Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston: February 2016

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

February 2016

Civil Rights Web Sites

American Memory.
The Civil Rights Era
U.S. Library of Congress
https://memory.loc.gov/
ammem/aaohtml/
exhibit/aopart9.html

The post-war era marked a period of unprecedented energy against the second class citizenship accorded to African Americans in many parts of the nation. Resistance to racial segregation and discrimination with strategies such as civil disobedience, nonviolent resistance, marches, protests, boycotts, "freedom rides," and rallies received national attention as newspaper, radio, and television reporters and cameramen documented the struggle to end racial inequality. There were also continuing efforts to legally challenge segregation through the courts.
https://memory.loc.gov/
ammem/aaohtml/
exhibit/aopart9.html

Birgmingham Civil Rights Institute.
Birmingham Civil Rights Institute.
https://www.bcri.org/
To enlighten each generation about civil and human rights by exploring our common past and working together in the present to build a better future. Birmingham Civil Rights Institute (BCRI)
http://www.bcri.org/Information
/AboutBCRI.html

National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel.
National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel.
http://civilrightsmuseum.org/
Established in 1991, the National Civil Rights Museum is located at the former Lorraine Motel, where civil rights leader Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated on April 4, 1968. Through interactive exhibits, historic collections, dynamic speakers and special events, the museum offers visitors a chance to walk through history and learn more about a tumultuous and inspiring period of change. http://civilrightsmuseum.org/about/

Partners to History
Blacks and Social Change
White Socks Only
Civilities and Civil Rights

U.S. National Park Service.
Martin Luther King Jr. National Historical Site.
US National Park Service.
http://www.nps.gov/malu/index.htm
A young boy grows up in a time of segregation…A dreamer is moved by destiny into leadership of the modern civil rights movement…This was Martin Luther King, Jr. Come hear his story, visit the home of his birth, and where he played as a child. Walk in his footsteps, and hear his voice in the church where he moved hearts and minds. Marvel at how he was an instrument for social change.
Source: http://www.nps.gov/malu/
index.htm

U.S. National Park Service.
Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial .
U.S. National Park Service.
http://www.nps.gov/mlkm/index.htm
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial is part of National Mall and Memorial Parks. The memorial is located at the intersection of Independence Ave and West Basin Drive SW in Washington, D.C.
http://www.nps.gov/mlkm/index.htm

Voices of Civil Rights.
U.S. Library of Congress.
https://www.loc.gov/
exhibits/civilrights/

The exhibition Voices of Civil Rights documents events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States. This exhibition draws from the thousands of personal stories, oral histories, and photographs collected by the “Voices of Civil Rights” project, a collaborative effort of AARP, the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights (LCCR), and the Library of Congress, and marks the arrival of these materials in the Library's collection
https://www.loc.gov/
exhibits/civilrights/

DVD's on the display cart.
Long View of the Display's glass case.
Wide view of the display's glass case.
Left Display Panel
Center Display Panel
Right Display Panel

To see past displays, please visit the JCLRC's Display Archives.

Celebrate the Civil Rights Movement

February was Black history month, and GSU Perimeter College's Clarkston Library invites you to celebrate it with DVD's by and about African American Artists and books about the history of the struggle for racial equality.

The 1960's and Before

Abernathy Donzaleigh. Partners to History: Martin Luther King Jr. Ralph David Abernathy and the Civil Rights Movement.
New York: Crown Publishers, 2003.
Call # E185.61 .A165 2003
A visual memoir of the civil rights movement as viewed through the eyes of the daughter of the Reverend Ralph Abernathy captures key moments in the history of the struggle for civil rights.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Boyd, Herb. We Shall Overcome.
Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks, 2004.
Call # E185.61 .B774 2004
Chronicles the significant events and key figures from the civil right movement, including the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr., the murder of Emmet Till, and the Watts riots, with archival audio recordings on the accompanying CDs.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Carson, Clayborne. In Struggle: SNCC and the Black Awakening of the 1960s.
Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1995.
Call # E185.61 .C27 1995
With its radical ideology and effective tactics, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) was the cutting edge of the civil rights movement during the 1960s. This sympathetic yet even-handed book records for the first time the complete story of SNCC's evolution, of its successes and its difficulties in the ongoing struggle to end white repression.
http://books.google.com

Chafe William, H. Civilities and Civil Rights: Greensboro, North Carolina and the Black Struggle for Freedom.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1981.
Call # F264.G8 C47 1981.
Reveals how whites in Greensboro used the traditional Southern concept of civility as a means of keeping Black protest in check and how Black activists continually devised new ways of asserting their quest for freedom.
http://books.google.com

Forman, James. The Making of Black Revolutionaries.
Washington: Open Hand Pub., 1985.
Call # E185.97.F715 A3 1985
This eloquent and provocative autobiography, originally published in 1972, records a day by day, sometimes hour by hour, compassionate account of the events that took place in the streets, meetings, churches, jails, and in people's hearts and minds in the 1960s civil rights movement.
http://books.google.com

Back to the top of the page.

Horne, Gerald. . The Fire This Time: The Watts Uprising and the 1960s.
Charlottesville, VA: University Press of Virginia, 1995.
Call # F869.L89 N4 1995
In August 1965 the predominantly black neighborhood of Watts in Los Angeles erupted in flames and violence following an incident of police brutality. This is the first comprehensive treatment of that uprising.
http://books.google.com

Selma, Lord Selma  Making Civil Rights Law

Kasher, Steven. The Civil Rights Movement: A Photographic Hisotry, 1954-1968.
New York: Abbeville Press, 1996.
Call # Dunwoody E185.61 .K347 1996
With a far-ranging selection of striking images and a lively, cogent text, Steven Kasher captures the danger, drama, and bravery of the civil rights movement. After an introduction explaining the vital importance of photography to the movement, the book proceeds from the Montgomery bus boycott through the student, local, and national movements; the big marches in Washington and Selma; Freedom Summer; Malcolm X and Black Power; and the death of Martin Luther King.
http://books.google.com

Levy, Peter B. Ed. The Civil Rights Movement in America: From Black Nationalism to the Women's Political Council.
Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2015.
Call # eBooks on EBSCOHost E185.61 .C6148 2015
This single volume encyclopedia not only provides accessible A-Z entries about the well-known people and events of the Civil Rights Movement but also offers coverage of lesser-known contributors to the movement's overall success and outcomes.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Wexler, Sanford. The Civil Rights Movement: An Eyewitness History.
New York: Facts on File, 1993.
Call # E185.61 .W548 1993
Uses speeches, articles, and other writings of those involved to trace the history of the civil rights movement in the United States, primarily from 1954 to 1965.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Young, Andrew. An Easy Burden: The Civil Rights Movement and the Transformation of America.
New York: HarperCollins, 1996.
Call # E840.8.Y64 A3 1996
Andrew Young is one of the most important figures of the U.S. civil rights movement and one of America's best-known African American leaders. Working closely with Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, he endured beatings and arrests while participating in seminal civil rights campaigns. In 1964, he became Executive Director of the SCLC, serving with King during a time of great accomplishment and turmoil. In describing his life through his election to Congress in 1972, this memoir provides revelatory, riveting reading. Young's analysis of the connection between racism, poverty, and a militarized economy will resonate with particular relevance for readers today.
http://books.google.com

Back to the top of the page.

Civil Rights Law and Legislation

Cortner, Richard C. Civil Rights and Public Accomodations: The Heat of Atlanta Motel and McClung Cases.
Lawrence, KS: University Press of Kansas, 2001.
Call # KF228.H43 C67 2001br>
The struggle for civil rights in America was fought at the lunch counter as well as in the streets. It ultimately found victory in the halls of government—but, as Richard Cortner reveals, only through a creative use of congressional power and critical judicial decisions.
htp://books.google.com

Graham, Hugh Davis. The Civil Rights Era: Origins and Development of National Policy, 1960-1972.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1990.
Call # JC599.U5 G685 1990
Looks at the forces that shaped civil rights legislation.
http://books.google.com

Patterson, Charles. The Civil Rights Movement.
New York: Facts on File, 1995.
Call # E185.61 .P32 1995
This study traces the major events of the civil rights movement in the 20th century, from the early legal challenges by the NAACP to segregation and other forms of racial discrimination to the landmark Brown V. Board of Education Of Topeka decision in 1954, from the 1963 march on Washington to the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr.
http://books.google.com

Tushnet, Mark. V. Making Civil Rights Law: Thurgood Marshall and the Superme Court, 1936-1961.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.
Call # KF4755 .T87 1994
From the 1930s to the early 1960s civil rights law was made primarily through constitutional litigation. Before Rosa Parks could ignite a Montgomery Bus Boycott, the Supreme Court had to strike down the Alabama law which made segregated bus service required by law; before Martin Luther King could march on Selma to register voters, the Supreme Court had to find unconstitutional the Southern Democratic Party's exclusion of African-Americans; and before the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Supreme Court had to strike down the laws allowing for the segregation of public graduate schools, colleges, high schools, and grade schools. Making Civil Rights Law provides a chronological narrative history of the legal struggle, led by Thurgood Marshall and the NAACP Legal Defense Fund, that preceded the political battles for civil rights.
http://books.google.com

Back to the top of the page.

Beyond the 1960's and Looking Back to Them

Button, James W. Blacks and Social Change: Impact of the Civil Rights Movement in Southern Communities.
Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1989.
Call # E185.92 .B88 1989
This book is a long-term empirical analysis of the impact of the civil rights movement on the real-life situations of southern blacks. Looking at the period from the late 1950s to the mid-1980s, it assesses the role of black political participation in six Florida cities.
http://books.google.com

Coleman, Eevelyn and Tyrone Geter. White Socks Only.
Chicago: Albert Whitman & Company, 1996.
Call # PZ7.C6746 Wh 1996
: Grandma tells the story about her first trip alone into town during the days when segregation still existed in Mississippi.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Davis, Deborah. The Oprah Winfrey Show: Reflections on an American Legacy.
New York: Abrams, 2011.
Call # PN1992.77.O68 D38 2011
Arguably the most influential television personality of all time, Ms. Winfrey and her show have had an impact on American culture that cannot be overstated. This beautifully illustrated book explores and celebrates the legacy of the show using written contributions from a stellar group of public figures and images from notable photographers.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Evans, Shane. We March.
New York: Roaring Brook Press, 2012.
Call # PZ7.E8924 We 2012
Illustrations and brief text portray the events of the 1963 march in Washington, D.C., where the Reverend Martin Luther King Jr. delivered a historic speech.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Grady-Willis, Winston A. Challenging U.S. Apartheid: Atlanta and Black Struggles for Human Rights, 1960-1977.
Durham: Duke University Press, 2006.
Call # F294.A89 N4387 2006
Challenging U.S. Apartheid is an innovative, richly detailed history of Black struggles for human dignity, equality, and opportunity in Atlanta from the early 1960s through the end of the initial term of Maynard Jackson, the city's first Black mayor, in 1977.
http://books.google.com

An Evening with Nat King Cole  Malcolm X

Lewis, John, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell. March. Vol. 1.
Marietta, GA: Top Shelf Productions, 2013.
Call # E840.8.L43 A3 2013
Lewis traces his role in the pivotal Selma marches, Bloody Sunday, and the Freedom Rides. Inspired by his mentor, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Lewis’ vision and perseverance altered history. In 1986, he ran and won a congressional seat in Georgia, and remains in office to this day, continuing to enact change.
http://books.google.com

Ntozake, Shange and Rod Brown. We Troubled the Waters: Poems.
New York: Collins, 2009.
Call # PS3569.H3324 W4 2009
Award-winning poet Ntozake Shange and illustrator Rod Brown give voice to all those who fought for their unalienable rights in a triumphant book about the power of the human spirit.
http://books.google.com

Risen, Clay. A Nation on Fire: America in the Wake of the King Assassination.
Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2009.
Call # Dunwoody HV6477 .R57 2009
To say that the riots meant different things to different people would be exceedingly trite if it weren't also exceedingly true. In ways large and small, the King riots solidified attitudes and trends that destroyed the momentum behind racial progress, fatally wounded postwar domestic liberalism, created new divisions among blacks and whites, and condemned urban America to decades of poverty and crime. This book will explain why they occurred, how they played out, and what they meant.
http://books.google.com

Shakoor, Jordana Y. Civil Rights Childhood.
Source
Call # E185.96 .S42 1999
he voices in this book tell a story whose theme is familiar to legions of African Americans. Yet its particular voices, until now, have gone unheard. Though this is told by a child born in the segregated South, it also is the story of her family's triumph over a dark heritage, a story of a Civil Rights childhood that casts away a centuries-old tradition of insult and denial to embrace instead a Civil Rights heritage of freedom and love.
http://books.google.com

Back to the top of the page.

Black Panthers, Malcolm X, and Nation of Islam

Bloom, Joshua and Waldo E. Martin. Black Against Empire: The History and Politics of the Black Panther Party.
Berkeley: University of California Press, 2012.
Call # Academic eBooks on EBSCOHost E185.615 .B5574 2012
Black against Empire is the first comprehensive overview and analysis of the history and politics of the Black Panther Party.
http://books.google.com

The Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundationi and David Hiliard. The Black Panther Party: Service to the People Programs.
Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 2008.
Call # Ebrary HV3185.O35 B55 2008
Published here for the first time in book form, The Black Panther Party makes the case that the programs' methods are viable models for addressing the persistent, basic social injustices and economic problems of today's American cities and suburbs.
http://books.google.com

Lincoln, C. Eric. The Black Muslims in America.
Grand Rapids: Africa World Press, 1993.
Call # BP221 .L56 1994
his new edition of Lincoln's classic study details the formation and development of the Black Muslim movement through its wide-ranging expressions in America today, focusing especially on Louis Farrakhan's movement as the true successor to the original Nation of Islam founded by Elijah Muhammad.
http://books.google.com

White, Vibert. L. Inside the Nation of Islam: A Historical and Personal Testimony by a Black Muslim.
Gainseville, FL: University Press of Florida, 2001.
Call # BP221.A1 W47 2001
his detailed study of the internal workings of the Nation of Islam under the leadership of Louis Farrakhan examines the evolution of the organization since 1977 and its strange ideological menu of Black Nationalism, political-economic development, anti-Semitism, and conservative Republican ideals.
http://books.google.com

Back to the top of the page.

DVDs

The Bingo Long Traveling All-Stars & Motor Kings.
Hal Barwood, Matthew Robins, Rob Cohen et. al.
Universal Studios, 2001. DVD.
Call # DVD PN1997 .B537 2001
A group of independent renegade players travel around the Midwest looking for that big home run while playing baseball in the 1930's Negro League.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Black in Latin America.
Henry Louis Gates. PBS Distribution, 2011. DVD.
Call # DVD F1419.N4 B499 2011
Henry Louis Gates Jr. travels to Haiti, Dominican Republic, Cuba, Brazil, Mexico and Peru to discover the African influence on Latin America.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Brian McKnight.
Brian McKnight and Tall Pony. Image Entertainment, 2001. DVD.
Call # DVD ML420.M34165 M3 2001
Take an intimate journey with Brian McKnight as he discovers the culture, history and spirituality of São Luís, Brazil.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

The Color Purple.
Steven Spielberg.
Warner Home Video, 2007. DVD
Call # DVD PN1997 .C688 2007
he heart-wrenching story of a young black girl in the early 20th century who is forced into a brutal marriage and separated from her sister.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Ella Fitzgerald: Something to Live For.
Ella Fitzgerald, Tony Bennett, Keter Betts, and Charlotte Zwerin.
Source
Call # DVD ML420.F52 E46 1999
This definitive look at the "The First Lady of Song" chronicles Ella's entire career, from her amateur night appearance at the Apollo Theater in New York to her unparalleled success on the stage and screen.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

An Evening with Nat King Cole.
Nat King Cole and Joe Zito.
Image Entertainment, 2002. DVD.
Call # DVD ML420.C63 E84 2002
An Evening with Nat King Cole is one of the few Nat "King" Cole concerts ever recorded and arguably the best. All but forgotten in a vault for more than thirty years since its original broadcast in 1961 by the British Broadcasting Company, this captivating show is now available on video for the first time, and in color.
http://www.amazon.com

Get on the Bus.
Spike Lee, Reuben Cannon, Barry Rosenbush, et. al.
Columbia TriStar Home Video, 2000. DVD.
Call # DVD PN1997 .G43 2000
Follows a group of different men traveling from Los Angeles to the Million Man March in Washington, D.C. They board the bus as strangers but emerge three days and thousands of miles later as brothers.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Get on Up.
Dr. Prod. Tate Taylor, Film Prod. Jez Butteworth. Screenwriter John Henry Butterworth, Brian Grazer, and Mick Jagger.
Universal Studios Home Entertainment, 2015. DVD.
Call # DVD PN1997.2 .G436 2015
Based on the incredible life story of the Godfather of Soul, this film gives a fearless look inside the music, moves and moods of Brown, taking audiences on the journey from his impoverished childhood to his evolution into one of the most influential figures of the 20th century.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Hip Hop Lgends.
Michael Berman et. al.
Warner Home Video, 2007. DVD.
Call # DVD ML3531 .H57 2007
true to life documentary uncovering the real history of hip hop, with exclusive interviews with the original gangsters and pioneers of hip hop from the South Bronx, N.Y. Take an in-depth look into the roots of a culture that has forever changed music and created a new social structure for a whole new generation.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

The Mahalia Jackson Collection.
Mahalia Jackson.
Passport Video, 2005. DVD.
Call # DVD ML420.J17 M35 2005
Songs from the TV show, Mahalia Jackson Sings.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Malcolm X.
Spike Lee. Marvin Worth, Denzel Washington, Angela Bassett, Alex Haley.
Warner Home Video, 2005. DVD.
Call # DVD PN1997 .M35 2005
Screen version of the life of Malcolm X, who through his religious conversion to Islam, found the strength to rise up from a criminal past to become an influential civil rights leader.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Bingo Long Traveling All-Stars  Get on Up!

Michael Jackson: Number Ones.
Michael Jackson, Ann Kim. Dir. Jim Gable.
Epic Music Video, 2004. DVD.
Call # DVD ML420.J175 M525 2004
Highlights of Michael Jackson's career in music. It includes clips from videos, personal appearances on TV, interviews with various current musical stars, Dick Clark, Quincy Jones, and more.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Ray Charles in Concert.
Ray Charles and Diane Schurr.
Image Entertaiment, 2001. DVD.
Call # DVD ML420.C46 R38 2001
At the age of 71, Ray Charles hasn't lost a step musically. If anything, his performance has been honed even further to what can only be described as the distillation of musical soul. Taped at a benefit concert in Miami, Florida, this set documents Charles with a massive orchestra that he manipulates like a trio, with a solid sense of dynamics and fun.
http://www.amazon.com

"Sam Cooke, Legend: The Life, the Legend, the Legacy." Legends.
Peter Guralnick and Jeffrey Wright.
ABKCO Films, 2003. DVD.
Call # DVD ML420.C665 S25 2003
Documentary on singer Sam Cooke's life and music. Expanded version of the VH-1 Legends special. Includes interviews with Sam Cooke's family and other singers.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Satchmo Louis Armstrong.
Louis Armstrong. Gery Giddins, Toby Byron, Hattie Winston. Melvin Van Peebles.
Columbia Music Video: Legady, 2000. DVD.
Call # DVD ML419.A75 S37 2000
With over a dozen of his classic performances ranging from 1932 to the late sixties, Satchmo includes excerpts from Pennies from Heaven, Betty Boop cartoon, Going places, Jam session, New Orleans with Billie Holiday, High Society with Bing Crosby, and Hello Dolly with Barbra Streisand.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Selma Lord, Selma
Christopher H. Seitz et. al.
Buena Vista Home Entertainment, 2004. DVD.
Call # DVD PN1997 .S4359 2004
et in 1965, during the turbulent early days of the right-to-vote movement. The story of a young schoolgirl in Selma, Alabama, who is inspired by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. to resist the degradation that her fellow African-Americans are suffering.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

The Supremes Reflections: The Definitive Performances 1964 – 1969.
Diana Ross, Joe Lauro, The Supremes.
Universal Music, 2006. DVD.
Call # DVD ML421.S86 S86 2006
Their greatest hits on video for the first time ever; appearances on the Ed Sullivan Show and Hullabaloo; rare footage not seen since first airing, early footage of Baby Love, a cappella, and much more.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

The Temptations.
Allan Arkush, Terron Brooks, Christian Payton, Charles M. Whitfield, D.B. Woodside, Obba Babatunde.
Artisan Entertainment, 1999. DVD.
Call # Call #: DVD PN1997 .T39545 1999
Presents a history of the rhythm and blues group, the Temptations, including their meteoric rise to fame and the rivalries that threatened to tear them apart.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Video Greatest Hits.
Michael Jackson.
Epic Music Video, 2001. DVD.
Call # DVD ML420.J175 V53 2001
A compilation of music videos performed by Michael Jackson.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Zora is my Name!
Iris Merlis et. al.
Monterey Video, 2006. DVD.
Call # DVD PN1997 .Z67 2006
A dramatization of the life of Zora Neale Hurston, who wrote of the folklore of the rural south.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information