Skip to main content

NURS 3500 Research Methods: Databases/Scholarly Sources

Research strategies and sources for the course literature search assignment.

What are the Databases, and Why Do I Need Them?

The University Library's pre-paid for databases are your portal to thousands of scholarly, peer reviewed, empirical, and evidence-based articles that you won't find in Google, Bing, or other open Internet search engines. Each of the databases below is a collection of articles that focuses on or includes nursing and health science research. The Library subscribes to over 300 of these databases, but not all of them are relevant to your discipline, so you'll only need to use a handful. You can see a full listing online of all the databases, if you're curious.

To access databases off-campus, you will be prompted for your Campus ID.

If you ever come across an article that asks you to pay, please do not get out your credit card. You may have been accidentally logged out of the system (which communicates what GSU Library has paid for on your behalf), or we may not have paid for access to that journal. We can get you articles that we do not own, though, through our Interlibrary Loan system. It's free, and most articles come within 24 hours on business days. If you are ever unsure, contact the Nursing librarian for help.

Databases for Literature Search Assignment

CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Nursing and Allied Health (EBSCOhost)
Description: CINAHL® Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons & Search Strategies.

PubMed
The PubMed search system provides access to the PubMed database of bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Finally, PubMed also provides access to the molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system and "ahead of print" and "in process" citations.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.

PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology. Includes information on related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.