Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston: March 2018

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

March 2018

GALILEO Articles about Smartphones and Smartphone Apps

Kramer, Eileen H.
"(DE 'MOBILE apps') AND (SU evaluation)." Academic Search Complete,
EBSCOHost,
http://urls.to/smartphoneapp

A search for reviews and descriptions of a wide assortment of smartphone apps for both iPhone and Android and for an incredible array of specialized uses.
Eileen H. Kramer

Kramer, Eileen H.
"DE 'Smartphones -- Evaluation.'" Academic Search Complete
EBSCOHost,
http://urls.to/buysmartphone

A search for current articles describing and recommending smartphones for purchase and upgrade. Includes both Apple and Android models.
Eileen H. Kramer

Kramer, Eileen H.
"MM 'Mobile Applications.'"
CINAHL Plus with Full Text,
EBSCOHost,
http://urls.to/healthapps

Features references to articles about cell phone applications used by patients and in nursing, allied health, and medicine.
Eileen H. Kramer

Kramer, Eileen H.
"'mobile app' OR 'smartphone app OR 'app for that.'"
Nexis Uni,
Lexis Nexis,
http://urls.to/lexisapps

There's an app for that, and Nexis Uni offers newspaper articles about smartphone applications as well as tips, tricks, and techniques for getting the most out of your device.
Eileen H. Kramer

Kramer, Eileen H.
"(smartphone apps) AND (stype.exact('Scholarly Journals' OR 'Trade Journals' OR 'Magazines') AND yr(2014-2018))."
ProQuest Social Sciences Premeium Collection,
ProQuest,
http://urls.to/socialsciapps Note: this link expires Feb. 23, 2019.
Links to social science and interdisciplinary journals on the social uses for and effects of smart phones.
Eileen H. Kramer

Kramer, Eileen H.
"su(smartphones) AND stype.exact('Magazines' OR 'Trade Journals' OR 'Scholarly Journals') AND at.exact('Feature' OR 'Review' OR 'Article') AND la.exact('English')." ABI Inform Collection,
ProQuest,
http://urls.to/abismartphone Note: this link expires Feb. 23, 2019.
A list of references to articles about all brands of smart phones. Articles mainly reflect a business viewpoint.
Eileen H. Kramer

Kramer, Eileen H.
""su(smartphones) AND stype.exact('Magazines' OR 'Trade Journals' OR 'Scholarly Journals') AND at.exact('Feature' OR 'Review' OR 'Article') AND la.exact('English')."
ABI Inform Collection,
ProQuest
http://urls.to/abismartphoneapps Note: this link expires Feb. 23, 2019.
Reviews of a dazzling array of smartphone applications for both Apple and Android devices, and covering a wide array of subjects and serving a wider array of needs.
Eileen H. Kramer

Apple Support on YouTube
Android articles on the Dummies web site
TED Talks: Your Cell Phone Priavcy is a Civil Right

General Smartphone Care

"Field Guide."
Gizmodo.com,
Gizmodo.com
https://fieldguide.gizmodo.com/

Articles on various aspects of both cell phones and the internet. Topics include puchasing a phone, purchasing accessories, comparison shopping for a phone, security issues and more.
Eileen H. Kramer

"How To."
PC Magazine,
PC Magazine,
https://www.pcmag.com/how-to

Though it also covers laptop and desktop computers as well as the internet, the How To section is a great place for readable articles on how to do learn about such tasks as battery replacement, number blocking, handling storage as well as to find suggestions for high quality apps. Covers both iPhones and Android.
Eileen H. Kramer

"Mobile Apps."
CNET,
CNET,
https://www.cnet.com/topics/
mobile-apps/how-to/

Current application reviews and how to articles for users of both Apple and Android phones. The level is not absolute beginner, but rather for the curious user ready to explore and make their phone their own.
Eileen H. Kramer

Stewart, Peter.. The Live-Streaming Handbook: How to Create Grteat Live Video on your Phone for Facebook and Twitter.
Routledge, 2018.
Call # EBook Central
The Live-Streaming Handbook will teach you how to present live-video shows from your phone and stream them straight to Facebook and Twitter. With this book and your favourite social media apps, you will be able to run your own TV station for your home or work.
http://books.google.com


Own Your Phone -- Physical Display Logo
Right Display Panel
Center Display Panel
Left Display Panel
Books on the display case
One of the most influential cell phone articles
An interior view of the display case featuring a couple of books.

To see past displays, please visit the JCLRC's Display Archives.

A phone you can own Whether you have an Android (Samsung, LG, Xiomi or Blu) or iPhone, whether you think your phone is the greatest thing since sliced bread or a necessary evil, you can learn more about it, customize it, fix it, discover its best apps, and in short...you can own your phone!

NOTE: Any apps pictured or mentioned in this display, are here because the articles came up first in the database searches, they have aesthetically pleasing icons, or the articles about them appeared appealing. Neither the display creator, Eileen H. Kramer, no Perimeter College of Georgia State University, nor Georgia State University, endorses any of them.

All Things Android (Samsung, LG, etc...)

"Android"
dummies,
John Wiley and Sons,
http://www.dummies.com/?s=android

Bite size basic instruction for beginners and their questions about their Android phones.
Eileen H. Kramer

"Android."
MakeUseOf,
MakeUseOf,
https://www.makeuseof.com/service/google-android/

he place to learn about new and high quality phone apps, how to customize your Android device, application reviews, and more.
Eileen H. Kramer

"android."
ZDNet,
ZDNet,
http://www.zdnet.com/search/?o=1&q=android

Android news mixed with inviting reviews of new products, suggestions for new apps, security warnings, and more.
Eileen H. Kramer

Android and Me,
PhoneDog Media
https://androidandme.com/

Features news about the latest Android operating systems, some hardware reviews, but app recommendation/reviews are where they site truly shines.
Eileen H. Kramer

Android Authority,
Android Authority,
https://www.androidauthority.com/

Once you find your way around the big, kelly green ribbon at te top of the page, you can locate How Tos under More, Reviews of new phones in all price ranges under Reviews, and articles about all manner of applications under Apps and Games.
Eileen H. Kramer

Android Flagship,
Android Flagship,
http://androidflagship.com/

The how-to's take front and center at this site that also presents news and fairly interesting app reviews. The level is practical and aimed at a novice user as well as owners who want to explore.
Eileen H. Kramer

"Android How-Tos."
Title
LifeWire,
DotDash
https://www.lifewire.com/learn-how-android-4102757

Once you stop thinking of your Android phone as just a phone, you can start imagining all the things it can do. These how-to guides are a great place to start.
https://www.lifewire.com/learn-how-android-4102757

On Nexis Uni there's an app for that

Back to the top of the page.

AndroidPit,
FonPit,
https://www.androidpit.com/

Offers articles on the newest Android phones, tips for getting the most from your device, application and hardware reviews, a section on "deals" and phone plans, and more.
Eileen H. Kramer

Burd, Barry. Android Application Development All-in-one for Dummies.
For Dummies, 2015.
Call # QA76.76.A65 B864
Android is everywhere, and Burd shows you how to get your piece of the action. This all-in-one guide to creating great apps for this booming market takes you from groundwork through the essentials common to every app, to actually marketing your apps and learning advanced techniques involving C and C++.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Gookin, Dan. Android Phones for Dummies.
John Wiley & Sons Inc., 2015.
Call # QA76.774.A53 G65 2015
From setup and configuration to taking advantage of the latest features, this guide helps you get the most out of your Android smartphone. Gookin walks you through the basics of making calls, sending e-mails and texts, making the most of Android apps, and more.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Griffiths, Dawn. Head First Android Development.
O'Reilly, 2015.
Call # QA76.774.A53 G75 2015
Presents an introduction to Android development, with information on building interactive apps, creating the user interface, setting up databases, using action bars, and making apps fit in with Material Design.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Hart-Davis, Guy. Teach Yourself VISUALLY Android Phones and Tablets.
John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2015.
Call # Books 24/7
If you are a visual learner who prefers to be shown how to do something rather than be given a long-winded explanation, this book is filled with clear, step-by-step screenshots that demonstrate how to tackle more than 120 Android phone and tablet tasks to get you up and running in no time.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Hart-Davis, Guy. Teach Yourself VISUALLY Samsung Galaxy S6.
John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2015.
Call # Books 24/7
Filled with clear, step-by-step screen shots that show you how to tackle more than 115 Samsung Galaxy S6 tasks, this viual guide is sure to get you up and running on your Galaxy S6 in no time. Learn to: configure and set up your phone; text, e-mail, call, and go online; shoot photos and video; find, download, and update apps; and more.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Hughes, Bill. Samsung Galaxy S6 for Dummies.
Samsung Galaxy S6 for Dummies.
Call # QA76.8.S25 H84 2015
Introduces the major features of the Samsung Galaxy S6 smartphone, covering such topics as texting, accessing the Internet, downloading apps, sharing pictures, playing music and videos, using maps, and maximizing shortcuts.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Phandroid,
Phandroid,
https://phandroid.com/

Read fairly intelligible, industry news, phone reviews, peripheral reviews, game and app reviews, and have your questions answered in the forum, all on one fairly well organized site.
Eileen H. Kramer

Talk Android
Canuck Digital Media Inc.
http://www.talkandroid.com/

This site features news for the tech savvy Android user on its front page as well as Android business headlines. Hardware and accessory reviews for a more general audience lurk beneath Guides, Reviews, and Best of. Best of is the most useful category. It includes a Budget Phone section and app reviews sorted by type.
Eileen H. Kramer

Talk Android

Back to the top of the page.

All Things Iphone, Ipad, and IOS

9to5 Mac,
9to5,
https://9to5mac.com/

A site that helps you make the most from your iPhone, iPad, and other Apple device. The most useful material hides under Guides. Choose How Tos to discover new uses for your iPhone or select Reviews to learn about peripherals for our smart device. Apps reside mainly under How Tos.
Eileen H. Kramer

Apple Support,
Apple,
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCYFQ33UIPERYx8-ZHucZbDA/videos

Videos that explain how to use and care for your iPhone and other Apple devices.
http://urls.to/iphonesupport

Baig, Edward C. and Bob LeVitus. iPhone for Dummies.
John Wiley & Sons Inc., 2016.
Call # QA76.8.I64 B35 2016
aig and LeVitus help you get all the fun and functionality out of your iPhone! They make it easy to navigate your way around your new device and unlock all of its state-of-the-art features. You'll get a walk-through on surfing the web, staying connected with Facebook and FaceTime.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

"Blogavision," Apple iPhone Blog: For Early Adopters of Tech,
edited by George Whitelock,
https://iphone.blogvasion.com/

Despite its parent site's name, this blog is really for curious iPhone owners who want to get the most from their phones. Articles focus on particular specialized apps, how to care for your phone, tips, tricks, techniques, and more.
Eileen H. Kramer

Fragans, Michael. The iPhone Photographer: How to Take Professional Photographs with your Phone.
Amherst Media Inc., 2015.
Call #EBook Central
Michael Fagan (sic) enjoys telling people's stories. His journey has taken him to the Navajo Nation, Malawi, India, Afghanistan, Scotland, Canada, the Dominican Republic, Belize and Guatemala.Currently, his work is focused on helping businesses and nonprofits inform their clients, volunteers, and the community about the work they are doing. This may include still photography, video, web projects, social media, or a combination of media.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Hart-Davis, Guy.
Teach Yourself VISUALLY iPhone.
John Wiley & Sons Inc., 2015.
Call #Books 24/7
For new iPhone users and long-time customers alike, this guide features visually rich tutorials and step-by-step instructions that will help you understand all of your iPhone's capabilities - from the most basic to the most advanced. You'll learn how to access and download books, apps, music, and video content as well as send photos and e-mails, edit movies, sync with Apple devices and services, and effectively use the current OS. All the new features and capabilities of the latest, cutting-edge iPhone are covered.
http://gifind.gsu.edu

"iphone."
dummies,
John Wiley and Sons,
http://www.dummies.com/page/1/?s=iphone&type=20,849,19

Tastey morsels of beginner-level information on how to get the most from your iPhone or iPad.
Eileen H. Kramer

"iPhone."
ZDNet,
ZDNet,
http://www.zdnet.com/topic/iphone/

Offers articles about Apple, IOS operating system, iPhone use, security, and of course apps as well as some tips and techniques.
Eileen H. Kramer

Teach Yourself Visually Android   IPhone and IPad for Musicians for Dummies

Back to the top of the page.

"iPhone and iPad."
MakeUseOf,
MakeUseOf
https://www.makeuseof.com/service/ios/

Do you need articles on how to learn more about, find great apps for and improve your iPhone's enjoyment and use? MakeUseOf is the right place.
Eileen H. Kramer

"iPhone & iPod How-Tos."
LifeWire,
DotDash,
https://www.lifewire.com/learn-how-iphone-ipod-4102758

Once you stop thinking of your iPhone as just a phone, you will start uncovering the amazing things it can do. These how-to guides are a great place to start.
https://www.lifewire.com/learn-how-iphone-ipod-4102758

iPhoneFAQ,
Cignal Media,
https://www.iphonefaq.org/

The iPhone FAQ is an online resource dedicated to providing information about the Apple iPhone. News, usage tips, tutorials, technical specifications, general information, and more.
https://www.iphonefaq.org/

Neuburg, Matt. Programming iOS 9.
O'Reilly, 2016.
Call # QA76.774.I67 N485 2016
If you’re grounded in the basics of Swift, Xcode, and the Cocoa framework, this book provides a structured explanation of all essential real-world iOS app components.
http://shop.oreilly.com

Sloma, Kat. Art with an iPhone: A Photographer's Guide to Creating Altered Realities.
Amherst Media Inc., 2016.
Call # Academic EBooks on EBSCOHost
Phone boasts a powerful and highly capable camera that is always at the ready, allowing you to document the people, places, and things that surround you. Kat Sloma teaches you how to harness natural light, both indoors and out, to create high-quality images—and then she details some of the amazing, inexpensive, and powerful apps that can be used to finesse every aspect of the image—from capture to output.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Williams, Ryan C. and Mike W. Levine. iPhone & iPad for Musicians for Dummies.
John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2015.
Call # Books 24/7
This book explains how to hook up your preferred instrument to your iPad or iPhone to work on music projects within a plethora of recording apps. You'll learn how to incorporate both real and MIDI instruments and audio, edit individual tracks, work with effects and chain multiple apps together, and mix and master songs. Thanks to apps such as AmpliTube, AudioBus, and Apple's own GarageBand, musicians can record entire songs in the comfort of their own homes and then mix, master, and distribute them right there on their iPads or iPhones. Packed with tons of step-by-step instructions, this guide shows you how to use your device to go from recording a basic piece of music to creating and uploading complete songs with full instrumentation and multiple tracks, instruments, and effects.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

All Tech Considered

Smartphones in Social and Historical Context

Albrecht, Leslie.
"6 Ways to Make Smartphones More Humane — and Less Addictive." Marketwatch,
Marketwatch Inc.
https://www.marketwatch.com/story/
6-features-that-could-make-your-phone-less-addictive-2017-09-12

With 39% of millennials interacting more with their phones than with their loved ones (according to one survey), MarketWatch talked with experts about how phones could be designed to grab less of our attention.
https://www.marketwatch.com/story/
6-features-that-could-make-your-phone-less-addictive-2017-09-12

Alter, Adam L. Irresistble, The Rise of Addictive Technology and the Business of Keeping us Hooked.
Penguin Press, 2017.
Call # Atlanta HM851 .A437 2017
An urgent and expert investigation into behavioral addiction, the dark flipside of today's unavoidable digital technologies, and how we can turn the tide to regain control.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Smartphones as Locative Media Frith, Jonathan Smartphones as Locative Media.
Polity, 2015.
Call # TK5105.65 .F78 2015
Smartphone adoption has surpassed 50% of the population in more than 15 countries, and there are now more than one million mobile applications people can download to their phones. Many of these applications take advantage of smartphones as locative media, which is what allows smartphones to be located in physical space. Applications that take advantage of people's location are called location-based services, and they are the focus of this book.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Herman, John.
"Shit Phone: A Love Story."
Medium,
A Medium Corporation,
https://medium.com/matter/shitphone-a-love-story-a44e66434807

Describes the author's own use with budget Android phones, introduces unlocked budget devices, and makes a case for treating cell phones like any other appliance. Note: the author downgraded his device. If you upgrade, your experience will be markedly better.
Eileen H. Kramer

" 'Irresistible' By Design: It's No Accident You Can't Stop Looking At The Screen."
All Tech Considered,
National Public Radio,
https://www.npr.org/sections/alltechconsidered/
2017/03/13/519977607/
irresistible-by-design-its-no-
accident-you-cant-stop-looking-at-the-screen

Alter [Author of the book, Irrisistible] says that technology is designed to be addictive and that the gratification it provides is similar to that of other addictive behaviors, such as drug abuse or gambling. [Note: Technology includes smartphones.]
https://www.npr.org/sections/alltechconsidered/
2017/03/13/519977607/
irresistible-by-design-its-no-
accident-you-cant-stop-looking-at-the-screen

Kramer, Eileen, H.
"DE 'SMARTPHONES -- Social aspects."
Academic Search Complete,
EBSCOHost,
http://urls.to/socialsmartphone

A search for articles about how cell phones effect us socially and psychologically.
Eileen H. Kramer

McKee Jonathan.
52 Ways to Connect with your Smartphone Obsessed Kid: How to Engage Kids who Can't Seem to Pry Their Eyes from their Devices.
Shiloh Run Press, 2016.
Call # EBook Central
In 52 Ways to Connect with Your Smartphone Obsessed Kid, author Jonathan McKee offers useful tips and creative ideas to help you have meaningful, face-to-face interaction with your kids.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Smartphone Cultures..
edited by Jane Vincent. Routledge, 2018
Call #EBook Central
Smartphone Cultures explores emerging questions about the ways in which this mobile technology and its apps have been produced, represented, regulated and incorporated into everyday social practices. The various authors in this volume each locate their contributions within the circuit of culture model.
http://books.google.com

Stewart, Gayle B.
Cell Phones and Distracted Driving.
Reference Point Press Inc., 2015.
Call # HE5620.D59 S83 2015
This series explores the various ways, both positive and negative, in which cell phones affect society and shape our modern lives and interactions with others. Readers will be drawn in by real-life examples and text boxes with supplemental information and quotes.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Turkle, Sherry. Reclaiming Conversation: The Power of Talk in a Digital Age.
Penguin Press, 2015.
Call # P96.T42 T85 2015
Preeminent author and researcher Sherry Turkle has been studying digital culture for over thirty years. Long an enthusiast for its possibilities, here she investigates a troubling consequence: at work, at home, in politics, and in love, we find ways around conversation, tempted by the possibilities of a text or an email in which we don't have to look, listen, or reveal ourselves.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Woyke, Elizabeth. The Smartphone: Anatomy of an Industry.
New Press, 2014.
Call # HE9713 .W69 2014
We think we know everything about our smartphones. We use them constantly. We depend on them for every conceivable purpose. We are familiar with every inch of their compact frames. But there is more to the smartphone than meets the eye. How have smartphones shaped the way we socialize and interact? Who tracks our actions, our preferences, our movements as recorded by our smartphones? These are just some of the questions that journalist Elizabeth Woyke answers in this muckraking expose; of the $241 billion industry that produces more than 700 million devices each year.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Your Smartphone is a Civil Rights Issue,
Christopher Soghoian,
TED Conferences LLC,
Films on Demand,
http://ezproxy.gsu.edu/login?
url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?
wID=96311&xtid=133324

The smartphone you use reflects more than just personal taste ... it could determine how closely you can be tracked, too. Privacy expert and TED Fellow Christopher Soghoian details a glaring difference between the encryption used on Apple and Android devices and urges us to pay attention to a growing digital security divide.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Irresistible: The Rise of Addictive Technology  Live Streaming Handbook

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information