Skip to main content

Local Issues: General Research Guide: Finding Articles

Making your research relevant by focusing topics close to home.

GALILEO Password

All campus computers automatically have access to GALILEO, but if you work from home, you'll need a password. The password changes every semester, so make sure the one you use is current.

An easy way to get access: go to iCollege, click on the GALILEO link in the top banner and you're in! 

GALILEO Discover Tool

GALILEO has developed a new DISCOVER tool that allows you to search multiple sources and the library catalog at once. 

Things you should know:

  • It does not include Opposing Viewpoints and some other GPC databases.
  • Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) are optional
  • It automatically searches within the full text of articles, but not books.
  • It includes GIL-Find@GPC resources, including books and DVDs.
  • It does not give you the same limiters as searching individual databases.

Atlanta Magazine

Atlanta has its own popular magazine where you might find some helpful information.  We have the last two years in print at the Dunwoody LRC.  You can search for your topic and read the last ten years of articles using the MasterFile Elite database.  Grab this search and add your keyword in the second box.

WARNING:  Atlanta magazine is not a scholarly journal!

GALILEO Databases

GALILEO GALILEO (left hand column on library website or click here) is a collection of databases which each have thousands of articles from journals and magazines.

The GALILEO home page has a single search box called "Discover GALILEO."  If you would like to try that tool, please look at the tips in the box to the left..  For best results, we recommend either  using the  "Browse by Subject" or "Databases A-Z" tab to get to these recommended databases:

 

Academic Search Complete (requires GALILEO password)

  •         Our largest database
  •         Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles
  •        Good starting point for any topic
  •       TIP: Use Advanced Search with key word in one search box and Atlanta in another (try abstract, geographical terms, or subject)

 LexisNexis Academic (requires GALILEO password)

  •       Newspapers, including the AJC and NY Times        
  •     General magazines
  •      Great for current topics

Environment Complete  (requires GALILEO password)

  • Deep coverage of journals related to the environment and sustainability

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (requires your GPC username and password)

  • Features a variety of materials: essays, video, and scholarly journals
  • Especially good for controversity issues
  • TIP: Look for general information on your topic by browsing the issues list or searching by keyword.

CQ Press Electronic Library (requires your GPC username and password)

  • 25 page research reports assembled by experts and the Congressional Quarterly Press editors
  • Usually good for statistics with excellent reference
  • TIP:  Good for general information on your topic.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (requires your GPC username and password)

  • More ebooks on hot topics added each week.
  • Includes the Information+ series of books

There are also hundreds of specialty databases for you to use. "Browse by Subject" will help you choose.

GPC Databases and Ebooks

GALILEO resources are mostly selected by the colleges and universities of Georgia.  GPC has selected some databases and other resources we think are perfect for our classes.  You will find a list of them at this URL: http://guides.gpc.edu/az.php?v=25596‚Äč

In order to access these resources, you'll need to enter your GPC username and password.