Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston: Display -- January 2010

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

On Display -- January 2010

Tournées Festival Films

Click on each image to learn more about the movie.

La Vie en Rose
Showing February 15, 5pm.

Entre Les Murs
Showing February 16, 5pm.

Une Conte de Noel
Showing February 17, 5pm.

Reves de Poussiere
Showing February 18, 5pm.

La Graine et le Mulet
Showing February 19, 5pm.

Featured Web Sites

Alliance Française d'Atlanta
http://www.afatl.com/

Alliance Française is dedicated to promoting French languages and cultures and fostering intellectual and artistic exchanges between the French-speaking world and local communities
Source: http://www.afatl.com/
About.htm

Le Cercle Francophone -- French Club
French Club
Defunct link to Georiga Per_imeter College French Club

The purpose of the French club is to promote the study and use of the French language, and foster a greater understanding of French-speaking cultures.
Source: Defunct link to GP_C French Club

EBSCOhost
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=fila-gsu1 Requires GSU Login.

Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Source: Old version of GALILEO

Film and Television Documentation Center.
Film Literature Index.
http://webapp1.dlib.
indiana.edu
/fli/index.jsp

The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
Source: http://webapp1.dlib.
indiana.edu/fli/
aboutOnlineAccess.jsp

French American Cultural Exchange
F.A.C.E.
http://www.facecouncil.org/
index.html

FACE, in partnership with the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the United States, administers programs and projects in music, theater, dance, cinema, education, and the visual arts.
Source: http://www.facecouncil.org/
index.html

IMDb.com
International Movie Database.
http://www.imdb.com

This site bills itself as "the biggest, best, most award-winning movie site on the planet." It features: trailers, information on upcoming movies, some TV news, and reviews, as well as box office rankings.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

A view of 
this display from the front of the case.

A view of 
this display from the side of the case.

Into Great Silence
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
Le Dernier Metro
I've been stranded on a mountain!

The Tournees Festival: 
New French Films on Campus

The Tournees Festival brings four films to Georgia Perimeter College's (Now Perimeter College at Georgia State University) Clarkston campus in February, and this display celebrates, French and Francophone African cinema through books, DVD's, and links to web sites.

To see other displays stop by the DISPLAY ARCHIVE

Books

African Cinema: Postcolonial and Feminist Readings. Ed. Kenneth W. Harrow. Trenton, NJ: Africa World Press, 1999. Print.
Call Number: PN1993.5.A35 A357 1999

These essays speak directly and compellingly to contemporary issues in African cinema. They address key aspects of post-colonialism and feminism-the two major topics of interest in current criticism.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Armes, Roy. African Filmmaking: North and South of the Sahara. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2006. Print.
Call Number: PN1993.5.A35 A75 2006

Armes' book covers a broad range of film -- making, from the experimental work of Jean Pierre Bekolo (Cameroon) to the fiction of Nabil Ayouch (Morocco), and is essential reading for anyone with an interest in African film.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Barr, Charles et. al. The Films of Jean-Luc Godard. New York: Prager, 1970. Print.
Call Number: PN1998.A3 G623 1970

Although critics have their little differences over almost everyone, no director has in recent years managed to break down the critical consensus to the same extent as Godard. His work elicits extreme reactions: goofy adulation in some quarters, and elsewhere equally unreasoned hate. This book is intended to open up the area between the two extremes by presenting a range of reasoned opinions on his films.
Source: Cameron, Ian. "Introduction." The Films of Jean-Luc Godard. Charles Barr et. al. New York: Prager, 1970. 6-10. Print.

Buss, Robin. The French through their Films. New York: Ungar, 1988. Print.
Call Number: PN1993.5.F7 B83 1988

In the first part of the book the author shows how cinema, at various times, has depicted French society. With reference to the classics of French cinema (and many less well known examples) he relates films to the mood of the time when they were made. He examines the treatment of social and geographical differences, historical events, and working and family life. The second part is a reference guide to the salient point of nearly 200 films, with the credits and extracts from contemporary reviews.
Source: http://www.amzon.co.uk

Focus on African Films. Ed. Francoise Pfaff. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2004. Print.
Call Number: PN1993.5.A35 F63 2004

Emphasizing post-independent films released since the 1950s and the burgeoning commercial film production of the last decade, Focus on African Films provides unique and pluralistic perspectives on filmmaking throughout Africa.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Gugler, Josef. African Film: Re-Imagining a Continent. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2003. Print.
Call Number: PN1993.5.A35 G77 2003

In African Film: Re-imagining a Continent, Josef Gugler provides an introduction to African cinema through an analysis of 15 films made by African filmmakers. These directors set out to re-image Africa; their films offer Western viewers the opportunity to re-imagine the continent and its people.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Insdorf, Annette. Francois Truffaut. Boston: Twayne Publishers, 1978. Print.
Call Number: PN1998.A3 T745

Unlike many directors, Francois Truffaut has been blessed with intelligent and perceptive critics throughout his career, especially those writing in English. Annette Insdorf's new book fits snugly into this tradition of excellence, and even goes the earlier studies one better by treating the films with the comprehensiveness they deserve.
Source: Brunette, Peter. Truffaut by Anette Insdorf. Film Quarterly 33.4 (1980): 34. JSTOR. GALILEO. Web. 3 February 2010.

Lange, Monique. Piaf. New York: Seaver Books, 1981. Print.
Call Number: ML420.P52 L33

Throughout her explosive and tempestuous career, Edith Piaf cast a spell over all who came in contact with her. This tiny person "the little sparrow," as she was called, who stood only four foot ten and performed in simple black, was a force of nature.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Lanzoni, Remi Fournier. French Cinema: From its Beginnings to the Present. New York: Continuum, 2002. Print.
Call Number: PN1993.5.F7 L33 2002

Lanzoni (Romance languages, Elon Univ.) offers an academic and chronological survey of French filmmaking from 1895 to 2002. He is particularly interested in how 20th-century events have affected French cinema, notably the German occupation during World War II, which paradoxically represented a creative high point; the Algerian War; the "New Wave" explosion of the early 1960s; the student uprisings of May 1968; and recent tariff movements to reduce American domination of European film markets.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

African Cinema African Film Making The New Wave

Monaco, James. The New Wave: Truffaut, Godard, Chabrol, Rohmer, Rivette. New York: Oxford University Press, 1977. Print.
Call Number: PN1993.5.F7 M6 1977

The first comprehensive treatment of the New Wave, this book remains the definitive study of the five directors who came to influence a generation of filmmakers.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Oscherwitz, Dayna and Mary Ellen Higgins. Historical Dictionary of French Cinema. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2007. Print.
Call Number: PN1993.5.F7 O83 2007

Oscherwitz (French and francophone studies, Southern Methodist U.) and Higgins (comparative literature and film, Pennsylvania State U.) provide a dictionary of French film from the silent era to the present.
Source: http://www.amazo.co.uk

Schwartz, Vanessa R. It's so French!: Hollywood, Paris, and the Making of Cosmopolitan Film Culture. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2007. Print.
Call Number: PN1993.5.F7 S34 2007

Hollywood was once enamored with everything French and this infatuation blossomed in a wildly popular series of films including An American in Paris, Gigi, and Funny Face. Schwartz here examines the visual appeal of such films, and then broadens her analysis to explore their production and distribution, probing the profitable influences that Hollywood and Paris exerted on each other.
Source: http://www.loc.gov

Thackway, Melissa. Africa Shoots Back: Alternative Perspectives in Sub-Sharan Francophone Film. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2003. Print.
Call Number: PN1993.5.A35 T48 2003

Filmmakers in sub-Saharan francophone Africa have been using cinema since independence in the sixties to challenge existing Western stereotypes of the continent. The author shows how directors working in a postcolonial context that has inevitably influenced film agendas and styles have produced a range of alternative, challenging representations.
Source: http://www.amazon.co.uk

Back to the top of the page.

It's So French! Africa Shoots Back

DVDs

The Adventures of Antoine Doinel. Dir.Francois Truffaut. Criterion Collection, 2003. DVD.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.A1 A39 2003

Five films featuring the enthusiastic, melancholic, and hopelessy romantic trouble maker Antoine Doinel, played by Jean-Pierre Léud. The films take Doinel from his troubled childhood through myriad frustrations and romantic entanglements, from his stormy teens through marriage, children, divorce, and adulthood.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Alexandra. Prod. Andrei Sigle. Dir. and Screenwriter Alexander Sokurova. Cinema Guild, 2009. DVD.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .A344 2009

In a desolate, sun-scorched corner of the world, an elderly woman has come to see her beloved grandson. He is a young officer stationed at a remote military outpost.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Au Revioir Les Enfants. Dir. Louis Malle. Criterion, 2006. DVD.
Call Number: DVD PN1997 .A857 2006

Based on the director’s life, this film chronicles Malle’s experiences during the German occupation of France in World War II.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

La Cite des Enfants Perdus. Prod. Claudie Ossard. Screenplay by Giles Adrien, Jean-pierre Jeunet, and Marco Caro. Sony Pictures Classics, 2007. DVD.
Call Number: DVD PN1997 .C484 2007

A sad and heartbroken madman, Krank, is aging prematurely because he can’t dream. He kidnaps little children, hoping that eventually he will find a way to steal their sleeping thoughts.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Le Dernier Metro. Screenplay by Francois Truffaut and Jean-Claude Grumberg. Dir. Francois Truffaut. Criterion Collection, 2009. DVD.
Call Number: DVD PN1997 .D4246 2009

In Nazi-occupied Paris in 1942, the Jewish director of the Montmartre Theatre goes into hiding while the theater is run by his wife who is determined to protect her husband.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly. Prod. Pathe Renn. Buena Vista Home Entertainment, 2008. DVD.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .S327 2008

The French editor of Elle magazine, Jean-Dominique Bauby, who, in 1995 at the age of 43, suffered a stroke that paralyzed his entire body, except his left eye. Using that eye to blink out his memoir, Bauby eloquently described the aspects of his interior world, from the psychological torment of being trapped inside his body to his imagined stories from lands he’d only visited in his mind.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Into the Great Silence. Prod. Philip Groning. Dir. Philip Gröning. Zeitgeist Films, 2007. DVD.
Call Number: DVD BX3303 .I58 2007

The Grande Chartreuse, considered one of the world’s most ascetic monasteries is based in the French Alps... Gröning, sans crew or artificial lighting, lived in the monks’ quarters for six months - filming their daily prayers, tasks,
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Le Pacte des Loups. Prod. Samuel Hadida and Richard Grandpierre. Screenplay by Sphane Cabel. Universal Studios Home Entertainment, 2008. DVD.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .P33 2008

When a mysterious beast ravages the countryside, two unlikely heroes are called in to fight the evil.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Stranded: I've Come from a Plane that Crashed on the Mountains. Dir. Marc Silvera. Zeitgeist Films, 2009. DVD.
Call Number: DVD TL553.9 .S77 2009

On October 13, 1972, a young rugby team from Montevideo, Uruguay, boarded a plane for a match in Chile, then vanished into thin air. Sixteen of the 45 passenger resurfaced, 72 days after their plane crashed. Thirty-five years later, the survivors returned to tell their story in their own words.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Tous les Matins du Monde. Jean-Louis Livi. Koch Entertainment, 2006. DVD.
Call Number: DVD PN1997 .T676 2006

A provocative tale of romance, lust, desire, and intrigue based on the lives of 17th century French composer Sainte Colombe and his protege, Marin Marais.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Banner box for personal information