Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston: 2015

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

On Display -- January 2015

Important Web Sites

Barker Peter
"US to Restore Full Relations with Cuba: Erasing a Last Trace of Cold War Hostility."
New York Times 18 December, 2014. A1.
New York Times.
http://www.newyorktimes.com

President Obama on Wednesday ordered the restoration of full diplomatic relations with Cuba and the opening of an embassy in Havana for the first time in more than a half-century as he vowed to ''cut loose the shackles of the past'' and sweep aside one of the last vestiges of the Cold War.
Barker, Peter. "US to Restore Full Relations with Cuba: Erasing a Last Trace of Cold War Hostility." New York Times December 18, 2014. A1. LexisNexis. Web. 13 January 2015.

"Cuba." The Guardian
TheGuardian.com
http://www.theguardian.com/
world/cuba

Keep abreast of the latest in United States/Cuban relations including normalization with free, full text articles, from this respected, left-leaning, British newspaper.
Eileen H. Kramer

The Spanish-American War
Cuba: From Columbus to Castro

Cuban Heritage Collection.
University of Miami Libraries.
http://library.miami.edu/chc/

The Cuban Heritage Collection at the University of Miami collects, preserves, and provides access to primary and secondary sources of enduring historical, research, and artifactual value which relate to Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present. The Collection supports the teaching, learning, and research needs of the University of Miami and the broader scholarly community.
http://library.miami.edu/
chc/missionhistory/

Gonzalez, Edward, Kevin F. McCarthy.
Cuba After Castro Legacies, Challenges, and Impediments.
Rand Corporation
http://www.rand.org/pubs/
monographs/MG111.html

Note: This is an ebook in PDF format.

Cuba is nearing the end of the Castro era. When that end arrives, the government that succeeds Fidel Castro, as well as the Cuban people themselves, will need answers to the following questions: How is Castro's more than four-decade rule likely to affect a post-Castro Cuba? What are the political, social, and economic challenges that Cuba will have to confront? What are the impediments that will need to be surmounted if Cuba is to develop economically and embark on a democratic transition?
http://www.rand.org/pubs/
monographs/MG111.html

Waiting for Snow in Havana
Batista

Obama, Barak H.
President Obama Delivers a Statement on Cuba.
YouTube.com
http://www.youtube.com

On December 17, 2014, President Obama delivered remarks on next steps he’s taking to chart a new course on U.S.-Cuba relations.
http://www.youtube.com

A view of the case from the short end.
A view of the left display panel
A view of the display's center panel
A view of tehdisplay's right panel

To see past displays, please visit the JCLRC's Display Archives.

Havana Nocturne
Before Night Falls
Che Guevera Reader
The Cuban Revolution
Reflections of the Cuban Missile Crisis
Ay Cuba! Castro: My Life
Che in Verse

Flag of Cuba used as display logo Cuba is in the news, or rather United States normalization of relations with the island nation ninty miles south of Florida, is in the news. Perhaps it is time to learn more about Cuba. This display focuses on the tiny socialist/communist nation in the Caribbean, its history, its people, and its culture. It features: books, web pages, and nonprint material. There is something for everyone.

 

 

Geography, The Spanish-American War, and Before

Alger, R.A.
The Spanish-American War. New York: Harper & Bros., 1901
Call Number: E715 .A39

It has not been my purpose in the preparation of the manuscript of this book to write a full history of the war with Spain ; on the contrary, it has been to place on record some of the prominent facts connected with the organization, equipment, and movements of the army, together with the administration of the War Department, with the hope that such statement will serve a useful purpose as an example, should another crisis of the same kind occur.
Alger, R.A. "Preface." he Spanish-American War. New York: Harper & Bros. , 1901 p. v.

Hendrickson, Kenneth E.
The Spanish-American War. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
Call Number: E715 .H48 2003

Introduces the Spanish-American War, including the origins of the war, specific campaigns, and the resulting peace process, and discusses its long-term effects.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Millis, Walter.
The Martial Spirit. . New York: Literary Guild of America, 1931.
Call Number: E715 .M76

Replete with larger-than-life characters, the American adventure in Cuba, Hawaii, and the Philippine Islands in 1898 was a watershed in the United States' rise to world power. In this superbly written narrative of what we now call the Spanish-American War, Walter Millis analyzes the causes and motives of the time's leading spirits -- Teddy Roosevelt, Hearst, Pulitzer, Dewey, Lodge, Hay, and others -- and recounts the ironies and grotesqueries of the conflict.
http://books.google.com

National Geographic Society.
"Cuba." National Geographic Visual Atlas of the World. Washington: National Geographic Society, 2009 18-19.
Call Number: Clarkston Oversized Storage G1021 .N425 2009

A large and detailed political map (the kind that shows provinces, cities, towns, roads etc..) of Cuba.
Eileen H. Kramer

Suchlicki, Jaime.
Cuba -- From Columbus to Castro. Washington: Brassey's, 2002.
Call Number: F1776 .S93 2002

In Jaime Suchlicki's engaging style, Cuba: From Columbus to Castro and Beyond provides a detailed and sophisticated understanding of the Cuba of yesterday, today, and tomorrow.
http://books.google.com

Back to the top of the page.

Cuba: 1920-1959

Arenas, Reinaldo.
Before Night Falls. New York: Penguin Books, 2000.
Call Number: PQ7390.A72 Z46313 2000

This shocking memoir by the Cuban writer Reinaldo Arenas is a book about sexual, political and artistic freedom. In Before Night Falls, Arenas recounts his journey from a poverty-stricken childhood in rural Cuba to his death in New York four decades later.
http://books.google.com

Argote-Freyre, Frank.
Fulgencio Batista: From Revolutionary to Strongman. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2006.
Call Number: Academic eBooks on EBSCOHost F1787.5.B27 A74 200

Fulgencio Batista and most of Cuba's past prior to the Revolution of 1959 has been lost in the historical mists. Cuba had a rich and fascinating history before the Marxist Revolution and the reign of Fidel Castro. This captivating and long-overdue book uncovers it.
http://books.google.com

Cabera, Infante G.
Three Trapped Tigers. New York: Marlowe & Co., 1997.
Call Number: PQ7389.C233 T713 1997

Centering on the recollections of a man separated from both his country and his youth, Cabrera Infante creates an enchanting vision of life and the many colorful characters found in steamy Havana's pre-Castro cabaret society.
http://www.books.google.com

English, T.J.
Havana Nocturne: How the Mob Owned Cuba -- And Then Lost it to the Revolution. New York: William Morrow, 2006.
Call Number: Dunwoody HV6453.C9 E54 2008

Draws on previously hidden historical sources and survivor interviews to profile mob-infiltrated Havana in the 1950s, in an account that traces the relationships between President Batista and such mafia leaders as Meyer Lansky and Lucky Luciano.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Errando, Santi et. al.
Chico & Rita. NewYork: New Video, 2012.
Call Number: Clarkston Popular DVD PN1997.2 .C4535 2012

Cuba, 1948. Chico is a young piano player with big dreams. Rita is a beautiful singer with an extraordinary voice. Music and desire unite them as they chase their dreams and each other from Havana to New York to Paris, Hollywood and Las Vegas.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Schanbel, Julian et. al.
Before Night Falls. United States: New Line Home Entertainment, 2000.
Call Number: Clarkston Popular DVD 1997 .B394 2001

A look at the life of Reinaldo Arenas, from childhood in Cuba to his death in New York City. His writings and homosexuality get him in trouble with Castro's Cuba and he spends two years in prison before leaving for the United States.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

The Cuban Revolution

Aso, Shinzo et. al.
Ernesto Che Guevara Hasta la Victoria Siempre. West Long Branch, NJ: Kultur, 2008.
Call Number: Clarkston Popular DVD F2849.22.G85 E74 2008

This documentary, featuring extensive historic footage, tells the story of one of the 20th Century's most controversial, yet charismatic icons, Ernesto Guevara de la Serna, better known as Che Guevara.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Bonachea, Ramon L. and Marta San Martin.
The Cuban Insurrection, 1952-1959. New Brunswick, NJ: Transaction Books, 1974.
Call Number: F1787.5 .B66 1974

The Cuban Insurrection Is an In-depth study of the first stage of the Cuban Revolution, the years from 1952 to 1959. The volume depicts the origins of the conflict, details the middle years, and ends with Fidel Castro's victorious arrival In Havana on January 8, 1959.
http://books.google.com

Chomsky, Aviva.
A History of the Cuban Revolution. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Call Number: F1788 .C465 2011

A History of the Cuban Revolution presents a concise socio-historical account of the Cuban Revolution of 1959, an event that continues to spark debate 50 years later.
http://books.google.com

Guevara, Che, Gavin O'Toole, and Georgina Jimenez.
Che in Verse. Wilshire, UK: Aflame Books, 2007.
Call Number: PN6110.G84 C44 2007

Presents a collection of more than one hundred poems from authors in fifty-three countries about or referring to the Argentine-Cuban revolutionary Ernesto "Che" Guevara, along with poet and translator biographies.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Guevara, Che, David Deutschmann and Centro de Estudios Che Guevara.
Che Guevara Reader. New York: Ocean Press, 2003.
Call Number: F1787.5 .G75 2003

This reader is the bestselling, most comprehensive selection of Che Guevara's writings, letters and speeches available in English. This volume covers Che's writings on the Cuban revolutionary war, the first years of the revolution in Cuba and his vision for Latin America and the Third World.
http://books.google.com

Harris, Richard L.
Che Guevara: A Biography. Santa Barbara: Greenwood, 2011.
Call Number: Academic Books on EBSCOHost F2849.22.G85 H29 2011

According to Time magazine, Che Guevara was one of the 100 most influential people of the 20th century. Che's legend has continued to grow since his death in 1967, and the revolutionary, anti-Imperialist ideals he lived and died for now appeal to a new generation of 21st-century men and women.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

March de la Torre, Aleida. .
Remembering Che. United States: Consortium Book Sales, 2012.
Call Number: F1788.22.M34 A3 2012

Forty-five years after Che's assassination in Bolivia in 1967, his widow and the great love of his life has finally released her memoir of their years together. They met as fellow guerillas during the revolutionary war in Cuba and married in June 1959, a few months after the revolution. They had four children together. Here, with great passion and poignancy, Aleida describes their shared dreams for the future and their family.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Niess, Frank.
Che Guevara. London: Haus, 2007.
Call Number: F2849.22.G85 N4713 2007

Che Guevara (1928-1967) embodied the social utopia and dreams of a whole generation. His burning and relentless ambition combined with his fearlessness have all contributed to his status as a modern day political idol. This monograph describes the myth and the reality of an extraordinary and eventful life.
http://books.google.com

Back to the top of the page.

The Cuban Missile Crisis

Brugioni, Dino A. and Robert F. McCort.
Eyeball to Eyball: The Inside Story of the Cuban Missile Crisis. New York: Random House, 1991.
Call Number: E841 .B76 1991

Offers a day-to-day account of the crisis, drawing on interviews and inside knowledge to discuss how the Russian missiles were actually discovered, what the United States told foreign leaders, and more.
http://www.worldcat.org

Garthoff, Raymond L.
Reflections on the Cuban Missile Crisis. Washington: Brookings Institution, 1987.
Call Number: E841 .G37 1987

In this book, Raymond L. Garthoff, a participant in the Cuban Missile Crisis deliberations of the U.S. government, reflects on the nature of the crisis, it's consequences, and it's lessons for the future. He provides a unique combination of memoir, historical analysis, and political interpretations.
http://books.google.com

Immel, Myra.
The Cuban Missile Crisis. Detroit: Greenhaven Press, 2011.
Call Number: E841 .C844 2011

Presents critical essays and personal narratives on the Cuban Missile Crisis, examining its historical background, the controversies surrounding the event, and its legacy on American foreign policy.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Cuba Under Castro

De La Torre, Miguel A.
La Lucha for Cuba: Religion and Politics on the Streest of Miami. Berekely: University of California Press, 2003.
Call Number: Academic eBooks on EBSCOHost F319.M6 D4 2003

For many in Miami s Cuban exile community, hating Fidel Castro is as natural as loving one s children. This hatred, Miguel De La Torre suggests, has in fact taken on religious significance. In "La Lucha for Cuba, " De La Torre shows how Exilic Cubans, a once marginalized group, have risen to power and privilege distinguishing themselves from other Hispanic communities in the United States and how religion has figured in their ascension.
http://books.google.com

Eire, Carlos M.N. .
Waiting for Show in Havana: Confessions of a Cuban Boy. New York: Free Press, 2003.
Call Number: Dunwoody E184.C97 E37 2003

A survivor of the Cuban Revolution recounts his pre-war childhood as the religiously devout son of a judge, and describes the conflict's violent and irrevocable impact on his friends, family, and native home.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Finkel, David et. al.
Fidel: The Untold Story. United States: First Run Features, 2003.
Call Number: Clarkston Popular DVD F1788.22.C3 F63 2003

One of the most influential and controversial figures of our time. Fidel: the untold story offers a unique look at the man through interviews with Castro himself, historians, public figures and close friends, with footage from the Cuban State archives.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Gimbel, Wendy.
Havana Dreams: A Story of Cuba. New York: A.A. Knopf, 1998.
Call Number: F1788.22.R47 G56 1998

Synopsis: A fascinating, powerfully evocative story of four generations of Cuban women, through whose lives the author illuminates a vivid picture--both personal and historical--of Cuba in our century.
http://books.google.com

Halperin, Maurice.
Return to Havana: The Decline of Cuban Society under Castro. Nashville: Vanderbilt University Press, 1994.
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOHost HC152.5 .H35 1994

Written by a former supporter of Fidel Castro, this personal and insightful memoir contrasts firsthand the dream of the Cuban Revolution as it was in the early 1960s with the deprivations, hardships, and loss of hope that haunt Cuban society today.
http://books.google.com

Ramonet, Ignacio et. al.
Fidel Castro: My Life, a Spoken Autobiography. Old Saybrook, CT: Tantor Audio, 2008.
Call Number: Clarkston Nonprint CD F1788.22.C3 A5132 2008

Drawing on more than one hundred hours of interviews with journalist Ignacio Ramonet, a knowledgeable and trusted interlocutor, this spoken autobiography will stand as the definitive record of an extraordinary life lived in turbulent times.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

The "Special Period" and Beyond

Codrescu, Andrei and David Graham
Ay, Cuba! A Socio-Erotic Journey. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1999.
Call Number: F1765.3 .C63 1999

In Ay,Cuba!, Andrei Codrescu and David Graham seek the heart and soul of this island ninety miles off the Florida coast and yet a world away. Carousing with Cuban prostitutes, intellectuals, hustlers, and laborers, Codrescu and Graham combine edgy narratives with stunning color photography to create a daring and compelling travelogue.
http://books.google.com

Henken, Ted.
Cuba: A Global Guides Handbook. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2008.
Call Number: F1788 .H38 2008

Cuba: A Global Studies Handbook offers a revealing look at a nation that, in its ongoing pursuit of freedom, has been a colonial pawn, a neocolonial paradise for corrupt politicians and dictators, an alluring vacation destination, a defiant Communist holdout and embarrassing thorn in the side of the powerful United States.
http://books.google.com

Henken, Ted.
Latin America in Focus: Cuba. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 2013.
Call Number: Academic eBooks at EBSCOHost F1758 .C94865 2013

W ritten by some of the best-known independent scholars, citizen journalists, and cyber-activists and bloggers living in Cuba today, this book presents a critical, complete, and unbiased overview of contemporary Cuba
http://discovere.emory.edu

Macdonald, Mandy.
Culture Smart: Cuba. New York: Random House, 2006.
Call Number: F1760 .M28 2006

What is undeniable is Cuba is endlessly fascinating and full of contradictions: a poor country with one of the best health care systems in the world, a developing country with almost 100 percent literacy, and -- as many commentators point out -- one of the few countries in the world to have seen off three imperial powers: Spain, the United States, and the Soviet Union.
MacDonald, Mandy. "Introduction." Culture Smart: Cuba. New York: Random House, 2006.

Ripley, C. Peter.
Conversations with Cuba. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 1999.
Call Number: F1765.3 .R56 1999

Synopsis: Conversations with Cuba takes place during the height of the "special period," the ambiguous name given to the years of hardship following the end of the Soviet Union's vital aid to the country, isolated by the U.S.-led embargo, and preceding Cuba's as yet unrealized revitalization. Ripley guides us on a first-person journey through this bustling economy now reduced to soap shortages, one meal a day, and desperate attempts to locate an economic salvation in foreign tourism.
http://books.google.com

Taylor, Henry Louis.
Inside el Barrio: A Bottom-up View of Neighborhood Life in Castro's Cuba. Sterling, VA: Kumarian Press, 2009.
Call Number: HN210.H33 T39 2009

Inside El Barrio charts the legacy of Fidel Castro through the unique lens of Cuban household life during El Período Especial (the Special Period). Taylor traverses the neighborhoods and residential developments of Havana between 1989 and 2006, the final and most complex period in the "Age of Castro’s Cuba" to uncover the hidden vibrancy of Cuba’s streets and citizens.
http://books.google.com

Triester, Kenneth.
Habaneros: Photographs of the People of Havana. Miami: Ediciones Universal, 1997.
Call Number: Dunwoody Oversized TR820.5 .T74 1997

A native of Miami, Kenneth Treister had not been in Cuba since 1957 when he thought it one of the most beautiful cities in the world. In January 1997, traveling with journalist Ben Leuchter, he revisited Havana. At first his interest was only architectural. But as he discovered that the mansions burgeoned with life- 15 to 30 families in space built for one, impoverished people sheltering meager possessions in the decay of grandeur- his focus shifted to the people of Havana.
http://www.amazon.com

Venegas, Cristina.
Digital Dilemmas: The State, the Individual, and Digital Media in Cuba. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2010.
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOHost P92.C9 V46 2010

Digital Dilemmas views Cuba from the Soviet Union's demise to the present, to assess how conflicts over media access play out in their both liberating and repressive potential. Drawing on extensive scholarship and interviews, Cristina Venegas questions myths of how Internet use necessarily fosters global democracy and reveals the impact of new technologies on the country's governance and culture.
http://books.google.com

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information