Skip to main content

HON 1000: ‘Going Steady?’: Documenting the History of Dating in American Culture, 1940-1990 (Anderson/Fall 2016)

This Week's Assignment

No assignment this week.

Come with keywords for your topics. We will be practicing searching in newspaper databases.

In-Class Exercise: Searching in Newspapers

Part I: Searching in the Historical New York Times (ProQuest database)

  1. Click on this link: Historical New York Times
  2. Click on "Advanced Search"
  3. Limit time period:
    • At "Publication Date," select "Specific date range" in dropdown
    • Type 1940 for year at "Start" and 1990 at "End"
  4. Search using keywords (try using multiple boxes, with different search terms in different boxes)
  5. Write down one relevant(ish) article title and drop into Zotero (note the little rolled-up-newspaper icon)
  6. Go to whiteboard and write down a SHORT phrase describing your topic (i.e. "sex education") 
  7. AND the title of a relevant article you (if it's a really long title, just a meaty part)

Part II: Searching for Alternative Newspapers (mixed databases)

  1. Click on GenderWatch (description below).
  2. Click on Advanced Search and limit dates to the same range as above.
  3. Search using keywords (try using multiple boxes, with different search terms in different boxes)
  4. Write down one relevant(ish) article title and drop into Zotero (note the little rolled-up-newspaper icon)
  5. Go to whiteboard and write down a SHORT phrase describing your topic (i.e. "sex education") 
  6. AND the title of a relevant article you (if it's a really long title, just a meaty part)

Did the results sound different?

Newspapers and Language Use

When you search in newspaper databases, it's important to keep in mind that there isn't a way to search by subject (or "about" a topic). Instead, you have to think about what words/language would be used in a newspaper article title and/or article text for that time period.

This means that you may well come across language that is uncomfortable or even offensive. History can be very ugly.

It is important that we understand that these words are part of history.

It is also important that we understand the potential of these words to be upsetting or offensive today. 

Please be mindful of how you use this language, and be respectful when using it. 

Dating in Newspapers: Proms

Atlanta Daily World, June 21, 1956. Click image for link.

Dating in Newspapers: Debutantes

Ozeil Fryer Woolcock, "Social Swirl," Atlanta Daily World, December 15, 1974.
Click on image for link to full story.

Dating in Newspapers: Engagement/Wedding Announcements (Hi Mom!)

Sheboygan (Wisconsin) Press, January 1966
(She married a boy named Jack from Fond du Lac*)
(*She didn't read Seventeenth Summer.)

How Do I Find Newspaper Articles? Selected Newspaper Databases Available at GSU

All of these historical newspaper databases are ProQuest products, meaning that searching will work the same way in all of them (so, once you've tried searching in the New York Times one in class, you'll be familiar with how to start searching in any of these databases).

For more information about GSU's newspaper holdings, see the Historical Newspapers research guide.

Additional Local Newspapers

African American Newspapers

James P. Danky, ed., African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography is a good starting point for identifying titles of historical African-American periodicals.

Alternative Newspapers

GSU library databases which index a range of alternative newspapers and periodicals.