exit 55A). Turn right at the traffic light and continue past Fair Street to the next street, Parsons Street. Make a right onto Parsons Street and then a left onto Milton Street. The entrance to the Library's gated parking lot is located at the corner of Parsons and Milton Streets. Limited parking is available to authorized visitors. For admittance, press the intercom to speak with a Security Services officer. Additional parking is available at the Clark Atlanta University parking deck located within walking distance at the corner of Fair and Mildred streets.

From the I-20 West (Traveling Eastbound): Take I-20 East to Joseph Lowery Boulevard (Exit 55A). Turn left at the traffic light and continue past Fair Street to the next street, Parsons Street. Make a right onto Parsons Street and then a left onto Milton Street. The entrance to the Library's gated parking lot is located at the corner of Parsons and Milton Streets. Limited parking is available to authorized visitors. For admittance, press the intercom to speak with a Security Services officer. Additional parking is available at the Clark Atlanta University parking deck located within walking distance at the corner of Fair and Mildred streets.

Cost of parking: $3:00 per day

Internship hours: 10:00 am-5:00 pm

Dress code: business casual

Local hotels:
• Atlanta Marriott Marquis Downtown
• Clarion Inn & Suites
• Embassy Suites at Centennial Olympic Park
• Hilton Garden Inn Downtown
• Hotel Indigo Midtown
• Omni Hotel At CNN Center
• TWELVE Atlantic Station
• Westin Peachtree Plaza, Atlanta

Internship hours: 10:00 am-5:00 pm

Host institution coordinator: Brittany Newberry / bnewberry@auctr.edu / 404.978.2019

Auburn Avenue Research Library on African American Culture and History

Auburn Avenue Research Library

Adress: 101 Auburn Avenue NE, Atlanta, GA 30303

Directions to Auburn Avenue Research Library

Cost of parking: free for volunteers

Internship hours: 9:30 am-5:00 pm

Dress code: business casual

Host institution coordinator: Derek Mosley / derek.mosley@fultoncountyga.gov / 404.613.4014

The William Breman Jewish Heritage Museum

The William Breman Jewish Heritage Museum

Address: 1440 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30309

Directions to the Breman Museum

Cost of parking: free

Recommended hotel close to the Breman Museum

Internship hours: 9:00 am-5:00 pm

Dress code: business casual

Host institution coordinator: Jeremy Katz / jrkatz@thebreman.org / 404.870.1862

Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum

Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum

Address: 441 Freedom Parkway NE, Atlanta, GA 30307

Directions to the Jimmy Carter Library and Museum

Cost of parking: free

Internship hours: 9:00 am-4:00 pm

Dress code: business casual

Host institution coordinator: Aisha Johnson-Jones / aisha.johnson-jones@nara.gov / 404.865.7112

 

Emory University

Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library

Address: 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, GA 30322

Directions to the Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library

Cost of parking: Host will validate parking. Interns should take a parking ticket each morning when they arrive, and Host will give them a paid voucher in the afternoons when they leave.

Internship hours: 9:00 am-4:00 pm

Dress code: business casual

Host institution coordinator: Sarah Quigley / sarah.quigley@emory.edu / 404.712.7051

Georgia Archives

Georgia Archives

Address: 5800 Jonesboro Road, Morrow, GA 30260

Directions to the Georgia Archives

Cost of parking: free

Internship hours: 9:00 am-4:00 pm

Dress code: business casual (on the more casual end, as interns will not be in public space)

Host institution coordinator: Caroline Crowell / caroline.crowell@usg.edu / 678.364.3796

Georgia State University

Georgia State University

Special Collections and Archives website

Address: 8th Floor, University Library South, 100 Decatur Street SE, Atlanta, GA 30303

Directions to G-Deck

Cost of parking: host will pre-pay. Interns will be given a token upon arrival each day.

Internship Hours: 10:00 am-5:00 pm

Dress code: business casual

Host institution coordinator: Bill Hardesty / whardesty@gsu.edu / 404.413.2890

Georgia Tech

Georgia Tech

Georgia Tech Archives

Address: Georgia Tech Library, 266 4th Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30332

Directions to Georgia Tech Archives: The Georgia Institute of Technology Library is located in the main portion of GT's Midtown Campus. Use visitor area parking lots 1 (student center) or 2 (North Avenue) for daily parking. This map shows walking instructions from the student center to the library. Utilize the pedestrian bridge and Cherry Street for access via the North Avenue parking deck.

https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer?ll=33.770344518312704%2C-84.39326286784228&spn=0.00243%2C0.004313&hl=en&f=q&msa=0&z=17&ie=UTF8&om=1&mid=1zoSLudCsX_LX44vctPJosZ-8fZk

Cost of parking: $15

Internship hours: 9:00 am-4:00 pm

Dress code: business casual

Host institution coordinator: Amanda Pellerin / amanda.pellerin@library.gatech.edu / 404.385.0107

National Archives at Atlanta

National Archives at Atlanta

Address: 5780 Jonesboro Road, Morrow, GA 30260

Directions to National Archives at Atlanta

Cost of parking: free

Internship hours: 9:00 am-4:00 pm

Dress code: business casual

Host institution coordinator: Desiree Wallen / desiree.wallen@nara.gov / 609.560.4856 0r 770.968.2524
 

Salvation Army

Salvation Army Southern Historical Center at Evangeline Booth College

Address: 1032 Metropolitan Parkway, S.W., Atlanta, GA 30310

Directions to Salvation Army: Take I-75/85 to Exit 244, University Ave., turn (right from North, left from South) Turn right on Metropolitan Pkwy, college campus is 2 1/2 blocks on right

Cost of parking: free

Internship hours: 9:30 am-4:00 pm

Dress code: business casual (no jeans, capris, t-shirts, or flip-flops)

Host institution coordinator: Michael Nagy / michael.nagy@uss.salvationarmy.org / 404.752.7578 (dept.) or 404.756.6595 (direct)

Spelman College

Spelman College

Spelman College Archives

Address: Archives, Spelman College, 350 Spelman Ln, S.W., Box 321, Atlanta, GA 30314-4399

Directions to Spelman College Archives: https://www.spelman.edu/admissions/visit-us/directions-to-spelman

Cost of parking: $6.00 daily

Internship hours: 10:30 am-4:30 pm

Dress code: business casual

Host institution coordinator: Holly Smith / hsmith12@spelman.edu / 404-270-5533
 

Westminster Schools

Westminster Schools

Westminster Schools Archives

Address: 1424 West Paces Ferry, Atlanta, 30327

Cost of parking: free

Internship hours: 9:00 am-3:30 pm

Dress code: business casual (jeans are fine)

Host institution coordinator: Pamela Nye / pamelanye@westminster.net / 404.609.6110

 

Georgia Archives Institute

The Georgia Archives Institute
P.O. Box 574
Decatur, GA 30031
Email: GeorgiaArchivesInstitute@yahoo.com
Web:  http://www.georgiaarchivesinstitute.org/