Skip to main content

ENGL 1102 - English Composition II: Author Research: Finding Articles in Databases

Discover Tool

Discover tool advanced

The DISCOVER tool allows you to search multiple databases and the library catalog all at once.  (You can try it out in the search box above.)

Things you should know:

  • It does not include every GSU provided database.
  • Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) are optional
  • It automatically searches within the full text of articles, but not books.
  • It includes GIL-Find@GSU resources, including books and DVDs.
  • It does not give you the same limiters as searching individual databases.

You will probably get better results searching a specific database, which can be found in the "Browse by Subject" link or through the "Databases A-Z" index, if you know the name of the database.

Hot tip:  Use the Advanced Search Option.  that will give you three places to put search terms.  Use one for your author, one for the title if the work, and  an extra for a theme keyword or simply the term criticism. LIMIT the disciple to Literature and Writing.


Newspapers can be found using the Discover Tool and limiting to source type: news.  You can also go directly to the two specialized news databases below.

Database Tutorials

If you need instructions on using a particular database, you may find a video tutorial produced by GSU librarians on this page. Tutorials Research Guide.

Pay particular attention to:

Primary and Secondary Sources in Literature

For Students in Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis)

Discover for literary sources

Blooom's Literature


Recommended Databases - Start here

Hot tip for all databases:  Using Advanced Search in most cases gives you more options and control of the search.

Remember that general purpose databases have many journals related to literature.

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Frequently Asked Questions

Contact Us: