Skip to main content

PHED: Personal Health and Wellness: Research Database Tips

Guide for PHED 2022 Personal and Community Health and PHED 2006 First Aid and CPR as well as other health and wellness topics for non-health professionals.

Quick Links

About Research Databases

What are Research Databases?

Research databases are collections of information sources and are valuable tools for academic research. Use research databases to find articles in scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, reference works, and other sources unavailable on the open web. GSU Library's research databases also contains e-books, streaming videos, and links to highly reputable websites.  

How do I get to GSU Library research databases?

Watch this video tutorial to learn to use GSU Library research databases effectively.

(12:54)

GALILEO Discover Tool

GALILEO is a collection of databases shared by libraries in the state of Georgia.  The Discover tool allows you to search many of these databases and the GSU catalog at one time. It can be a great place to start your research, but aware that it does not include all of GSU's databases.

Try the Discover Search here! If off campus, you will be prompted to enter the GALILEO password.

 

 

The DISCOVER tool allows you to search many, but not all, GALILEO databases and the library catalog at once.

Things you should know about the DISCOVER Tool:

  • It includes many formats, including ebooks, articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, and streaming videos.
  • It is a good place for a quick start and for multi-disciplinary research.
  • It automatically searches within the full text of articles.
  • Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) are optional
  • It includes GIL-Find catalog resources, including books and DVDs.
  • Advanced Search allows you to narrow by subject area ("discipline") and easily create complex searches.

Why NOT to use the Discover Search (use individual databases instead):

  • To use Opposing Viewpoints, CQ Researcher, Lexis Nexis, ProQuest databases and others not included in Discover.
  • To use specialized search features in some databases (Examples: databases about literature, business, or medical topics.)
  • To limit your search results by...
    • subject (example: Literary Reference Center for literature)
    • format (example: Films on Demand for streaming videos)
    • scope (example: Consumer Health Complete for health articles aimed at non-medical professionals)

Logging into Research Databases

Log into Research Databases from the Library homepage or iCollege by using your Panther ID and password; you will not need the GALILEO password.

The GALILEO password changes every semester.

Get the password in iCollege or your library acccount.

 

More databases

 To locate more databases that pertain to your particular topic: 

  1. Go to the Discover tab on the library homepage or log into GALILEO
  2. In "Browse by Subject" (the default starting page), click on the subject closest to your topic to find recommended databases for that topic.
  3. Remember you can always ask a librarian to recommend databases for your topic!

Tracking down an article

Sometimes you have a specific journal or article in mind, or your instructor may assign an article.  The simplest thing to do is to look for the title of the article, in quotes, in the Discover search, as shown below...but this doesn't always work.

The more thorough way to do it, is to look at the citation, like this one....

and locate the title of the journal.  It's usually the part in italics. (I've highlighted it in the example above.)

Then go to the Journals tab on the library homepage and search for the journal by title. Be sure to choose if you want e-journals only or all journals (e-journals and print journals).

From the resulting list, choose the title of the journal and you'll see a list of databases that contain that journal. Notice which, if any, include the date of the article you want, and click on the title of the database to search for the article.

 

From here.....Depending on the database....

  • You may need to click on "search within publication" to look within the journal, or use the menu to locate by date.
  • You may need to add "AND" and the title of the article or authors to locate the article.
  • If you still can't find your article, ask a librarian for help or place an Interlibrary Loan request.