Skip to main content

HON 1000: ‘Going Steady?’: Documenting the History of Dating in American Culture, 1940-1990 (Anderson/Fall 2016)

Getting to the Colloquium Room

Class will be meeting today (November 3) in the Library's Colloquium Room.

We will be working with Kevin Fleming, GSU's Popular Music and Culture Archivist. 

The Colloquium Room is on Library South 8.

Take the Library South elevator up to the 8th floor. 

(Library North only has five floors. If you are in Library North, walk across the Link to Library South and take the Library South elevators to the 8th Floor.)


On Library South 8, go through the double doors, and turn to your right. 

You will not need a laptop for this session.

You will not need to bring a second registration form.

Click here for a floor map of Library South 8. 

(Be sure to check out the "Relaxing View Outside"!)

Because we will again be using materials from our Special Collections (special!), 
remember:

  • Do NOT bring food or drink to the Colloquium Room for our class sessions.
  • You will be asked to put your bags, phones, and any other electronic devices in an area of the Colloquium Room.
  • You will need to use a pencil (no pens allowed!) for the in-class worksheet. We will have pencils available for you to use.

In-Class Worksheet Questions

Each group will answer these questions for the comic book they are assigned.

  1. What is the title of the issue you are looking at?
  2. What time period does this issue represent?  When was the issue published?
  3. What are the themes or narratives of the issue?
  4. Are there any particular stereotypes that are presented in the story?
  5. Are there phrases or other language that especially jump out at you?
  6. What can you say about the advertisements in the issue?  Are they appropriate for the intended audience?
  7. Flip through the issue.  Can you identify anything prescriptive (e.g. advice column)?
  8. Based on the content, can you determine who might have written the story (male or female)?

True Romance Comic Books

Popular Culture Literature Collection

Finding Aid

                     

 

Other secondary resources related to comic books:                                   

Agonizing love: the golden era of romance comics
by Barson, Michael.
Call Number: PN6725 .B3723 2011  PubDate:2011
Located: Atlanta Library North 4

Comic book nation: the transformation of youth culture in America
by Wright, Bradford W., 1968-
Call Number: PN6725 .W74 2001  PubDate:2001
Located: Atlanta Library North 4

Comic books and American cultural history: an anthology
Call Number: LB1044.9.C59 C65 2012  PubDate:2012
Located: Atlanta Library North 4

Did You Know Comic Books Were Once Considered Dangerous???

In 1954, psychiatrist Fredrick Wertham published Seduction of the Innocent, a lurid warning about the dangers comic books presented to young readers. Focusing on gangster, superhero, and horror comics, Wertham stirred up a panic in the United States about the effects of the imagery in these comic books on young readers; he always opposed products advertised in these magazines (air rifles, knives). Wertham testified before the Senate Subcommittee on Juvenile Delinquency in 1954 on the dangers of comic books, and in response to the subcommittee's recommendations, comic-book publishers (via the Comics Magazine Association of America) established the Comics Code Authority that same year. 

Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=2089313

 

Look for this image on the comic books' covers!

To learn more about Wertham and the Comics Code, see these sources:

And the original:

You can read the Senate Subcommittee's Interim Report here (you will be asked for your Campus ID and password in order to read it). Includes some sexy titles in the title list on page 7. The 1954 Comics Code begins on page 36 and includes "Costume" and "Marriage and Sex" sections on page 37.

*What is GIL Express? Click here to learn more. 

This link is the GIL Universal Catalog link for the Wertham book. Click on "Please Log in to enable GIL Express Requests" to start a request.

Popular Music and Culture Collection

The Popular Music and Culture Collection, within the Georgia State University Special Collections and Archives, collects and preserves unique and rare historical materials documenting twentieth-century American Popular Music and Culture.

Highlights of the collection include Johnny Mercer and music of his era; early country, bluegrass and Southern gospel music; WSB and radio broadcasting in Georgia; and Popular Culture Literature. Additionally, the collection contains more than 14,000 pieces of published sheet music, Tune-Dex cards, and arrangements by American songwriters, as well as 60,000 recordings from a variety of genres.

A portion of the photographs and select publications are accessible in the Popular Music and Broadcasting, including issues of the Capitol Records News magazine and the Big Band Jump Newsletter and the Southern Music Survey.

In relation to this class, the lyrical content of popular songs tend to reflect the culture or events of a particular time period (for example, the Great Depression, World War II, counter-culture of the 1960s, etc.).  Within the collection, one could utilize draft lyrics from the Johnny Mercer Collection, published sheet music, or lyric periodicals such as Song Hits or Hit Parade for this purpose.

April 2017 Instructor Workshop: Teaching with Primary Sources: Popular Culture and Pulp

In April 2017, Popular Music and Culture Archivist Kevin Fleming and I co-taught a workshop for faculty and graduate-student instructors. The instructors were "students" for two exercises we developed using comic books from Kevin's collections; the second exercise was a version of the in-class exercise used for the HON 1000 course in Fall 2016.

Attached here are the PDFs of the lesson plan we developed and the in-class handout.