Skip to main content

POLS 2401: Global Issues (Wedeman): Find Journal Articles

What is peer review?

  A peer reviewed journal article is an article that has been reviewed and chosen for publication by the author's professional peers. These peers are scholars in the field, who sit on the editorial board of a journal which is usually published by a professional organization or a university press. Peer reviewed articles can also be known as scholarly or refereed articles. 

Tutorials

Use the following tutorials to learn more about how to locate articles in journal and other periodical sources.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Other Subject Specific Scholarly Journal Databases

The following are just a few of the many subject-specific databases offered by the Library. Other databases can be found by going to the Discover tab on the Library homepage and using the Go to Databases by Subject drop-down menu or the Databases by Name A-Z list.

Business

Communications

Economics

Environmental Studies

History

Health

Religion

Women's Studies

Multi-Subject Scholarly Journal Article Databases

Still not finding what you need?

 Try the Library's new Discover Search.

Discover searches across most of the library's databases and holdings using one simple search tool.

Use the Advanced Discover Search or use the search box below.

GSU Library's Discover Search
Limit Your Results
 
 
 

Database Search Tips

1.  For off-campus access, enter your Campus ID and Password at the prompt.

2. Use the Advanced Search option within the database you are using to achieve the best results.

3. Keep your search terms brief and concise.

4. Check your spelling. Library databases do not correct spelling errors.

5. If your first set of search terms doesn't retrieve any results, try using synonyms or alternate terms that describe your topic.

6. You can search for different forms of a word (different word endings of the same word), by typing the first few letters followed by an asterisk. Example:

  • econom* will search for economy, economies, economics, economical, etc.

7. In some databaes you will need to use double quotation marks around two or more words to search as a phrase (check the Help page in the database you are using for guidance). Example:

  • “nongovernmental organizations" 

8. Use the connecting words AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Examples:

  • ebola AND Africa - to search for articles that include both terms (narrows your search)
  • aid OR relief - to search for articles that contain either term (broadens your search)

9. You can create more complex searches by using the words AND and OR in combination with parentheses and quotes. Example:

  • "nongovernmental organizations" AND famine AND (aid OR relief) AND Africa

10. If don’t see a full-text link (HTML full text or PDF), try clicking on the

button to determine whether the article you need is available full-text in another database.  If it is, the Find-It service will direct you to the article.