Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston: Display -- October 2010

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

On Display -- October 2010

Featured Web Sites

Banned Books Week: Celebrating the Freedom to Read.
American Libary Assocation
http://www.ala.org/advocacy/bbooks/banned
Banned Books Week (BBW) is an annual event celebrating the freedom to read and the importance of the First Amendment. Held during the last week of September, Banned Books Week highlights the benefits of free and open access to information while drawing attention to the harms of censorship by spotlighting actual or attempted bannings of books across the United States.
http://www.ala.org

Common Sense Media.
Common Sense Media
http://www.commonsensemedia.org/

This site is an alternative for parents' concerned about the suitability of books, web sites, and electronic games for their children. This site emphasizes parental choice rather than censorship.
Eileen H. Kramer

Curlie -- Free Speech -- Censorship.
Curlie.org
http://www.curlie.org/Society/
Issues/Human_Rights_and
_Liberties/Free_Speech/

A listing of sites that cover censorship of books, articles, artwork, music, the internet and a few procensorship sites as well.
Eileen H. Kramer

The Glass Castle
Dead Man in Indian Creek
Eclipse

Free Expression Policy Project.
Free Expression Policy Project
Available via Web.archive.org
The Free Expression Policy Project (FEPP), founded in 2000, provides research and advocacy on free speech, copyright, and media democracy issues.
http://fepproject.org


Index on Censorship: Britain's Leading Organisation (sic) Promoting Freedom of Expression.
Index on Censorship
http://www.indexoncensorship.org
Provides up-to-the-minute news and information on free expression from around the world.
http://www.indexoncensorship.org

Kennedy, Elizabeth
Book Censorship and Banning Children's Books.
About.com
https://www.thoughtco.com/
childrens-book-censorship-overview-626315


Describes the who, what, why, and where of "challenges" to books in schools and public libraries.
Eileen H. Kramer

Aura
Dead Man in Indian Creek
The Geography Club

National Coalition Against Censorship.
National Coalition Against Censorship
http://www.ncac.org/index.php
The National Coalition Against Censorship, an alliance of fifty-two participating organizations, is dedicated to protecting free expression and access to information.
http://www.ncac.org/index.php

Newsletter on Intellectual Freedom Archive.
American Library Assocation Office of Intellectual Freedom
https://journals.ala.org/index.php/
nif/issue/archive

Top news on censorship attempts in libraries, by governments, and on college campuses, as well as censorship, court cases.
Eileen H. Kramer

Protecting Your Family.
Focus on the Family.
https://www.focusonthefamily.com/

This section of the Evangelical Christian group's site offers suggestions for family reading and other media in line with the group's religious and moral ideas. It also details books and media that parents should have their children avoid. The site makes little if any mention of censoring books or challenging libary holdings.
Eileen H. Kramer

View of the display case
Center display panel.
Left display panel
Right display panel



Banned Books Week

Each year well-meaning citizens challenge the material in libraries, worry over what might be published in student media, and sometimes want to restrict the content of music or video games. This display features banned books, books and web pages that discuss banned books, web sites that advocate against restrictions on free speech, and also sites that offer options for parents and individuals to make their own choices about what books they and their families read and what media they consume.

To see other displays stop by the DISPLAY ARCHIVE

Alexie, Sherman and Ellen Forney. Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. New York: Little, Brown, 2007.
Call Number: PS3551.L35774 A27 2007

Budding cartoonist Junior leaves his troubled school on the Spokane Indian Reservation to attend an all-white farm town school where the only other Indian is the school mascot.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Angelou, Maya. I Kno Why the Caged Bird Sings. New York: Random House, 2002.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z466 2002

In the first volume of an extraordinary autobiographical series, one of the most inspiring authors of our time recalls--with candor, humor, poignancy and grace--how her journey began....
Source: http://www.loc.gov

Angelou, Maya and Mildred R. Mickle. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2010.
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z696 2010

This title includes in-depth critical discussions of Maya Angelou's novel. May Angelou's I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings took the world by storm when it was published in 1969.
Source: http://www.flipkart.com

Boyle, T. Coraghessan. Tortilla Curtain New York: Penguin, 1996.
Call Number: PS3552.O932 T67 1996

Boyle's latest concerns two couples in Southern California, one a pair of wealthy suburbanites, the other illegal immigrants from Mexico.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Burroughs, Augusten. Running with Scissors. New York: St. Martin's, 2002.
Call Number: PS3552.U745 Z477 2006

Running with Scissors is the true story of a boy whose mother (a poet with delusions of Anne Sexton) gave him away to be raised by her psychiatrist, a dead-ringer for Santa and a lunatic in the bargain.
Source: http://www.loc.gov

Cast, P. C. and Kristin Cast Marked. New York: St. Martin's, 2007.
Call Number: PS3603 .A869 M37 2007

The House of Night series is set in a world very much like our own, except in 16-year-old Zoey Redbird's world, vampires have always existed. In this first book in the series, Zoey enters the House of Night, a school where, after having undergone the Change, she will train to become an adult vampire--that is, if she makes it through the Change.
Source: http://www.worldcat.org

Chobsky, Stephen. Perks of Being a Wallflower. New York: MTV Books, 1999.
Call Number: PS3553.H3469 P47 1999

This is the story of what it's like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie's letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives. We may not know to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares.
Source: http://www.loc.gov

Crutcher, Chris. Deadline. York: Greenwillow Books, 2007.
Call Number: PZ7.C89 De 2007

Given the medical diagnosis of one year to live, high school senior Ben Wolf decides to fulfill his greatest fantasies, ponders his life's purpose and legacy, and converses through dreams with a spiritual guide known as "Hey-Soos."
Source: http://www.worldcat.org

Drill, Esther and Heather McDonald. Deal with It: A Whole New Approach to your Body, Brain, and Life as a Gurl. New York: Pocket Books, 1999.
Call Number: HQ798 .D75 1999

The birds and bees have never been so hip, thanks to Esther Drill, Heather McDonald, and Rebecca Odes, creators of gURL.com and authors of Deal with It! A Whole New Approach to Your Body, Brain and Life as a gURL.
http://www.amazon.com

Ehrenreich, Barbara. Nickel and Dimed. New York: Henry Holt, 2002.
Call Number: HD4918 .E375 2002

Funny, poignant, and passionate, this revelatory firsthand account of life in low-wage America—the story of Barbara Ehrenreich’s attempts to eke out a living while working as a waitress, hotel maid, house cleaner, nursing-home aide, and Wal-Mart associate—has become an essential part of the nation’s political discourse.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Foerstel, Herbert N. Banned in the U.S.A.: A Reference Guide to Book Cenorship in Schools and Public Libraries. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
Call Number: Z658.U5 F64 1994

Virtually every aspect of book censorship, from its historical inception, to current trends and cases is examined in this up-to-date, comprehensive, \ and readable survey and reference source.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Frank, Anne. Anne Frank: Dairy of a Young Girl. New York: Bantaom Books, 1967.
Call Number: DS135.N6 F73313 1993

Anne Frank received a blank diary on her 13th birthday, just weeks before she and her family went into hiding in Nazi-occupied Amsterdam. Her marvelously detailed, engagingly personal entries chronicle 25 trying months of claustrophobic, quarrelsome intimacy...
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Fuentes, Carlos. Aura. Mexico: Edicaiones Era, 1971.
Call Number: PQ7297.F793 A85 1971

Felipe Montero is employed in the house of an aged widow to edit her deceased husband's memoirs. There Felipe meets her beautiful green-eyed niece, Aura. His passion for Aura and his gradual discovery of the true relationship between the young woman and her aunt propel the story to its extraordinary conclusion.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Hahn, Mary Downing. Dead Man in Indian Creek. s.l.: Paw Prints, 2008.
Call Number: PZ7.H1256 Dd 1990

When Matt and Parker learn the body they found in Indian Creek is a drug-related death, they fear Parker's mother may be involved.
Source: http://www.worldcat.org

Hartinger, Brent. Geography Club. New York: Harper, 2003.
Call Number: PZ7.H2635 Ge 2003

A group of gay and lesbian teenagers finds mutual support when they form the "Geography Club" at their high school.
Source: http://www.worldcat.org

Hemingway, Ernest. Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway. New York: Scribner, 2003.
Call Number: PS3515.E37 A15 1998

The subtitle of this monumental collection refers to the home (Lookout Farm) that Hemingway owned in Cuba from 1939 to 1959. That time frame accounts for most of the short fiction, published and unpublished, that followed the major collection issued in 1938, The First Forty-Nine. There are 60 stories in all.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Irving, John. Prayer for Owen Meany. New York: Morrow, 1989.
Call Number: PS3559.R8 P7 1989

Owen Meany is a dwarfish boy with a strange voice who accidentally kills his best friend's mom with a baseball and believes--accurately--that he is an instrument of God, to be redeemed by martyrdom.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Johnson, Maureen. Bermudez Triangle. New York: Razorbill, 2004.
Call Number: PZ7.J634145 Be 2004

The friendship of three high school girls and their relationships with their friends and families are tested when two of them fall in love with each other.
Source: http://www.worldcat.org

Karolides, Nicholas J. and Margaret Bald. 100 Banned Books: Censorship Histories of World Literature. New York: Checkmark Books, 1999.
Call Number: Z658.U5 K35 1999

By limiting the texts under consideration to 100, the authors are able to provide highly detailed accounts of each title's censorship history in what is surely the most exhaustive single-volume reference available.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Kingsolver, Barbara. Bean Trees. New York: Harper, 1998.
Call Number: PS3561.I496 B44 1998

Young, bright Taylor Greer leaves her poverty-stricken life in Kentucky and heads west, picking up an abandoned Native American baby girl whom she names Turtle and finds a new home in Tucson with Mattie, an old woman who takes in Central American refugees.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Lee, Harper. To Kill a Mockingbird. New York: Harper, 1995.
Call Number: PS3562.E353 T6 1995

Set in the small Southern town of Maycomb, Alabama, during the Depression, To Kill a Mockingbird follows three years in the life of 8-year-old Scout Finch, her brother, Jem, and their father, Atticus--three years punctuated by the arrest and eventual trial of a young black man accused of raping a white woman.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Mead, Richelle. Vampire Academy. New York: Razorbill, 2007.
Call Number: PS3613.E1275 V36 2007

Two years after a horrible incident made them run away, vampire princess Lissa and her guardian-in-training Rose are found and returned to St. Vladimir's Academy, where one focuses on mastering magic, the other on physical training, while both try to avoid the perils of gossip, cliques, gruesome pranks, and sinister plots.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 2003.
Call Number: PE1628 .M36 2003

For this new edition, America’s largest staff of lexicographers made more than 100,000 changes and added more than 10,000 new words and senses, such as "convergence," "Frankenfood," "phat," "psyops," and "vermiculture."
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Meyer, Stephenie. Breaking Dawn. New York: Little Brown, 2008.
Call Number: PS3613.E979 B74 2008

Although eighteen-year-old Bella joins the dark but seductive world of the immortals by marrying Edward the vampire, her connection to the powerful werewolf Jacob remains unsevered.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Meyer, Stephenie. Eclipse. New York: Little Brown, 2007.
Call Number: PZ7.M5717515 Ec 2007

Bella must choose between her friendship with Jacob, a werewolf, and her relationship with Edward, a vampire, but when Seattle is ravaged by a mysterious string of killings, the three of them need to decide whether their personal lives are more important than the well-being of an entire city.
Source: http://www.worldcat.org

Meyer, Stephenie. New Moon. New York: Little Brown, 2008.
Call Number: PS3613.E979 N49 2008

When her beloved Edward and his family leave Forks rather than risk revealing that they are vampires, it is almost too much for Bella to bear, but she finds solace in her friend Jacob, until he starts changing in terrible ways.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Meyer, Stephenie. Twilight. New York: Little Brown, 2008.
Call Number: PS3613.E979 T95 2008

When seventeen-year-old Bella leaves Phoenix to live with her father in Forks, Washington, she meets an exquisitely handsome boy at school for whom she feels an overwhelming attraction and who she comes to realize is not wholly human.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Morrison, Toni. Song of Solomon. New York: Vintage International, 2004.
Call Number: PS3563.O8749 S6 2004

Macon Dead, Jr., called Milkman, son of the richest Negro in town, moves from childhood into early manhood, searching, among the disparate, mysterious members of his family, for his life and reality.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Noble, William. Bookbanning in America: Who Bans Books? and Why? Middlebury, VT: P.S. Eriksson, 1990.
Call Number: Z658.U5 N6 1990

Timed to coincide with the 200th anniversary of the Bill of Rights, the publication of this title strikes a warning note to book lovers across the nation: censorship flourished in 1990 as it has since the 1650 Boston book burnings. Noble writes that nearly 1000 book bannings arise each year, with recent school library cases increasing nearly 200% in the 1980s.
Source: http://wwww.amazon.com

Richardson, Justin and Peter Parnell. And Tango Makes Three. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2005.
Call Number: PZ10.3.R414 Tan 2005

At New York City's Central Park Zoo, two male penguins fall in love and start a family by taking turns sitting on an abandoned egg until it hatches.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

And Tango Makes Three

Seierstad, Asne and Ingrid Christophersen. Bookseller of Kabul. Boston: Little, Brown, 2003.
Call Number: CT1877.5.K48 S45 2003

The Norwegian journalist provides a portrait of a committed Muslim man and his family living in post-Taliban Kabul, Afghanistan.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Indian Bean Trees Nickel and Dimed

Wachsberger, Ken. Banned Books. New York: Facts on File, 2006.
Call Number: Z658.U5 B35 2006

The entries, which include a summary, censorship history, and brief bibliography, range widely from Aristotle through Galileo and on up to Adolf Hitler and Judy Blume. Such well-known prohibited works as de Sade's 120 Days of Sodom, the Communist Manifesto, and Huckleberry Finn are included here, but so are many other works that are now less controversial.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Walker, Margaret. Jubilee. New York: Bantam Books, 1967.
Call Number: PS3545.A517 J8 1967

Here is the classic--and true--story of Vyry, the child of a white plantation owner and his black mistress, a Southern Civil War heroine to rival Scarlett O'Hara. Vyry bears witness to the South's prewar opulence and its brutality, to its wartime ruin and the subsequent promise of Reconstruction.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Walls, Jeanette. Glass Castle. New York: Scribner, 2005.
Call Number: HV5132 .W35 2005

The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Banner box for personal information