Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston: November 2013

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

November 2013

Featured Web Sites -- Natasha Trethewey, Poetry, and Literature

Department of Creative Writing.
Natasha Trethewey.
Emory University http://www.creativewriting.emory.edu/
faculty/trethewey.html

Features the poet's biography, a list of her works, her honors, and contact information.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Leamon, Pat and others.
Natasha Trethewey -- GPC Reads
Perimeter College at Georgia State University Library. http://research.library.gsu.edu/Trethewey

Provides biographical background, links to books, and a video of US Poet Laureate, Natasha Trethewey who spoke at Georgia Perimeter College (Now Perimeter College at Georgia State University) November 5, 2013.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

"Natasha Trethewey"
Blackbird
Virginia Commonwealth University http://www.blackbird.vcu.edu

Features a brief biography and list of the poet's works with an audio recording of her reading her work.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

"Natasha Trethewey." Blue Flower Arts
http://www.blueflowerarts.com/booking/natasha-trethewey

Natasha Trethewey is the nineteenth United States Poet Laureate (2012-2013). In his citation, Librarian of Congress James Billington wrote, "Her poems dig beneath the surface of history—personal or communal, from childhood or from a century ago—to explore the human struggles that we all face."
Source: http://www.blueflowerarts.com/booking/natasha-trethewey

"Natasha Trethewey." Poetry Foundation
http://www.poetryfoundation.org/
bio/natasha-trethewey

A biography of the poet featuring her childhood, educational background, a description of her works, and a list of honors that she has received.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

"Natasha Trethewey" Poets.org
Academy of American Poets
http://www.poets.org/
poet.php/prmPID/442

Presents the standard biography with lists of works and honors, but also offers links to some of Ms. Trethewey's poems including a few audio recordings.
Source: Eileen H Kramer

Nastasha Trethewey -- Web Resources
United States Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov/rr/
program/bib/trethewey/

Natasha Trethewey is an outstanding poet/historian in the mold of Robert Penn Warren, our first Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry. Her poems dig beneath the surface of history—personal or communal, from childhood or from a century ago—to explore the human struggles that we all face.
Source: http://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/trethewey/

United States Poets Laureate -- A Guide to Resources
United States Library of Congress
http://www.loc.gov/rr/
program/bib/poetslaureate/

The Library's Digital Reference Section is in the process of creating Web guides to online resources for each U.S. Poet Laureate (1986-present) and Consultant in Poetry (1937-1985) to the Library of Congress. Each guide will link to Library of Congress Web pages that include information on the poet laureate's life and work, as well as to external Web sites that feature biographical information, interviews, poems, audio, video, and other materials that highlight the activities of each poet.
Source: http://www.loc.gov/rr/
program/bib/poetslaureate/

Biracial in America
The Great Deluge

Featured Web Sites -- Hurricanes, Superstorms, and Typhoons

American Wetlands Foundation.
Louisiana Old River Control Complex and Mississippi river flood protection .
Loyola University of New Orleans
http://www.americaswetlandresources.com/
background_facts/detailedstory/
LouisianaRiverControl.html

Presents a history of the Mississippi's course and path, and the Old River Control Complex which prevents the river from diverting completely to the Atchafalaya, leaving New Orleans and Baton Rouge high and dry.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Katrina -- News and Media
Curlie.org
http://www.curlie.org

Offers links to major media's archived coverage of Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Hurricanes -- Ready.gov
Federal Emergency Management Agency. http://www.ready.gov/hurricanes

Instructs those living in the paths of hurricanes and tropical storms how to prepare for this type of emergency with the least danger to life and property.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

McPhee, John.
Control of Nature: Fighting the Mississippi River: Atchafalaya
The New Yorker http://www.newyorker.com

By the nineteen-fifties, the Mississippi River had advanced so far past New Orleans and out into the Gulf that it was about to shift again, and its offspring Atchafalaya was ready to receive it. ..For the Mississippi to make such a change was completely natural, but in the interval since the last shift Europeans had settled beside the river, a nation had developed, and the nation could not afford nature.
Source: http://www.newyorker.com

"National Hurricane Center"
National Weather Service.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/

Provides detailed information on upcoming and past hurricanes and tropical cyclones for the Atlantic, Carribbean, and Pacific regions.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Sargent, William.
"Letting Mississippi Run its Natural Course Could save New Orleans from Hurricanes." Christian Science Monitor.
ProQuest Christian Science Monitor

As the Corps begins the partial diversion of the Mississippi down the Atchafalaya, coastal scientists should seize on the opportunity to consider longer-term shifts in the river’s course. It’s possible that this crisis could lead to a less costly and more sustainable way of dealing with the problems of coastal Louisiana.
Source: ProQuest Christian Science Monitor

Typhoon Haiyan
National Public Broadcasting. http://www.npr.org/
templates/archives/
archive.php?
thingId=243912417

Daily coverage of Super Typhoon Haiyan's destruction, aftermath, and recovery in the Philippines and Vietnam.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

"Washing Away." New Orleans Picayune.
http://www.nola.com/
washingaway/

It's only a matter of time before South Louisiana takes a direct hit from a major hurricane. Billions have been spent to protect us, but we grow more vulnerable every day.
Source: http://www.nola.com/
washingaway/

To see other displays stop by the DISPLAY ARCHIVE

GPC Reads
Natasha Trethewey

In October and November of 2013, GPC Reads hosted US Poet Laureate, Natasha Trethewey, read her books Native Guard and Beyond Katrina, and celebrated her works through class assignmetns and special events. This display includes books by Trethewey, websites about her, works on Hurricane Katrian and on race in America, and web pages on hurricanes and related, weather disasters.

GPC Reads -- Natasha Trethewey

Books by Natasha Trethewey

Beyond Katrina Trethewey, Natasha D.
Beyond Katrina: A Meditation o the Mississippi Gulf Coast. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2010.
Call Number: PS3570.R433 B49 2010

A collection of essays, poems, and letters, chronicling the effects of Hurricane Katrina on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Belloq's Ophelia Trethewey, Natasha D.
Bellocq's Ophelia. Saint Paul, MN: Graywolf Press, 2002.
Call Number: PS3570.R433 B45 2002

A collection of poems offers glimpses into the life and thoughts of an African American prostitute in pre-World War I New Orleans.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Domestic Work Trethewey: Natasha D.
Domestic Work: Poems. Saint Paul, MN: Graywolf Press, 2000.
Call Number: PS3570.R4344 D6 2000

With poems based on photographs of African-Americans at work in the pre-civil rights era 20th-century America, Trethewey's fine first collection functions as near-social documentary.
Source: http://www.graywolfpress.org

Native Guard Trethewey, Natasha D.
Native Guard. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2006.
Call Number: PS3570.R433 N38 2006

Years after her mother’s tragic death, Trethewey reclaims her memory, just as she reclaims the voices of the black soldiers whose service has been all but forgotten.
Source: http://books.google.com

Thrall Trethewey: Natasha D.
Thrall: Poems. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012.
Call Number: PS3570.R433 T47 2012

By unflinchingly charting the intersections of public and personal history, Thrall explores the historical, cultural, and social forces-across time and space-that determine the roles consigned to a mixed-race daughter and her white father.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu




Back to the top of the page.

Books on the Social Aspects of Hurricane Katrina

Brinkley, Douglas.
The Great Deluge: Hurricane Katrina, New Orleans, and the Mississippi Gulf Coast. NewYork: Morrow, 2006.
Call Number: NewYork: Morrow, 2006.

In the span of five violent hours on August 29, 2005, Hurricane Katrina destroyed major Gulf Coast cities and flattened 150 miles of coastline. But it was only the first stage of a shocking triple tragedy. On the heels of one of the three strongest hurricanes ever to make landfall in the United States came the storm-surge flooding, which submerged a half-million homes—followed by the human tragedy of government mismanagement, which proved as cruel as the natural disaster itself.
Source: http://books.google.com

Jordan, Chirs, Bill McKibben, and Susan Zakin
. In Katrina's Wake: Portraits of Lost from an Unnatural Disaster. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2006.
Call Number: QC945 .J63 2006

Presents a collection of photographs and essays that capture the devastation caused by Hurricane Katrina.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Pfister, Sally, Melody Golding, and National Museum of Women in the Arts: Mississippi State Committee.
Katrina: Mississippi Women Remember. Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 2007.
Call Number: Dunwoody F347.G9 K38 2007

Mississippi Women Remember (University Press of Mississippi) provides uncommonly personal insights into the life on the Mississippi Gulf Coast following Hurricane Katrina.
Source: http://www.upress.state.ms.us

Smith, Patricia.
Blood Dazzler: Poems. Minneapolis, NN: Coffee House Press, 2008.
Call Number: PS3569.M537839 B56 2008

In minute-by-minute detail, Patricia Smith tracks Hurricane Katrina’s transformation into a full-blown mistress of destruction. From August 23, 2005, the day Tropical Depression 12 developed, through August 28 when it became a Category 5 storm with its “scarlet glare fixed on the trembling crescent,” to the heartbreaking aftermath, these poems evoke the horror that unfolded in New Orleans as America watched on television.
Source: http://coffeehousepress.org

Spera, Keith.
Grooove Interrupted: Loss Renewal and the Music of New Orleans. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2011.
Call Number: ML385 .S635 2011

Presents Hurricane Katrina stories from musicians, including Fats Domino's efforts to promote a tribute CD, Alex Chilton's decision to live out his life in a New Orleans cottage, and rapper Mystikal's release from prison where he rode out the storm.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Troutt, David Dante. Ed.
After the Storm: Black Intellectuals Explore the Meaning of Hurricane Katrina. New York: Norton, 2006.
Call Number: E185.615 .A594 2006

After the Storm offers “angry, learned, focused, readable, [and] essential” writing, according to Library Journal, in which contributors face what Ebony magazine calls “questions about poverty, housing, governmental decision-making, crime, community development and political participation, which were raised in the aftermath of the storm.”
Source: http://thenewpress.com

Katrina: Mississippi Women Remember
Blood Dazzler  In Katrina's Wake

Back to the top of the page.

Books about Race in America

Alexander, Michelle.
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness. New York: New Press, 2010.
Call Number: HV9950 .A437 2010

By targeting black men through the War on Drugs and decimating communities of color, the U.S. criminal justice system functions as a contemporary system of racial control—relegating millions to a permanent second-class status—even as it formally adheres to the principle of colorblindness.
Source: http://thenewpress.com

Karr, Mary.
The Liars' Club: A Memoir. New York: Penguin Books, 2005.
Call Number: PS3561.A6929 Z468 2005

A handful of the Leechfield oil workers gather regularly at the American Legion Bar to drink salted beer and spin long, improbable tales. They're the Liars' Club. And to the girl whose father is the club's undisputed champion mythmaker, they exude a fatal glamour - one that lifts her from ordinary life. But there are other lies. Darker, more hidden.
Source: http://books.google.com

Khanna, Nikki.
Biracial in America: Forming and Performing Racial Identity Lanham, MD: Lexington Books, 2011.
Call Number: Decatur E184.A1 K434 2011

Taking a social psychological approach, Biracial in America identifies influencing factors and several underlying processes shaping multidimensional racial identities.
Source: URL http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information