Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston: Display -- February 2012

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

Display -- February 2012

eatured Web Sites

About.com Health
https://www.verywellhealth.com/
DotDash.com

A gateway to articles on a vast, variety of health topics. Wellness topics include family fitness, weight loss, yoga and a whole lot more. A Medical Review Board of physicians and other experts supervises all of About.com's health-related articles.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Consumer Reports Food
http://www.consumerreports.org
Consumers' Union

Articles on nutrition, food safety, weight loss, and reviews of food related appliances are all available at this site. Because Consumer Reports is a copyrighted magazine, not all the articles are completely full text and some lack a lot of detail.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity
https://www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/
dnpao/index.html

Centers for Disease Control

Articles and statistics on everything from breast feeding, to obesity, to safe and effective exercise. There are maps of the prevalence of obesity in the United States, a body mass index calculator, and more special features hidden throughout this large site.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Healthy Lifestyle -- Mayo Clinic
https://www.mayoclinic.org/
healthy-lifestyle HealthyLivingIndex

Mayo Clinic

Features articles by Mayo Clinic staff on weight loss, nutrition, exercise, stress reduction, and more. There are also recipes as well.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer


The Health Kitchen
Lessons from the Fat-o-sphere
What to Eat

Let's Move
http://www.letsmove.gov/
United States Department of Agriculture

Articles and fact sheets to help families become more fit and to help families, schools, and communities, improve children's health habits and reduce their weight.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

The President's Council on Physical Fitness, Sport, and Nutrition
http://www.fitness.gov/

This is the organization that devised and supervised those humiliating tests in physical education. They are still in business attempting to improve the fitness of America's youth with a more equitable system of incentives, and rewards for adopting a healthy lifestyle.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Wellness and Lifestyle -- MedlinePlus
https://medlineplus.gov/
wellnessandlifestyle.html
National Library of Medicine

Articles hide under broad headings. Each article includes links to more specialized articles, and topics covered include: nutrition, weight loss, medically prescribed diets, exercise, fitness, and more.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer


Left display panel
Center display panel
Right display panel
Left display panel
Black display case
Closeup of silver display case
Diagonal closeup of silver display case
End view of silver display case

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

To see other displays stop by the DISPLAY ARCHIVE

Healthy Mind, Body, and Eating

This display gives you the power of knowledge to help keep your New Year's Resolution with books, web sites, and videos about food, fitness, weight loss, and general wellness.

Books about Weight Loss and Nutrition

Dahlstrom, Carol Field, Elzabeth Burnley Dahlstrom, and Marcia Shultz Dahlstrom. Gluten-free
Made Simple: Easy Everyday Meals that Everyone can Enjoy.
New York: St. Martin's Griffin, 2011.
Call Number: RM237.86 .D34 2011

Most families with a member with Celiac disease struggle to get food on the table that everyone can enjoy. This easy-to-use cookbook focuses on creating simple and tasty recipes with a minimum of stress.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Goodman, Myra et. al.
The Earthbound Cook: 250 Recipes for Delicious Food and a Healthy Planet. New York: Workman Pub., 2010.
Call Number: TX741 .G663 2010

Offers 250 nutritious recipes that are based on clean eating and the health of the planet, with recommendations for ingredients, cooking techniques, and equipment, and advice on how to be environmentally conscious in the kitchen.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Harding, Kate and Marianne Kirby.
Lessons from the Fat-o-Sphere: Quit Dieting and Declare a Truce with your Body. New York: Perigee Book, 2009.
Call Number: RA776.95 .H37 2009

The bad news: there probably isn’t a thin person inside you waiting to get out. But there just might be a happy, confident, awesome fat person in there – and this book will help you find her.
Source: http://www.fatosphere.com

Karas, Jim,
The Cardio-free Diet. New York: Simon Spotlight Entertainment, 2007.
Call Number: RM222.2 .K3372 2007

Cardiovascular workouts burn far fewer calories than you think. And the more cardio you do, the hungrier you feel. The Cardio-Free Diet is a four-phase program that emphasizes strength training to boost your metabolism; build lean, sexy muscles; and achieve all the same heart-healthy benefits of cardio. With just twenty minutes a day, three days a week, you can look and feel noticeably leaner, stronger, and younger. Provides recipes, detailed shopping lists, a variety of daily menus, and helpful tips on how to maintain your diet when eating out or ordering in.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Neporent, Liz and Suzanne Schlosberg.
The Fat-Free Truth: 239 Real Answers to Fitness and Weight-Loss Questions You Wonder About Most. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2005.
Call Number: RM222.2 .N46 2005

In The Fat-Free Truth, Liz Neporent and Suzanne Schlosberg cut through the noise, synthesize the literature, and get to the truth by providing 239 accurate, straight-shooting answers to America’s most pressing fitness and weight-loss questions.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Nestle, Marion.
What to Eat. New York: North Point Press, 2006.
Call Number: RA784 .N46 2006

Demystifies the process of making informed and responsible food choices, covering each section of a supermarket while addressing such topics as food labels, industry politics, and environmental concerns.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Romanoff, Jim.
. The Eating Well Healthy in a Hurry Cookbook: 150 Delicious Recipes for Simple, Everyday Suppers in 45 Minutes or Less. Woodstock, VT: Countryman Press, 2006.
Call Number: RA784 .E1655 2006

Healthy in a Hurry offers the ultimate answer to the perennial weeknight question of "What's for dinner?" With hundreds of quick and flavorful main-course recipes, it promises to become an everyday cooking tool for those who want to get a healthy, delicious meal on the table both swiftly and simply.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Warshaw, Hope S.
Eat Out, Eat Right: The Guide to Healthier Restaurant Eating. Chicago: Surrey Books, 2008.
Call Number: RA784 .W364 2008

Guide to healthy restaurant dining. Third edition provides updated guidelines for making healthier menu choices from a wide variety of foods and cuisines. Includes sample menus, nutritional charts, and diabetic exchanges.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Weil, Andrew and Rosie Daley.
The Healthy Kitchen: Recipes for a Better Body, Life, and Spirit. New York: Alfred A. Knpf, 2002.
Call Number: TX741 .W36 2002

Presents 135 recipes for a range of healthful dishes, in a cookbook that features information on the art of healthy eating.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Wood, Rebecca Theurer.
The New Whole Foods Encyclopedia: A Comprehensive Resource for Healthy Eating. New York: Penguin/Arkana, 1999.
Call Number: TX369 .W67 1999

The one-of-a-kind encyclopedia of natural, whole foods that shows you how to eat right and feel better.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Zied, Elisa and Ruth Winter.
Feed Your Family Right: How to Make Smart Food and Fitness Choices for a Healthy Lifestyle. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2007.
Call Number: RA784 .Z49 2007

Just imagine a motivating, inspiring, non-judgmental, easy-to-follow, action-oriented nutrition and lifestyle guide to help you and your entire family identify and modify your food and fitness habits to help you achieve and maintain a healthier weight, manage or prevent diet-related conditions, or create a more balanced overall lifestyle.
Source: http://elisazied.com

Gluten-Free made Simple

Back to the top of the page.

Books About Health and Fitness

Andes, Karen.
The Complete Book of Fitness: Mind, Body, Spirit. New York: Three Rivers Press, 1999.
Call Number: RA781 .C567 1999

From the expert editors of Fitness magazine, here is everything you need to know about exercise, nutrition, and well-being in one comprehensive volume, The Complete Book of Fitness.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Barough, Nina.
Walking for Fitness: The Low-impact Workout that Tones and Shapes. New York: DK Publishing, 2003.
Call Number: RA781.65 .B37 2003

Keep fit, tone-up and lose weight - walking is the perfect way to achieve optimum health, hassle free. Power-walking expert Nina Barough reveals there is a world of difference between a casual stroll and an energising, body-sculpting power walk.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Bushma, Barbara Ann and the American College of Sports Medicine.
Complete Guide to Fitness & Health. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2011.
Call Number: RA781 .C575 2011

You know the importance of good health, but how do you achieve it? And how do you maintain it through the years as your body and lifestyle change, introducing obstacles to physical activity and optimal nutrition? In ACSM's Complete Guide to Fitness & Health, you will find the answers and much, much more.
Source: http://books.google.com

Katz, Jane and Nancy Bruning.
Swimming for Total Fitness: A Progressive Aerobic Program. New York: Doubleday, 1992.
Call Number: GV837 .K355 1993

Presents a graduated program to learning the basics of swimming, beginning with lessons for novice, intermediate, and advanced swimmers and progressing to demanding super workouts for the competitive swimmer.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Kennedy, Rose.
Family Fitness Fun Book: Healthy Living for the Whole Family. New York: Hatherleigh Press, 2005.
Call Number: GV182.8 .K45 2005

Your childhood memories are full of adventure and activities with friends, family, and neighbors, But in this technology-driven world, your children spend more time inside than out. If you’re trying to think of ways to make the outdoors fun again and introduce your children to the classic games you remember, The Family Fitness Fun Book is for you!
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Loguidice, Christina T. and Bill Loguidice.
Wii Fitness for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2010.
Call Number: GV1469.32 .L64 2010

Describes fitness game titles, such as Wii Fit Plus; includes details on getting started, doing the exercises, and understanding the results; and provides the ten best accessories and fitness titles available.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Masri, Lilah, Al and Simon Bartlett.
100 Questions & Answers about Sports, Nutrition, and Exercise. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett, 2011.
Call Number: TX361.A8 M374 2011

100 Questions And Answers About Sports Nutrition & Exercise Provides Easily Accessible Answers To Questions That Athletes, Athletic Trainers And Coaches May Have About Sports Nutrition.
Source: http://www.worldcat.org

Mayo Clinic and Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research.
Mayo Clinic Plan: 10 Essential Steps to a Better Body & Healthier Life. New York: Time Inc., 2006.
Call Number: RA776 .M45 2006

Imagine if you could follow a simple, straightforward ten-step plan to a healthier life from the worlds leading medical experts? The Mayo Clinic Plan is culled from MAYO CLINICs current research and world-renowned medical experts, and includes the keys to healthy eating and a healthy lifestyle that are easy to follow.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Mitchell, Tedd, Tim Church, and Martin Zucker.The Cooper Clinic Medical Director's Guide to All the Healing Benefits of Exercise (Even a Little!). Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2008.
Call Number: RA781 .M587 2008

The science is clear: staying healthy means moving our bodies more, choosing more of the right foods in the proper portions, and avoiding unsafe behaviors like smoking. In Move Yourself, you'll find the kind of sound advice and strong motivation you'd expect from an expert personal coach.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Pinchas, Yigal.
The Complete Holistic Guide to Working out in the Gym. Calgary, Canada: University of Calgary Press, 2006.
Call Number: GV481 .P523 2006

The Complete Holistic Guide to Working Out in the Gym is a practical guide to getting the most out of your gym workout. More than just an instructional manual, it includes valuable information about nutrition, attitude, and building a personal training program all based on the authors years of research and experience as a trainer and educator.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Seward, Brian Luke.
Essentials of Managing Stress. Boston: Jones and Bartlett, 2006.
Call Number: RA785 .S43295 2006

With over 80 exercises that teach students effective coping skills and relaxation techniques, Essentials of Managing Stress emphasizes that one must look at the mind, body, and spirit as equal parts of the whole person to deal with stress effectively.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Scholsberg, Suzanne and Liz Neporent.
Fitness for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2011.
Call Number: RA781 .S274 2011

Presents comprehensive information on physical fitness, providing advice on strength training, cardio programs, stretching exercises, yoga, nutrition, working with a personal trainer, and designing a home gym.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Sharkey, Brian J.
Fitness Illustrated. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2011.
Call Number: GV481 .S445 2011

Fitness Illustrated allows you to see exercise and activity from a whole new perspective. In this one-of-a-kind guide, author Brian Sharkey takes you inside each type of activity to show you what works, what doesn’t, and why! You’ll go beyond the basics to see how your body changes with increased activity. From how muscles gain size and strength to the effect of aerobic activity on heart and lung function, this is fitness as you have never seen it before.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Silver, Julie K. and Christopher Morin.
Understanding Fitness: How Exercise Fuels Health and Fights Disease.
Westport, CT: Praeger, 2008.
Call Number: : RA781 .U53 2008

Here, two nationally known exercise experts lead a stellar team explaining, in reader-friendly terms, what exercise does to our bodies and how it spurs beneficial biological actions.
Source: http://www.powells.com

Ungaro, Alycea.
15 Minute Everyday Pilates.
New York: DK Publishing, 2008.
Call Number: RA781 .U542 2008

Combines step-by-step instructions, color photographs, and a DVD to present a series of workouts that target specific parts of the body and tips on how to strengthen, stretch, tone, and build one's way to total body fitness.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

University of California, Los Angeles. School of Public Health.
50 Simple Things You Can Do to Save Your Life.
Berkeley, CA: Earth Works Press, 1992.
Call Number: RA781 .F54 1992

From the publishers of 50 Simple Things You Can Do to Save the Earth, a "one-stop" healthcare guide offering sound advice on everything from cancer to cataracts, fitness to fire safety. Compiled in the clear, direct, entertaining and nonjudgmental style EarthWorks is famous for.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Wharton, Jim, Phil Wharton, and Bev Browning
The Whartons' Cardio-fitness Book: The Step-by-step Program for High Energy and Endurance.
New York: Three Rivers Press, 2000.
Call Number: RC684.E9 W48 2000
br> Introduces the Active-isolated fitness technique, an training program that, along with a proper diet, can help prevent heart disease, diabetes, and strokes and promote weight loss, increased energy and endurance, and cardiovascular fitness.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Yancey, Antronette, K.
Instant Recess: Building a Fit Nation 10 Minutes at a Time.
Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2010.
Call Number: RA427.8 .Y35 2010
br> In a warm, reader-friendly narrative that draws on solid scientific research, personal experience, and her own poetry, Yancey calls for a radically different approach: one that respects diversity and is grounded in the cultures of those most at risk. Instant Recess proposes regular ten-minute exercise breaks that utilize music and dance and are easily incorporated into school, work, and community life.
Source: http://www.ucpress.edu

Swimming for Total Fitness  15 Minute Everyday Pilates

Back to the top of the page.

Exercise and Fitness DVDs

Blast Away the Pounds: Indoor Walk. Austin, Denise and Lions Gate Home Entertainment. Lions Gate Home Entertainment, 2005. DVD.
Call Number: DVD RA781.65 .B537 2005

You will receive the health and weight-loss benefits of walking up to three mile outside - from your own living room. Consists of three walking-based workouts with increased intensity, focused on engaging both the lower and upper body.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Cardio Dance. Abdul, Paula et. al. Anchor Bay Entertainment Inc., 2000. DVD.
Call Number: DVD RA781.15 .C355 2000

Paula Abdul leads intermediate-level, dance-class style routines and lower body toning exercise to tone and define thighs, buttocks and calves.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Latin Dancing for Beginners. Mason, Teresa, et. al. Kultur International Films, 2003. DVD.
Call Number: DVD GV1626 .L38 2003

Features five basic steps for meringue, paso doble, tango, bolero and mambo and gives style tips on leading and following for each dance.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Shed the Pounds! Smith, Kathy and Goldhil Home Media International. Goldhil Home Media, 2006. DVD.
Call Number: DVD RA781.6 .S544 2006

Synopsis: Kathy shares her secrets to weight loss, toning, sculpting, building endurance, and stamina for ultimate total body results!
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Timesaver Cardio Fat Burner. Smith, Kathy, Natural Journeys, and Goldhil Entertainment. Natural Journeys, 2006. DVD.
Call Number: DVD RA781.6 .T56 2006

Two 20-minute beginner-intermediate workouts with a bonus 7-minute stress reduction stretch workout.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

You can do [Yoga]! Sansone, Leslie and GoodTime Entertainment. GoodTimes Enetertainment, 2004. DVD.
Call Number: DVD RA781 .Y68 2004

You Can Do! is a new series from the makers of Walk Away the Pounds. Leslie Sansone applies her old fitness-made-simple approaches to this new series including the newest fitness trends. The three pack includes abs, yoga, and pilates.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Your Best Butt Fast! Zaki, Violet, Conde Nast Publications Inc., and KOCH Vision. KOCH Vision, 2005. DVD.
Call Number: DVD GV508 .Y68 2005

This expertly designed routine targets glutes and thighs with a series of standing, floor, and resistance exercises to create, in as little as four weeks, a tighter, stronger butt. Equipment needed: 1 set of 2- to 5-pound hand weights and a floor mat.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Holistic Approach to Working out in the Gym  Complete Fitness

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information