Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston: Display -- September 2012

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

August 2012

Featured Web Sites

College Fun on a Budget
About.com
http://college.about.com/od/
Fun-In-College-On-A-Budget/
Have-Fun-In-College-
On-A-Budget.htm

The first year of college brings a ton of wonderful opportunities with it. But it also can be pretty expensive. We've got tips to help you have a good time the first year ... without breaking the bank.
Source: http://www.about.com

College Survival Guide
CollegeTips.com
http://www.collegetips.com/

College Tips is an online college survival guide for college students that contains advice, resources and tips for surviving college written by previous and current college students. New and future college students can follow other students' college advice to develop good study habits and time management skills, get good grades, have a great time in college, and prepare for the "real world" (a future job).
Source: http://www.collegetips.com/

Have a Successful First Year of College
About.com
http://college.about.com/od/
First-Year-Of-College/
Have-A-Successful-
First-Year-Of-College.htm

Figure out everything you'll need to know your first year, from which meal plan to pick, to how to overcome homesickness, to staying healthy.
Source: http://www.about.com

Kirst, Michael.
The College Puzzle
Stanford University
http://collegepuzzle.stanford.edu/

Links to informative articles about higher education that often contain helpful tips and advice for students.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Kohrs, Dean.
Hacking College
Dean Kohrs
http://www.hackingcollege.com/

A blog with news, video, and audio about higher education. The author collects pieces of interest to students, parents, and the general public.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Life as a College Student.
Thoughtco.com
https://www.thoughtco.com/
college-life-4132553tm

Ease the transition from high school to college with helpful tips and guides. With advice on everything from roommates to time management to finances, these articles will give you one less thing to stress about.
Source: http://www.thoughtco.com

College 101
Professor's Guide to Getting Good Grades
Freshman Survival Guide
New Beginnings: A Reference Guide for the Adult Learner
Dean's List: 11 Habits of Highly Effective College Students
College Rules
Community College Companion

Staying Healthy in College.
Thoughtco.com
https://www.thoughtco.com/
staying-healthy-in-college-4132550

Brief, readable articles about staying healthy while you learn. The authors are guides with credentials a click away.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Lucier, Kelci Lynn.
Your First Year.
About.com
http://collegelife.about.com/od/
beforeyouarrive/u/
YourFirstYear.htm

Starting college? Not sure where to begin? Get answers on everything from knowing what to pack and contacting your roommate to learning how to manage your time and balance your finances.
Source: http://www.about.com

McColm, Gregory.
Taking College Courses.
University of South Florida
http://shell.cas.usf.edu/
~mccolm/Aclasses.html

Taking a college course requires study skills ... and some other skills as well. This website contains pages on how to succeed in and benefit from college courses, from homework and exams to how to evaluate grades and what you should get from courses.
Source: http://shell.cas.usf.edu/
~mccolm/Aclasses.html

Reference -- Education -- How to Study
Curlie.org
http://www.curlie.org/
Reference/
Education/
How_to_Study/

A listing of sites that offer help in tackling a wide variety of academic subjects and projects.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Study Tips for College Students.
About.com
http://college.about.com/od/
studytips/
Study_Tips_for_College_
Students.htm

Your first college class may seem intimidating. Ease your stress by arriving prepared for any test, lecture, or presentation. Our study tips will help you start your year off on the right academic foot.
Source: http://www.about.com

University of Minnesota Duluth Achievement Center.
Study Strategies.
University of Minnesota Duluth http://www.d.umn.edu/kmc/
student/loon/
acad/strat/

Knowing how to study is like knowing how to fish. It's a set of learning skills that lasts a lifetime and brings many rewards. Just as there are ways to know that you are a competent fisherman, there are also ways to develop study skills competency.
Source: http://www.d.umn.edu/kmc/
student/loon/
acad/strat/

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

left panel of the display
center panel of the display
left panel of the display
front view of the display case
long view of the display case
closeup of the display case

To see other displays stop by the DISPLAY ARCHIVE

Acing College: Read to Succeed

Give your college life a lift with books that give you background about higher education, and more practical books and web sites that help improve your academic and study skills. A little reading can sometimes go a long way.

A Social and Psychological Look at College

Arndt, Terry and Kirrin Coleman.
Life During College: Your Guide to Success. Alexandria, VA: Life After Graduation, 2011.
Call Number: Newton LA229 .R57 2011

A comprehensive reference guide and/or textbook to help ease the transition of new and returning students to college while also offering tips on achieving academic, financial and career exploration success.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Bader, John B.
Dean's List: Eleven Habits of Highly Successful College Students. . Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2011.
Call Number: LB2395 .B28 2011

Deans at America’s top institutions tell you what you need to know to have a rich and rewarding college experience. Armed with an insider’s perspective, you will develop habits critical for college success…
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Bare, Kelly and others.
Peterson's The Inside Scoop on College Life. . Princeton, NJ: Peterson's Thomson Learning, 1999.
all Number: LB3605 .B26 1999

Offers college newspaper stories that describe the student experience in colleges and universities of various types and sizes throughout the country.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Bradbury-haehl, Nora and Bill McGarvey.
The Freshman Survival Guide: Soulful Advice for Studying, Socializing, and Everything in Between. New York: Center Street, 2011.
Call Number: Dunwoody LB2343.32 .F74 2011

A values-based guide to navigating that critical first year of college that speaks to college students in their own language and offers practical tools that readers need to keep from drinking, sleeping or skipping their way out of college.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Burns, Peter F.
Success in College: From C's in High School to A's in College. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield Education, 2006.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .B87 2006

Success in College provides essential information and advice that students need to better learn more and receive higher grades. It offers strategies for test- and note-taking, studying, writing papers, and making class schedules.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Canfield, Jack.
Chicken Soup for the College Soul: Inspiring and Humorous Stories about College. Deerfield Beach, FL: Health Communications, 1999.
Call Number: Ebooks on EBSCOHost BJ1661 .C26 1999

This latest helping of loving inspiration follows the millions of loyal readers of the Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul series to the next stage of their lives, beyond adolescence and into young adulthood. Readers will love having this invaluable collection to guide, inspire, support and encourage them throughout their college experience.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Cohen, Harlan.
. The Naked Roommate: And 107 Other Issues You Might Run into in College. Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks, 2005.
Call Number: LB2343.3 .C62 2005

Cohen's work comes in handy when you run into sticky situations - like being sexiled. Cohen goes far beyond the academics and discusses roommates, homesickness, Greek life, and other essential facts of college life.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Davis, Todd M. and Patricia H. Murrell.
Turning Teaching into Learning: The Role of Student Responsibility in the Collegiate Experience. Washington, DC: School of Education and Human Development, Georgie Washington University, 1993.
Call Number: Dunwoody LB1060 .B38 1993

Students can contribute to their own learning and to the development of a campus climate in which all can grow and learn.
Source: http://www.ntlf.com/html/
lib/bib/93-8dig.htm

Gottesman, Greg.
College Survival. New York: ARCO, 1991.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .G68 1991

This brash, lively handbook is the group effort of college students from Boston to Berkeley. Now freshly updated, it's a hip, breezy guide to the joys and pitfalls of campus life--as experienced by college students themselves. Candid as no adult-written guide could be, College Survival is the authentic voice of today's college generation and a must for every college-bound student.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Grigsby, Mary.
College Life Through the Eyes of Students. Albany, NY: SUNY Press, 2009.
Call Number: Newton LB3609 .G75 2009

The struggles and achievements of today’s college students are thrown into stark relief in this fascinating account of how such students make meaning of their lives.
Source: http://www.sunypress.edu

Jacbos, Lynn F. and Jeremy S. Hyman.
Professors' Guide to Getting Good Grades in College. New York: Collins, 2006.
Call Number: : LB2395 .J29 2006

Offers students an insider's guide on how to achieve good grades, with tips on how to take good lecture notes, pick courses that promote good grades, prepare for tests, and implement effective test-taking strategies.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Kanar, Carol C.
The Confident Student. Boston: Wadsworth, 2011.
Call Number: LB2395 .K325 2011

Provides practical and immediately applicable skills and critical-thinking strategies by emphasizing self-discovery, self-management, and self-assessment, with an underlying theme of helping first-year students to be more confident in their approach to learning.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Kastner, Laura Scribner and Jennifer Fugett Wyatt.
The Launching Years: Smart Parenting During Senior Year and Beyond. New York: Three Rivers Press, 2002.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .K37 2002

Launching a child from home is second only to child-birth in its impact on a family. Parents can end up reeling with the empty-nest blues, while teens find their powers of self-reliance stretched to the breaking point. During the time of upheaval that begins senior year of high school with the nerve-wracking college application process and continues into the first year of life away from home, The Launching Years is a trusted resource for keeping every member of the family sane.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Lawry, John D..
College 101: A First Year Reader. Boston: McGraw-Hill College, 1999.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .C64 1999

College 101 is a thematically arranged reader designed to provide first-year students with a solid foundation for reflecting on -- and making the most of -- their college experience. The readings, -- which include professional essays, student essays, poems, short stories, letters, and a play, -- address issues of direct relevance to first-year students.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

LePore, Ernest and Sarah-Jane Leslie.
What Every College Student Should Know: How to Find the Best Teachers and Learn the Most from them. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2002.
Call Number: Dunwoody LB2331 .L44 2002

What Every College Student Should Know is a guide to discovering the best teachers at your school and learning everything you can from them. Here, the unique writing combination of a professor and a student provides you with perspectives from both sides of the equation.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

McMillan, Terry.
It's OK if You're clueless: And 23 More Tips for the College Bound. New York: Viking, 2006.
Call Number: LB2343.3 .M397 2006

Features humorous recommendations that the author wishes she had received when graduating, in a lighthearted guide that includes such nuggets as "bring your laundry home" and "read anything and everything."
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Peterson, Brian.
The African American Student's Guide to Excellence in College. . Philadelphia, PA: Chance 22, 2004.
Call Number:LC2781 .P47 2004

Emphasis is on how to negotiate the college or university system to take advantage of all it has to offer in the way of academic and social resources. There are segments on taking exams; reading for comprehension; time management; and getting help from writing centers, study groups, and tutors.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Chicken Soup for the College Soul The Abandoned Generation The Confident Student

Roberts, Andrew Lawrence.
The Thinking Student's Guide to College: 75 Tips for Getting a Better Education. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2010.
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOHost LB2350.5 .R634 2010

...Helps students take charge of their university experience by providing a blueprint they can follow to achieve their educational goals—whether at public or private schools, large research universities or small liberal arts colleges. An inside look penned by a professor at Northwestern University, this book offers concrete tips on choosing a college, selecting classes, deciding on a major, interacting with faculty, and applying to graduate school.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Rosenberg, Ellen.
College Life. New York: Penguin Books, 1992.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .R67 1992

A down-to-earth guide to dealing with being away from home, long-distance relationships, roommates, academic expectations, alcohol and drugs, dating and sex.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Saley, Constance Courtney and Regina Lewis.
Focus on Community College Success. Boston: Wadsworth, 2012.
Call Number: Decatur Reserves LB2343.3 .S726 2012

Thoroughly researched, the text covers the topics most important to student success and incorporates underlying themes of motivation and self-discipline throughout.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Schaefer, Naomi.
God on the Quad: How Religious Colleges and the Missionary Generation are Changing America. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2005.
Call Number: BV4531.3 .S33 2005

Far removed from the medieval cloisters outsiders imagine, schools like Wheaton, Thomas Aquinas, and Brigham Young are churning out a new generation of smart, worldly, and ethical young professionals whose influence in business, medicine, law, journalism, academia, and government is only beginning to be felt.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Schindley, Wanda.
Adults in College: A Surival Guide for Nontraditional Students. Mount Pleasant, TX: Dallas Publishing, 2002.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .S33 2002

Adults in College addresses the fears of adult college students, provides the inspiration they need to overcome the obstacles they face, and supplies the nuts and bolts information they need to succeed.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Sherfield, Robert M., Rhonda J. Moody and Patricia G. Moody.
Cornerstone: Your Foundation for Discovering Your Potential, Learning Actively, and Living Well. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, 2008.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .S53 2008

This updated book offers one of the most complete, concrete student success programs in the country, with suggestions and strategies for academic success and personal improvement including goals, change, and career/life planning. Visually stunning, conversationally written, and student-tested, the book provides learners with a variety of solutions to almost any problem faced in the first year of college and beyond.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Silverman, Scott C. and Frances Northcutt.
How to Survive Your Freshman Year. Atlanta, GA: Hundres of Heads Books, 2010.
Call Number: Newton LB2343.32 .H68 2010

How to Survive Your Freshman Year offers incoming college freshmen the experience, advice, and wisdom of their peers: hundreds of other students who have survived their first year of college and have something interesting to say about it.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Steltenpohl, Elizabeth, Jane Shipton, and Sharon Villnes.
Orientation to College: A Reader on Becoming an Educated Person. Belmont, CA: Thomson/Wadsworth, 2004.
Call Number:LB2343.32 .O74 2004

Offers a rich collection of articles designed to encourage students to reflect on the meaning of a college education, and to explore the opportunities for personal and professional development offered in college.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Stone, Douglas and Elizabeth Tippett.
Real College: The Essential Guide to Student Life New York: Penguin Books, 2004.
Call Number: Dunwoody LA229 .S645 2004

In Real College, they [the authors] join forces to help students deal with nightmare roommates, handle academic pressures, make smart choices about alcohol and sex, communicate with parents, and address all the other big issues that can make college as challenging as it is exciting. Stone and Tippett deliver insightful, pragmatic advice with humor and compassion, in a style that parents and students alike will appreciate. This is one book that no college student should be without.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Strike, Kenneth A. and Pamela A. Moss.
Ethics and College Student Life. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 1997.
Call Number: LA229 .S665 1997

this book asks its readers to reflect on some of the ethical aspects of being a student, and helps readers think clearly and powerfully about those issues. Through a highly effective case approach, the authors provide readers with specific, reality-based examples of the complex, controversial, and difficult ethical issues that students face on college campuses.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Adult Student's Guide to Survival and Success The Naked Roommate

Willimon, William H. and Thomas H. Naylor.
The Abandoned Generation: Rethinking Higher Education. Grand Rapids, MI: W.B. Erdman's Pub. Co., 1995.
Call Number: Dunwoody LA227.4 .W56 1995

By looking at academic life from the students' point of view - the text is filled with real-life situations, reflections from students, and poignant illustrations - The Abandoned Generation evaluates American colleges and universities on the basis of the quality of the lives that they are now producing.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Zlotkowski, Edward A.
Service-Learning and the First-Year Experience: Preparing Students for Personal Success and Civic Responsibility. Columbia, SC: National Resource Center for the First-Yea Experience & Students in Transition, University of South Carolina, 2002.
Call Number: LC220.5 .S455 2002

Documents the congruence of two powerful educational concerns: the success of first year students and the potential of service-learning as a teaching-learning strategy.
Source: http://www.servicelearning.org

Back to the top of the page.

A Practical Look at College

Aghassi, Marjorie Ewing.
Getting Good Grades: How to Succeed in College. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1980.
Call Number: LB2395 .A34

Offers timeless advice on career planning, time management, preparing for study, understanding a text book. There is no information on computers, graphic tools for organization, computers, mobile devices etc… Some things never go out of style. Some remain of historical interest.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Baldwin, Amy
The Community College Experience Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson/Prentice Hall, 2005.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .B24 2005

The only book on the market written with the first-time community college student in mind, this text provides basic information as well as encouragement for the non-traditional student-it shows that going to college and balancing work and family can be accomplished. It covers a range of topics, examining the reasons for attending college, how to study effectively, and life after community college.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Cater, Carol, Joyce L. and others.
Keys to Success in College, Career, and Life: How to Achieve Your Goals. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 2003.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .C37 2003

This brief version of the best-selling book connects college skills with career and life success. With its learn-by-doing emphasis, it encourages readers to think critically about their choices and goals.
Source: http://www.bn.com

Fox, Gunnar.
Kick Ass in Colelge: A Guerilla Guide to College Success. Dallas, TX: KickAssMedia, 2005.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .F69 2005

In addition to providing a blueprint for classroom success and preparing students for the highly competitive job market that awaits them, this instant college classic tackles relationships, substance abuse and many other real-world issues, all with Gunnar’s trademark combination of raucous humor and bone-chilling candor.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Gardner, John N. and Jerome A. Jewler.
Your College Experience: Strategies for Success. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth Pub. Co., 1995.
Call Number:LB2343.32 .Y68 1995

Synopsis: A pioneering classic combines proven material on timeless issues such as learning strategies, critical thinking, time management, relationships, and personal health with new information….
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Gould, Malcolm.
. College Success Guaranteed: 5 rules to Make it Happen. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield Education, 2011.
Call Number: Dunwoody LB2343.3 .G39 2011

With anecdotes from current college students and recent graduates, Gauld presents five simple rules for college success. It is a short, non-preachy, fun, and slightly irreverent primer that can help you get off to a strong start toward the "best four years of your life."
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Lenier, Minnette and Janet Maker.
Keys to College Success: Reading and Study Improvement. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1998.
Call Number: LB2395 .L447 1998

Emphasizing critical reading skills, this practical guide addresses the most important reading and study skills users will need to excel in college studies.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Mundsack, Allan, James Deese, and Ellin K. Deese.
How to Study and Other Skills for Success in College. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003.
Call Number: LB2395 .M595 2003

With computers at the forefront of today's university learning experience, the new fifth edition of How to Study fills a long-awaited need for an up-to-the-minute guide to making the grade on campus.
Source: http://www.loc.gov

Newport, Cal.
How to Become a Sraight-A-Student: The Unconventional Strategies Real College Students Ues to Score High While Studying Less. New York: Broadway Books, 2007.
Call Number: LB2395 .N515 2007

Offers time-management strategies, tips on taking tests, techniques for writing essays better and faster, and self-assessment tests to help students analyze their study skills.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Newport, Cal.
How to Win at College: Simple Rules for Success from Star Students. New York: Broadway Books, 2005.
Call Number: LB2343.3 .N49 2005

What does it take to be a standout student? How can you make the most of your college years—graduate with honors, choose exciting activities, build a head-turning resume, and gain access to the best post-college opportunities?
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Nist, Sherrie and Jodi Holschuh.
College Rules! How to Study, Survive, and Succeed in College. Berkeley, CA: Ten Speed Press, 2002.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .N57 2002

In high school, students have lots of safety nets. In college, they sink or swim. This completely revised guide to college success educates students in the basic college survival skills that professors don't teach, such as how to study, take tests, balance school and social life, and more.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Pauk, Walter and Ross J. Q. Owens.
How to Study in College. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, Co., 2008.
Call Number: LB2395 .P3 2008

This classic text has helped over a million students turn adequate work into excellent work. How to Study in College details such study methods as visual thinking, active listening, concentration techniques, note-taking strategies, and test-taking techniques while incorporating material on life skills.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Rowh, Mark.
Community College Companion: Everything You Wanted to Know about Succeeding in a Two-Year School. Indianapolis, IN: JST Works, 2011.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .R685 2011

This book provides helpful advice for making the most of the community college experience by explaining everything you need to know about community college certificate and degree options, financial aid, study skills, online courses, time management, career planning, campus resources, the transfer process, and much more.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Siebert, Al and Mary Karr.
The Adult Student's Guide to Survival & Success. Portland, OR: Practical Psychology Press, 2003.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .S556 2003

Filled with advice on how to hit the campus running, this fun-spirited crash course in the rules of college provides tools to equip students for a lifetime of learning.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Siebert, Al, Bernadine Gilpin, and Samuel Kimball.
Time for College: The Adult Student's Guide to Survival and Success! Portland, OR: Practical Psychology
Call Number:LB2343.32 .S56 1992

Going to college can be both exciting and nerve-racking, especially for adults enrolling for the first time or after an extended absence. This book shows adults how to succeed academically while balancing family, work, and other important responsibilities.
Source: http://www.goodreads.com

Back to the top of the page.

Simon, Linda.
New Beginnings: A Reference Guide for Adult Learners. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 2010.
Call Number: LB2343.32 .S576 2010

For first-year/entry-level Learning Skills, Learning Strategies, and Study Skills courses. Specifically addressing adults by relating to and drawing upon their life experiences, this friendly, accessible, and supportive guide to achieving college success helps users assess their own strengths as a learner, better manage their time, hone good study skills, and write effective college papers.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Voeks, Virginia.
On Becoming an Educated Person: An Orientation to College and Life. Philadelphia, PA: Saunders, 1979.
Call Number:LB2343.3 .V63 1979

A fine grained approach to study and psychological success at college. Note: this book's ideas about group study and collaboration are a bit different than those one hears today, and it mentions nothing about electronic devices, though the author would probably suggest you turn your cell phone OFF!
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information