Skip to main content

Hannah Arendt - Subject Guide: Find Articles

A starting point for research on Hannah Arendt and her philosophy.

Locating Articles in Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Journals

There are four ways to locate articles in scholarly journals:

  1. Search for articles using subject-specific or multi-subject databases. Most of the databases relevant to the study of Hannah Arendt and her philosophy are listed on this page. For additional databases, browse through the library's A-Z Database List by name or subject.
  2. Use the library's Discover Search. Discover is a federated search engine that searches most (but not all) of the library's electronic sources (databases) all at once.
  3. Use Google Scholar. Google Scholar is Google's scholarly search engine that searches for academic books and scholarly journal articles.
    1. When used on-campus, Google Scholar will provide you with direct links to the full text of articles subscribed to by the library. 
    2. To see the full text links when off-campus: On the Google Scholar main page, click More and then Settings in top center of screen, then at next screen click Library Links, search for Georgia State University, checkbox Georgia State University - FullText @ GSU. Then when looking at the search results instead of clicking the article title to try to access it click on "More" and then click the FullText @ GSU link to be routed through GSU-access.
  4. If you have a citation for an article (such as one you found in the reference list of a book or article), you can usually locate it by using the library's Citation Linker. Simply fill out the form, and you will be directed to the full text of the article if the library provides access.

Articles not available through the library's website can be requested via the library's free Interlibrary Loan service.

Getting the Full Article

1) First, look for a direct link to the article on the database results list. Specifically, look for links that say "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text."
 
2) If you don't see one of these links, look for a button next to article you want. Clicking this button will check for full text availability outside of the database you are currently searching. A new window will open and depending on what full text formats are available through the Library, you will be see several link options:
 
1. Full Text Online
If you see a "Full Text Onlinle" link, it means that electronic full text of the article is available from one of GSU Library's full text providers. Click this link to proceed to the full text provider's site where you will look for a PDF link to article. If you are off campus, you will probably be asked to enter your CampusID/password. Once on the full text provider's site, you may need to "drill down" to the specific volume/issue to access the full text.
 
2. We May Have a Copy in Print
If this link appears as the first option, then no electronic full text is available. However, the library may have a print copy of the article. Clicking this link will search the GSU Library catalog, GIL-Find, to see if the library owns any print volumes of the journal in which the article is published. If so, you will need to check the Recent Issues or Volumes Owned fields to see what volumes/issues are available.
 
3. Request This Item Through Interlibrary Loan
If neither electronic nor print access is available you can request a copy of the article through the library's free Interlibrary Loan service. To do so, access Illiad, GSU Library's system for requesting articles (and other materials) from other libraries. This service is free for GSU students/employees. Articles usually arrive in a day or two. You'll receive an email on how to access the article.
 
Occasionally, people encounter problems trying to access articles from home using the "Find It @ GSU" button. Sometimes pop-up blockers prevent the "Find It" window from opening, so check your browser settings.
 
Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!

Subject Specific Article Databases

Use the following article databases to find scholarly journal articles on your topic. Because each database searches a different set of journals, you may need to search more than one database to find articles appropriate to your topic. The icon means that you will need to enter your Campus ID and Password to access the database from off-campus.

Multi-Subject Article Databases

The following article databases cover a wide range of subjects and disciplines.

Still not finding what you need?

 Try the Library's new Discover Search.

Discover searches across most of the library's databases and holdings using one simple search tool.

Advanced Discover Search or use the search box below.

GSU Library's Discover Search
Limit Your Results:

Database Search Tips

1. For off-campus access, you will need to enter your Campus ID and Password after clicking on a link to any of the library's subscription resources.

2. Use the Advanced Search option within the database you are using to achieve the best results.

3. Keep your search terms brief and concise.

4. Check your spelling. Library databases do not correct spelling errors.

5. If your first set of search terms doesn't retrieve any results, try using synonyms that describe your topic.

6. You can search for different forms of a word (different word endings of the same word), by typing the first few letters followed by an asterisk. Example:

  • politic* will search for politic, politics, political, etc.

7. Use double quotation marks around two or more words to search as a phrase. Example:

  • public space" 

8. Use the connecting words AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Examples:

  • pubic AND private - to search for articles that include both terms (narrows the search results)
  • public OR private - to search for articles that contain either term (broadens the search results)

9. You can create more complex searches by using the words AND and OR in combination with parentheses. Examples:

  • arendt AND (public OR private) AND space
  • arendt AND (women OR feminin*) AND politic* AND (space OR sphere OR realm)