Skip to main content

HON 1000: ‘Going Steady?’: Documenting the History of Dating in American Culture, 1940-1990 (Anderson/Fall 2016)

Queer Identities / Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature

Class will be meeting today (October 13) in the Library's Classroom 2.

Classroom 2 is on Library North 2.

Directions:

  • When you enter the library on the Library North side, you will see the Circulation Desk as you walk in. You are on Library North 1.
  • There are elevators and a stairwell to your right as you walk towards the Circulation Desk.
  • (Saxby's coffee shop will be to your left as you walk towards the Circulation Desk)
  • Take the elevators or the stairs to your right up to the second floor. You are then on Library North 2.
  • When you get off the elevator/come out of the stairwell, you will see banks of computers and a giant window to your left.
  • Walk past the window to the Maps area. Classroom 2 is the glassed-in room just past the Maps area.

(Classroom 2 is also just above the coffee shop)

 

Brand New Primary-Source Database!

Looking for LGBTQ Periodicals?

GSU's Special Collections and Archives has a significant collection of periodicals (that is, magazines and journals) focusing on gender and sexuality. These are print periodicals, so are well suiting for flipping through and browsing. Though some of these periodicals are available digitally in LGBT Life, the digital versions can be challenging to search in. 

We don't have full runs (i.e. all issues) of all of these magazines, but you may be able to find useful material in just one issue.

Additionally, some topics may be better addressed through advertisements in these periodicals (advertisements are primary sources!), which are easier found by browsing in the periodicals themselves than by searching online. 

This link will take you to a finding aid which will include a full listing of the gender/sexuality periodicals available in Special Collections. To get to the full list, click on the link and then on the small box that says "Open Finding Aid" (upper left corner). 

Titles include (but are not limited to):

  • The Advocate (1975-2014)
  • International Male (1981-2007)
  • Playgirl (1973 and 1988; restricted**)

If you would like to visit Special Collections to browse through any of these titles, please contact Morna Gerrard, Women and Gender Collections Archivist, at mgerrard@gsu.edu to make an appointment. Or just come to Special Collections' Reading Room during its working hours and ask at the reference desk!

**Note that some of these periodicals are identified as "Restricted." You will need a letter from your professor to be allowed access to these materials. (For this course, that would be me!) You will also need to contact Morna Gerrard directly to find out more about access options for periodicals identified as "Restricted." 

Helpful Databases: Secondary Sources Can Also Be Primary Sources (Check the Date!)