Skip to main content

ENGL 1101 Online: Research Databases - How to

Video tutorial-based guide for English 1101 Online

On this page....

A general overview of GSU Library's Research Databases, including the GALILEO DISCOVER tool.


  • About research databases
  • GALILEO Discover tool
  • Which databases should I use?
  • GALILEO password

About Research Databases

What are Research Databases?

Research databases are collections of information sources and are valuable tools for academic research. Use research databases to find articles in scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, reference works, and other sources unavailable on the open web. GSU Library's research databases also contains e-books, streaming videos, and links to highly reputable websites.  

How do I get to GSU Library research databases?

Watch this video tutorial to learn to use GSU Library research databases effectively.


GALILEO Discover Tool

GALILEO is a collection of databases shared by libraries in the state of Georgia.  The Discover tool allows you to search many of these databases and the GSU catalog at one time. It can be a great place to start your research, but aware that it does not include all of GSU's databases.

Try the Discover Search here! If off campus, you will be prompted to enter the GALILEO password.



The DISCOVER tool allows you to search many, but not all, GALILEO databases and the library catalog at once.

Things you should know about the DISCOVER Tool:

  • It includes many formats, including ebooks, articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, and streaming videos.
  • It is a good place for a quick start and for multi-disciplinary research.
  • It automatically searches within the full text of articles.
  • Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) are optional
  • It includes GIL-Find catalog resources, including books and DVDs.
  • Advanced Search allows you to narrow by subject area ("discipline") and easily create complex searches.

Why NOT to use the Discover Search (use individual databases instead):

  • To use Opposing Viewpoints, CQ Researcher, Lexis Nexis, ProQuest databases and others not included in Discover.
  • To use specialized search features in some databases (Examples: databases about literature, business, or medical topics.)
  • To limit your search results by...
    • subject (example: Literary Reference Center for literature)
    • format (example: Films on Demand for streaming videos)
    • scope (example: Consumer Health Complete for health articles aimed at non-medical professionals)

Which databases should I use?

These three research databases recommended for ENGL 1101 assignments because they are contain many articles appropriate for current topics and controversial issues.  Read more about these on the Research Databases - Best Bets page.


Need more options?
Identify more databases for your subject by going to "Databases by Subject" on the Library Homepage. (Hint: Think broadly.  Look for the subject area that would teach about that topic. For example, look for "Business" rather than "advertising strategies")


GALILEO password

Find the GALILEO password on the iCollege homepage.

No GALILEO password is needed when accessing GSU's databases from the library homepage or in iCollege.  

You will need the GALILEO password if you log into GALILEO directly or you are trying to open a permalink.