Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston - Deep Archive: On Display -- May 2008

This board features older display pages from the summer of 2006 to January of 2010

On Display -- May 2008

Featured Web Sites

Leisure and Learning

Worldcat Fiction Finder -- Splash
FictionFinder is a project of OCLC Research that provides access to 2.8 million works of fiction found in the OCLC WorldCat database.With FictionFinder, you can search for books, eBooks, and audiobooks by titles, authors, ISBNs, and other information such as literary awards and book summaries.You can also browse the FictionFinder database by genre, fictional character, imaginary place or setting, and subject.
http://fictionfinder.oclc.org/
Source: http://fictionfinder.oclc.org/

Overbooked: A Resource for Readers
Overbooked is a web site for ravenous & omnivorous readers. Overbooked provides information about fiction and readable nonfiction.Overbooked originals include annotated lists of nonfiction, fiction and mystery books which received starred reviews, themed booklists, featured titles lists and hot lists of hard cover US fiction releases.
http://www.overbooked.org/
Source: http://www.overbooked.org/

The Reader's Robot – A Reader's Advisory Service
This site offers a plentiful assortment of fairly current titles grouped by genre and subgenre. There is also a searchable database. Unlike many reader's advsiory pages, Reader's Robot includes a fairly extensive list of nonfiction in addition to fiction.
http://www.tnrdlib.bc.ca/rr.html
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Sachem Public Library: The Reader's Advisor
This site boasts a frequently updated collection of genre lists to suggest books for nearly every taste.
http://sachem.suffolk.lib.ny.us
/advisor/advisor.htm

Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Workplace Success

Careerbuilder.com
CareerBuilder.com offers a vast online and print network to help job seekers connect with employers.
http://www.careerbuilder.com
Source: http://www.careerbuilder.com
/share/AboutUs

CollegeRecruiter.com
Are you a college student looking for an internship or a recent college graduate searching for an entry level job or other career opportunity? CollegeRecruiter.com is your on-line home for the latest job postings, coolest career resources, the most helpful employment information and educational opportunities, and even free resume and career evaluations.
http://www.collegerecruiter.com/
Source: http://www.collegerecruiter.com/

Job Search Entry Level and Internships
Offers links to a wide assortment of links to variety of job and resume sites geared toward college students and recent graduates. Sites vary in content and quality.
http://www.curlie.org/Business
/Employment/Job_Search/
Entry_Level_and_Internships/

Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Monster.com
Why wait to find your perfect job? Why surrender one more Monday morning to weak coffee and daydreams? Start searching Monster's extensive job database now. And propel yourself to a whole new work life.
http://www.monster.com
Source: http://www.monster.com

The Zahir

Banana the Fate of the Fruit

Tabasco: Hitory...

Revolution is not a dinner party

Kenana handbook of the Sudan

Even Cat Sitters Get the Blues

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

left panel of the display

center panel of the display

right panel of the display

glass case that is part of the display

To see more displays in the deep archive, visit the Welcome to the Deep Archive page.

To see other displays stop by the DEEP ARCHIVE

Congratulations Class of 2008

This display is dedicated to the class of 2008, and proves that yes, there is life after graduation. This display offers the finest in new, leisure reading on assorted subjects as well as books to help you take on and succeed in the exciting world of work. In addition, there are both job hunting and leisure reading web sites. Enjoy.

Leisure and Learning

Ayto, John. Movers and Shakers: A Chronology of Words that Shaped our Age. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
Call #: PE1630 .A98 2006

Take a fascinating journey from plastic (1909) to podcasting (2004). This vivid picture of the last 105 years is based on John Ayto's critically acclaimed Twentieth Century Words, and was published in hardback as Movers and Shakers: A chronology of words that shaped our age. It offers a selection of the key words added to the English language in the twentieth century and the early years of the twenty-first, grouped by decade.
Source: http://www.amazon.co.uk
/Century-Words-Oxford-
Paperback-Reference/dp
/0199213690

Bernard, Shane K. Tabasco, an Illustrated History: The Story of the McIlhenny Family of Avery Island, 1868-2007. Avery Island, LA:McIlhenny Co., 2007.
Call #: TP420 .B47 2007

In the summer of 2005, McIlhenny historian and curator Bernard was working on the Tabasco Museum in New Orleans, a project shelved by Hurricane Katrina. This lavish, entrancing book resulted instead, tracing the fabled condiment's history, the family, marketing and more.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Tabasco-Illustrated-Shane-K-
Bernard/dp/0979780802

Blaize, Clement. Even Cat Sitters Get the Blues: A Dixie Hemingway Mystery. New York: Thomas Duane Books, 2008.
Call #: PS3603 .L463 E94

Tired of becoming involved in homicide investigations, Florida pet-sitter Dixie Hemingway does not report stumbling upon the corpse of a mansion gate-keeper, a resolve that is complicated when someone reports her presence at the scene of the crime.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Boyd, Herb. Baldwin's Harlem: A Biography of James Baldwin. New York: Atria Books, 2008.
Call #: PS3552.A45 Z7597 2008

A portrait of the iconic author offers insight into Baldwin’s connection to the city of Harlem, from his relationship with poet laureate Countee Cullen and student writings at Frederick Douglass Junior High to his diverse views on Harlem’s community life.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Cobb, Cathy. Crime Scene Chemistry for the Armchair Sleuth. Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 2007.
Call #: HV8073 .C584 2007

Chemists and science authors Cathy Cobb and Monty L. Fetterolf have teamed up with Jack G. Goldsmith, fellow chemist and reserve police officer, to create another intriguing trek through the science of chemistry, this time using the fascinating field of forensic chemistry as their framework. All new hands-on demonstrations and fictional minute mysteries illustrate chemical concepts as the authors present the science--and the realities--of forensic chemistry in a narrative style that makes this timely topic accessible to the nonchemist.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Crime-Scene
-Chemistry-Armchair-Sleuth/dp/1591025052

Coelho, Paulo. The Zahir: A Novel of Obsession. New York: HarperCollins, 2005.
Call #: PQ9698.13 .O3546

When his war correspondent wife goes missing with a friend who may be a lover, a celebrity novelist comes under suspicion until the friend reappears and invites him to undertake a spiritual journey to Kazakhstan.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Compestine, Ying Chang. The Revolution is not a Dinner Party: A Novel. New York: Henry Holt, 2007.
Call #: PS3553 .O48386 R48

Starting in 1972 when she is nine years old, Ling, the daughter of two doctors, struggles to make sense of the communists’ Cultural Revolution, which empties stores of food, homes of appliances deemed ""bourgeois," and people of laughter.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Gartrell, Nanette. My Answer is No – If That's Okay with You: How Women Can Say No and (Still) Feel Good About It. New York: Free Press, 2008.
Call #: HQ1206 .G37 20008

No is a very simple word -- two letters, one syllable. Yet many women have a hard time saying it without feeling anxious or guilty. In My Answer Is NO...If That's Okay with You, award-winning psychiatrist and author Dr. Nanette Gartrell takes a fresh look at why even the most powerful, accomplished, and successful women find it difficult to say no and offers a revolutionary approach to setting limits without jeopardizing important relationships.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
My-Answer-Thats-Okay-You/
dp/1416546936

Hafvenstein, Joel. Opium Season: A Year on the Afghan Frontier. Guilford, CT: Lyons Press, 2007.
Call #: DS371.4 .H32 2007

An aid volunteer documents his year working for an American-funded program in Afghanistan, as the group is caught between helping the poppy farmers who are struggling to make a living and fighting off the Taliban forces threatening to occupy the area.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Harrison, K. David. When Languages Die: The Extinction of the World's Languages and the Erosion of Human Knowledge. New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.
Call #: P40.5 .L33 H37 2007

In When Languages Die, K. David Harrison 'illustrates the individual face of language loss, as well as its global scale. Languages are the accretion of thousands of years of a peoples science and art - from observations of ecological patterns to creation myths. The author shows that the disappearance of a language is a loss not only for the community of speakers itself but also for our common human knowledge of mathematics, biology, geography, philosophy, agriculture, and linguistics. In this century, we face a massive erosion of the human knowledge base. The global abandonment of indigenous languages will bring a massive loss of accumulated knowledge and culture - this book argues for the irreplaceable nature of these unique knowledge systems and the urgency of documenting them before they are lost forever.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Hopkins, Peter G. Editor. The Kenana Handbook of Sudan. New York: Kegan Paul, 2007.
Call# : DT154.6 .K46 2007

This major reference project and travel guide is an authoritative and definitive work on Sudan, capturing all aspects of Africa's largest country from its roots in ancient Nubia to its modern economy and current development. Leading authorities write on their areas of expertise accompanied by rich illustrations and graphics.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Kenana-Handbook
-Sudan-Reference-Resource/dp/0710311605

Kazdin, Alan E and Carlo Rotella. The Kazdin Method for Parenting the Defiant Child: With no Pills, no Therapy, no Contest of Wills. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2008.
Call #: HQ773 .K39 2008

The director of the acclaimed Yale Parenting Center and Child Conduct Clinic distills his thirty years of work with children into a step-by-step method for parents -- with a bound-in DVD featuring effective tips for common problems.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Kazdin
-Method-Parenting-Defiant-Child/
dp/0618773673

Koeppel, Dan Banana: The Fate of the Fruit that Changed the World. New York: Hudson Street Press, 2008.
Call #: SB379 B2 K66 2008

From its early beginnings in Southeast Asia, to the machinations of the United Fruit Company in Costa Rica and Central America, the banana’s history and its fate as a victim of fungus are explored.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Lee, Li-Young. Behind My Eyes. New York: Norton & Company, 2008.
Call #: PS3562 .E3548 B45

In this fourth collection by the popular Lee (Book of My Nights), timely immigration issues drive such poems as Self-Help for Fellow Refugees, but Lee swiftly folds them into broader inquiries about inheritance, memory and loss: you'll remember your life, he advises, as a book of candles,/ each page read by the light of its own burning.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Behind-My-Eyes-Poems-audio/
dp/0393065421

Luskin, Fred. Forgive for Love: The Missing Ingredient for a Healthy and Lasting Relationship. NewYork: HarperOne, 2007.
Call #: BF637 .F67 L875 2007

This groundbreaking book from the frontiers of psychology offers startling new research about the one missing factor that is vital to relationships—forgiveness. A national bestselling author and leading expert on forgiveness, Dr. Fred Luskin shows that no matter how much two people may love each other, their relationship will not succeed unless they practice forgiveness—an approach that most relationship experts continue to ignore.
Source: http://books.google.com

Trautman, James. Pan American Clippers: The Golden Age of Flying Boats. Erin, Ontario: Boston Mills Press, 2007.
Call #: HE9803 .P36 T73

Pan Am Clippers permanently changed the world's concept of time and space by dramatically reducing travel time and opening up international air travel to the general public. This fascinating, informative and richly illustrated book brings back another time and way of life.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/Pan-
American-Clippers-Golden-Flying/
dp/1550464760

Weis, Rene. Shakespeare Unbound: Decoding a Hidden Life. New York: Henry Holt, 2007.
Call #: PR2909 W45 2007

Shakespeare's subjective 'I' is everywhere in his work, writes Weis, a professor of English at University College London, who pores over every line for evidence it may offer about the Bard's life. Weis frequently uses words like perhaps, might have and possibly, and he offers some eyebrow-raising deductions from the texts.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Shakespeare-Unbound-Decoding-
Hidden-Life/dp/0805075011

Zimberoof, Tom. Art of the Chopper. New York: Bullfinch Press, 2005.
Call #: TL439.5 .U6 Z563

An overview of some of the world’s most unusual and innovative motorcycles profiles twenty of today’s leading motorcycle designers and builders and their unique creations, and offers an in-depth analysis of each builder’s design philosophies and style.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Workplace Success

Bolles, Richard N. What Color is Your Parachute? Berkeley, CA: Ten Speed Press, 2006.
Call #: HF5382.7 .B64 2006

Recent reviews have called it "the jobhunter's Bible," "the Cadillac of job-search books," "the most complete career guide around," and "the gold standard of career guides."
Source: http://www.jobhuntersbible.
com/articles/wciyp.php

Carter, Jessica Faye. Double Outsiders: How Women of Color Can Succeed in Corporate America. Indianapolis, IN: JIST Publishers, 2007.
Call #: HD6057.5 .U5 C37 2007

This insightful book empowers African American, Latina, Asian, South Asian, Middle Eastern, Native American, and multiracial women to clarify the challenges they face and debunk myths and fallacies about them in corporate environments. It analyzes the critical success factors of professional women of color, provides resources, and offers potential insight into one of the fastest-growing employee demographics. This book also helps companies learn essential strategies for recruitment and retention of women of color.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Double-Outsiders-Succeed-
Corporate-America/dp/1593573863

Coplin, William D. 10 Things Employers Want you to Learn in College: The Know-how You Need to Succeed. Berkeley, CA: Ten Speed Press, 2003.
Call #: LC1037.5 .C68 2003

A college diploma can open many doors, but it’s just an expensive piece of paper if you don’t have what employers seek. Long-time professor and student adviser Bill Coplin surveyed the nation’s top companies and identified the essential skills recent grads need to survive and succeed in the job market.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Things-Employers-Want-Learn-College/
dp/1580085245

Criscito, Pat. How to Write Better Resumes and Cover Leters. Happauge, NY: Barron's Educational Series Inc., 2008.
Call #: HF5383 .C742 2008

The stodgy, old-fashioned typewritten résumé is a thing of the past—and Barron’s has a brand-new résumé manual designed to propel today’s job seekers toward success! The emphasis is on organizing one’s job qualifications and career experience to make the best possible presentation, but this how-to book focuses on a far broader range of job-seeking techniques than simply writing a good résumé.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Write-Better-Resumes-Cover-
Letters/dp/0764124943

Everett, Melissa. Making a Living while Making a Difference: Conscious Careers for an Era of Interdependence. Gabriola, British Columbia: New Society Publishers, 2007.
Call #: HF5381 .E853 2007

This completely revised second edition of Making a Living While Making a Difference updates the rapidly expanding career opportunities in socially responsible and green business, industry, commerce, and non-profits. Professional career counselor Melissa Everett guides the reader through a 10-step program for career development that stresses personal fulfillment, integrity, and contribution.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Making-Living-While-Difference/
dp/0865714002

Goldberg, Jan. Great Jobs for Music Majors. Chicago: VGM Career Books, 2005.
Call #: ML3795 .G74 2005

Great Jobs For . . . Each book in this series helps students discover new employment possibilities, assess strengths and interests, and develop a path for advancement and success in a chosen field. Ideal for those exploring which major to take in college.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Great-Jobs-Music-Majors-
Goldberg/dp/0844247456

Johnson, Kelly Love. Skirt! Rules for the Workplace: An Irreverent Guide to Advancing your Career. Guilford, CT: Skirt! Books, 2008.
Call #: HD6045.3 .J64 2008

Humorous, practical, tell-it-like-it-is advice for women in the workplace. Only seven of the Fortune 500 companies have a woman as CEO or President, \ and nearly 20 percent of them don’t have any women at all in upper management. Kelly Love Johnson lays out practical advice for career women who are starting out or who wonder why they’re not moving ahead.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
skirt-Rules-Workplace-Irreverent-
Advancing/dp/1599212234

Resumes for Nursing Careers. New York: Mcgraw-Hill, 2007.
Call #: RT86.7 .R45 2007

You've worked hard for your nursing degree; now it's time to take that education and put it to work. Get an edge on the other job applicants with Resumes for Nursing Careers.
Source: https://www.amazon.com/Resumes-Nursing-Careers-McGraw-Hill-Education/dp/0071476202/

Swinger, Joe. Leave Your Nose Ring at Home: Get the Job You Want by Creating a Powerful First Impression. Franklin Lakes, NJ: Career Press, 2006.
Call #: HF5382.7 S95 2006

Leave Your Nose Ring at Home is based on 20 years of bizarre, unusual, and absolutely crazy interviews that the author has encountered with young people. Think Paris Hilton getting an extreme makeover from Miss Modest. Written in a witty, irreverent style, the book will prepare you for the service industry interview by giving you the straight answers on what it takes to score that first job. If you are striking out and not being hired, this book will have you on the payroll in no time.
Source: http://www.amazon.com/
Leave-Your-Nose-Ring -Home/dp/
1564148750

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information