Skip to main content

Science and Technology Sources - Handouts: Step by Step with ProQuest Science Databases

Here you can find the handouts and instructions for using many of the library's Science and Technology databases as well as Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology.

Step by Step with ProQuest Science Databases

Step by Step with Proquest Science Databases

Proquest Science Journals, Biology Journals, and Health and Medical Complete, offer a wide variety of full text article for a wide range of science, technology, and health-related topics. This handout gives you a tour and demystifies basic searching of all three databases.


1) Choose a database:



Proquest does NOT have an equivalent to Academic Search Complete, and their subject databases overlap only partially. For a lot of sources, search several databases.
Select your database from the alphabet below the big search box. GALILEO wears Panther blue. 2)From the library web page, http://library.gsu.edu

3) Choose your database's first letter from the alphabet below the big search box..

4)Scroll down to your database. Click its blue link to begin searching.

5) Now, arrange your topic so your database understands it. Many science topics have two main ideas. If you are interested in the health effects of cell phone radiation, your main ideas may be: "cell phone*" and radiation.

This becomes the search: "cell phone*" AND radiation.
A search statements for cell phone* AND radiation in a Proquest science database

The AND is not a word but an operator that gets the overlap between two main ideas. The "quotes" bind the phrase,"cell phones" together, and the * retrieves single and plural words.

6) Check off the Full Text box and type in your search. Click the turquoise Search button with the white magnifying glass to launch your search.

Your search set up and ready to go. You are looking for cell phone* AND radiation


7) ProQuest presents results in groups of twenty (see below).

8) To get only newer articles, shift the left slider in the turquoise graph on the left of the page.

9) To get only academic journals check off a box under Source Type, on the left side of the page.

10) To get only magazines and/or trade journals check off a box under Source Type on the left side of the page. Part of an article list in one of the Proquest science databases
A closer look at Proquest's facet box for narrowing searches

Here is part of the gray box on top of Proquest search results. This box suggests other topics or better ways to phrase some of your search terms. 11) ProQuest offers hints for subjects in the pale gray strip above your search results.

Here is part of the box to the right of each article opened in Proquest. This box also suggests other topics or better ways to phrase some of your search terms. 12) Each individual article also features its subject headings with check boxes on the right.


The PDF link is plain in ProQuest
How you print in a Proquest database
13) To obtain a PDF of the article, click its very, plain looking PDF tab.

14) To print click the print icon in the box on the right of the article's page.

15) You can also email an article to yourself by clicking the email icon which is in the same box as print.

16) You can also save your article to a flash drive in a variety of formats by clicking the three dots and the word, More in the print icon box.

17) And ProQuest lets you set up an account to save articles in the cloud. Click the three dots and the word, More to learn how.