Skip to main content

Local Issues: General Research Guide: Find E-Books

Making your research relevant by focusing topics close to home.

For more information....

Become an e-book wiz! *

GPC's Mobile Resources Guide A GPC Librarian gives step-by-step instructions on downloading e-books to various mobile devices.

 

These videos from EBSCO show more about searching EBSCO ebook collections. 

*(These are optional, not required for your class.)

GPC Streaming Video Collections

  Films on Demand contains documentaries and newsreels that are reliable sources of information in video form. The GALILEO password is required for remote access.

 

Search for E-Books

You have access to over 100,000 electronic books from any computer with Internet access; an e-book reader is not necessary! But if you have an e-reader, you can download GPC e-books to various devices.

You can search for electronic books in the GIL catalogs or in GALILEO

  • The GIL catalogs help you locate all e-books on your topic in one search. 
  • Searching in GALILEO requires you to limit your search to e-books in the advanced search mode, using the Discovery Tool search box.

Watch this tutorial to find out how to search GIL-Find for e-books.

For SCRIPT of this video CLICK HERE.

 

 (3:07)

GPC E-book Collections

The GIL catalog is the easiest way to search for e-books by topic, but you can do more detailed searching by going to the individual ebook collections in GALILEO. (For more information, see the box to the right.)

These e-book databases are recommended for current topics research.  

Competency Academic Ebooks on EBSCOhost is our newest EBSCO electronic book collection, with over 80,000 multidisciplinary e-book titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.  Requires iCollege username and password for remote access.

 

 e-Books on EBSCOhost requires the GALILEO password for remote access. Note: to search within the text, go to Advanced Search and select "All Text" in the dropdown boxes for the appropriate search terms

 

  GVRL delivers print reference titles in a database format. Requires iCollege username and password for remote access.