After Malcolm - Islam and the Black Freedom Struggle
The After Malcolm Research Collective documents African American Muslim contributions to the struggle for justice in the United States. Much more than Malcolm X and Muhammad Ali, this is a story of race, religion, and reconciliation central to American history. The lives and lessons captured here provide valuable lessons to help overcome social and political divisions today.
Georgia Government Documentation Project
- The Georgia Government Document Project (GGDP) details that state’s political and social history through more than 250 oral histories and manuscript collections. The GGDP includes interviews with former governors, legislators, political activists, civil rights leaders, media figures, lawyers, social crusaders, judges, and numerous other public figures. These men and women shaped the history of Georgia during the 20th century, and the GGDP provides researchers with a rare glimpse at their stories in their own words. In addition the GGDP includes 3 manuscript collections that touch on Georgia politics.
- Some of the interviews have been digitized and the audio or transcripts can be found in GSU Library's Digital Collections.
- Sections of note for research on African American History include the following: Black Involvement in Politics, Black Boss: Political Revolution in a Georgia County, Black Empowerment in Burke County, Black and White Women in Atlanta Public Life, and Atlanta's Black Community and Education.
- The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographs, the Tom Coffin Photographs, the Lane Brothers Photographs, and the Tracy O'Neal Photographs all contain images that document African Americans in public life including politicians, entertainers, athletes, business owners, community leaders, activists, workers, service members, etc. Date ranges
The Great Speckled Bird
- The Great Speckled Bird was one of several underground newspapers that appeared in the United States in the 1960s. Published in Atlanta from 1968 to 1976, The Bird, as it was commonly known, stood out among the alternative press for the quality of its writing, its cover art and its fearless opinions and reporting on a range of topics—national and local politics, the counterculture, women’s issues, gay liberation, reproductive choice, the Black Power movement, prison reform, music, art…The Bird was a new, radical voice from the South.
Georgia State University Archives
- This collection documents integration of the GSU Campus and provides insight into Black student life through digitized copies of The Signal. GSU yearbooks will be available in Digital Collections soon.
Planning Atlanta - A New City in the Making, 1930s-1990s
- Planning Atlanta is comprised of six distinct areas: City Planning Maps, City Planning Publications, Population and Housing Data, Photographs, Oral Histories, and 1949 Aerial Mosaic & Photographs