Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Integration of Schools and Universities in Georgia: Home

Special Collections and Archives Department sources relating to the integration of Georgia State University, the University of Georgia, and the Georgia public school system during the late 1950s and early 1960s.

Integration of Georgia State University

1. The Signal (student newspaper): University Archives
(NOTE: Photocopies of these articles are in the GSU History Box in the Reading Room.)

 

October 5, 1956

 

October 30, 1956

 

July 12, 1957

 

January 23, 1959

 

February 6, 1959

 

June 27, 1962


2. Oral History Interviews (George Manners): University Archives

 

G87-5 (transcript): pp. 100-101; 142-145

 

G90-23 (tapes)

3. GSU President's Records (George M. Sparks): University Archives

 

G73-5, Box 28, Folder 357 (1956)

4. David Wayne Nunnery, "The Attempted Integration of Georgia State College of Business Administration in 1956: A Significant Step Toward the Withdrawal of Georgia from the Massive Resistance Stance" (senior honors thesis, n.d.): University Archives

 

Box 29-A: GSU History


5. GSU Vice President for Academic Affairs Records, 1969-1982

 

G82-29: Box 7, Folder "Integration Plan, [1973-79]"

Select Bibliography

Reed, Merl E.  Educating the Urban New South:  Atlanta and the Rise of Georgia State University, 1913-1969.  Macon, GA:  Mercer University Press, 2009.

Roche, Jeff. Restructured Resistance: The Sibley Commission and the Politics of Desegregation in Georgia. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1998. (GSU The University Library: LC 214.22 .G46 R63 1998)

Trillin, Calvin. An Education in Georgia: The Integration of Charlayne Hunter and Hamilton Holmes. New York: Viking Press, 1964. [relates specifically to the integration of the University of Georgia] (GSU The University Library: LB 3062 T7)

Trillin, Calvin. An Education in Georgia: Charlayne Hunter, Hamilton Holmes, and the Integration of the University of Georgia. Foreword by Charlayne Hunter-Gault. Athens GA: Brown Thrasher Books, University of Georgia Press, 1991. (GSU The University Library: LD 1986 .T75 1991)

Integration of the University of Georgia

  • Oral History Interviews: Georgia Government Documentation Project

Name

Position(s)

Tape No.

Transcript Location

Bell, Griffin

Chief of Staff under Governor Vandiver

B-6

Box B-1, Folder 4

Maloof, Manuel

DeKalb County politician, tavern owner

B-41

Box B-6, Folder 5

   

B-40

Box B-6, Folder 4

Moore, Ray

News director, WSB-TV

D-1

Box D-1, Folder 1

Smith, George T.

Georgia House, 1959-67

B-54

Box B-8, Folder 4

Tuttle, Elbert

Justice, 5th Court of Appeals, 1954-68

L-1

Box L-1, Folder 1

   

L-7

no transcript (video)

Vandiver, Ernest

Lieutenant Governor, 1955-59; Governor, 1959-63

A-12

Box A-2, Folder 5

   

A-13

Box A-2, Folder 6

Washington, Alice Holmes

Educator, leader in Atlanta black community

J-6

Box J-1, Folder 6

Williams, Carey, Sr.

Georgia Senate, 1951-52

D-8

Box D-1, Folder 5

Williams, Osgood

Board of Regents, 1949-79

B-64

Box B-9, Folder 6

Integration of Public Schools in Georgia (Sibley Commission)

1. Oral History Interviews: Georgia Government Documentation Project
(NOTE: See also the interviews of Bell, Maloof, Moore, Smith, Vandiver, and Williams listed above.)

Name

Position(s)

Tape No.

Transcript Location

Bell, Griffin

Chief of Staff under Governor Vandiver

B-7

Box B-1, Folder 5

Busbee, George

State Representative, 1957-75

A-2

Box A-1, Folder 2

Combs, Doyle

NAACP leader, Stephens County

E-3

no transcript

Craig, Calvin

Member, Ku Klux Klan, 1960s-1970s

B-12

no transcript or tape

Dove, Pearlie

Educator, Clark College

J-2

Box J-1, Folder 2

Georgia Governors Roundtable

includes Maddox, Sanders, Herman Talmadge, Vandiver

A-14

no transcript

Goodwin, George

Reporter, Atlanta Journal

L-3

no transcript (videos)

Greer, John

Georgia House, 1945-54; Senate 1959-60

B-19

no transcript

Harris, Narvie

DeKalb County Schools, 1944-83

J-3

Box J-1, Folder 3

Isakson, Johnny

Georgia House, 1977-90

B-22

Box B-3, Folder 3

Lodge, Herman

Burke County Commission, 1982-present

I-4

Box I-1, Folder 3

   

I-5

Box I-1, Folder 3

Lokey, Hamilton and Muriel (Hamilton)

Georgia House, 1953-57

B-36

Box B-6, Folder 1

McPheeters, Annie

Head Librarian, Auburn Branch Library, 1930s and 1940s

J-4

Box J-1

Maddox, Lester

Governor of Georgia, 1967-71

A-7

Box A-1, Folder 7

Moore, Ray

News director, WSB-TV

D-2

no transcript

Musgrove, Downing

Georgia House, 1951-60

B-47

Box B-7, Folder 4

Pauley, Frances

President, Georgia League of Women Voters, 1950s

B-48

Box B-7, Folder 5

Pendergrast, Nan

 

J-5

Box J-1, Folder 5

Sanders, Carl

Georgia House, 1955-63; Governor, 1963-67

A-8

Box A-2, Folder 1

Sheppard, Cornelius

NAACP leader, Muscogee County

E-18

no transcript

Talmadge, Herman

Governor of Georgia, 1949-55

A-10

Box A-2, Folder 3


2. Photograph: Lane Brothers Collection
Miscellaneous Events: one image dated August 30, 1961 titled Atlanta City School Interigation (sic)

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory