Skip to main content

POLS 4422: NGOs and World Politics: Find Articles in Scholarly Journals

A starting point for research on NGOs and world politics.

Locating Articles in Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Journals

There are a variety of ways to locate articles in scholarly journals:

  1. Search for articles using subject-specific or multi-subject databases. Most of the databases relevant to the study of nongovernmental organizations are listed on this page. For additional databases, browse through the library's A-Z Database List by name or subject.
  2. Use the library's Discover Search. Discover is a federated search engine that searches most (but not all) of the library's electronic sources (databases) all at once.
  3. Use Google Scholar. Google Scholar is Google's scholarly search engine that searches for academic books and scholarly journal articles.
    1. When used on-campus, Google Scholar will provide you with direct links to the full text of articles subscribed to by the library. 
    2. To see the full text links when off-campus: On the Google Scholar main page, click More and then Settings in top center of screen, then at next screen click Library Links, search for Georgia State University, checkbox Georgia State University - FullText @ GSU. Then when looking at the search results instead of clicking the article title to try to access it click on "More" and then click the FullText @ GSU link to be routed through GSU-access.

Articles not available through the library's website can be requested via the library's free Interlibrary Loan service.

Tutorials

Use the following tutorials to learn more about how to locate articles in journal and other periodical sources.

Still not finding what you need?

 Try the Library's new Discover Search.

Discover searches across most of the library's databases and holdings using one simple search tool.

Advanced Discover Search

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

What is peer review?

  A peer reviewed journal article is an article that has been reviewed and chosen for publication by the author's professional peers. These peers are scholars in the field, who sit on the editorial board of a journal which is usually published by a professional organization or a university press. Peer reviewed articles can also be known as scholarly or refereed articles. 

Database Search Tips

1.  For off-campus access, enter your Campus ID and Password at the prompt.

2. Use the Advanced Search option within the database you are using to achieve the best results.

3. Keep your search terms brief and concise.

4. Check your spelling. Library databases do not correct spelling errors.

5. If your first set of search terms doesn't retrieve any results, try using synonyms or alternate terms that describe your topic.

6. You can search for different forms of a word (different word endings of the same word), by typing the first few letters followed by an asterisk. Example:

  • econom* will search for economy, economies, economics, economical, etc.

7. In some databaes you will need to use double quotation marks around two or more words to search as a phrase (check the Help page in the database you are using for guidance). Example:

  • “nongovernmental organizations" 

8. Use the connecting words AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Examples:

  • ebola AND Africa - to search for articles that include both terms (narrows your search)
  • aid OR relief - to search for articles that contain either term (broadens your search)

9. You can create more complex searches by using the words AND and OR in combination with parentheses and quotes. Example:

  • "nongovernmental organizations" AND famine AND (aid OR relief) AND Africa

10. If don’t see a full-text link (HTML full text or PDF), try clicking on the

button to determine whether the article you need is available full-text in another database.  If it is, the Find-It service will direct you to the article.