Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston: Display -- April 2010

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

On Display -- April 2010

Featured Web Sites

Codrescu, Andrei
The Exquisite Corpse
http://www.corpse.org/

A journal of arts, letters, and literature published by Romanian American poet, essayist, and NPR commentator, Andrei Codrescu.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Frommers.com
Romania
http://www.frommers.com/
destinations/romania/

Commercial travel site to help you plan a vacation to Romania. The site features maps, itineraries, background, and information about food and lodging. Frommers is not a budget site, but it lists some value accomodations.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Library of Congress
Portals to the World -- Romania
http://www.loc.gov
/rr/international
/european/romania
/ro.html

A meta site with facts, figures, and information about Romania sorted by subject. The site was last revised August 21, 2009.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Romanian language CD
An image of Bela Bartok
Historical Dictionary of the Gypsies

Lonely Planet Guides
Romania Travel Information and Travel Guide
http://www.lonelyplanet.com/
romania

Background and practical information and basics to help you plan a budget trip to Romania. For more in depth coverage, you may want to buy the book, Romania & Moldova.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

New York Times
Romania Travel Guide
http://travel.nytimes.com
/travel/guides/europe
/romania/overview.html

This site offers basic travel information plus articles from the New York Times on Romanian travel and culture.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

United States Central Intelligence Agency.
CIA World Factbook -- Romania
https://www.cia.gov
/library/publications
/the-world-factbook/geos
/ro.html

Facts, figures, and a brief history of Romania. The map is readable and comprehensible. Note: the site is written by the US government and may include possible bias.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

United States Department of State.
Background Notes -- Romania
http://www.state.gov/
r/pa/ei/bgn/35722.htm

Offers, background, facts, a map, and recent history of Romania. This is a US government web site, so the information may come with some bias.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Front view of the case
View of both the case and cart
Side view of the case

spurious book jacket for Malaparte in Jassy
Romania Travel and Language Guide
Romania: Borderland of Europe
spurious book jacket for Ion

Celebrate Romania " Your Library

This display features books, media, web sites, musical scores, and artifacts in honor of the Georgia Perimeter College's (Now Perimeter College at Georgia State University) Writers' Guild's reading of Romanian literary works in translation in April of 2010.

To see other displays stop by the DISPLAY ARCHIVE

Books, Scores, and Media

Art as Activist: Revolutionary Posters from Central and Eastern Europe. New York: Universe Books, 1992.
Call Number: DK50 .A78 1992

Published in connection with a traveling exhibition, this book includes over 100 political posters mostly from 1989 and 1990. As rigid totalitarian controls crumbled in Central and Eastern Europe, the poster became a powerful vehicle for expression of long-suppressed ideas and new aspirations.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Astrachan, Samuel.
Malaparte in Jassy. Detroit, MI: Wayne State University Press, 1989.
Call Number: PS3551.S7 M35 1989

Curzio Malaparte, Italian journalist, political activist, enfant terrible, and man of the world finds himself stranded in Jassy, Romania during World War II. He has fled the Russians and the Germans. He is stricken with PTSD. Will he survive, mentally and physically intact? What happens to a man who witnesses first hand the horrors of World War II? Do scars and suffering always make us stronger?
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Bartok, Bela.
Bear Dance for Piano Solo. New York: Kalmus, [n.d.]
Call Number: Musical Score M30.B37 B4

This is a score arranged for solo piano, for a work that Bartok based on a Romanian folk dance.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Bartok, Bela.
Divertimento Sz 113. Deutsche Graamophon, 1986.
Call Number: CD MR2 .B285 Di4S3

A pleasant work for strings, a work based on Romanian dances, and a divertimento by Leos Janacek are all part of this classical CD.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Bartok, Bela.
Erdelyi Tancok. Source Info: Budapest, Hungary: Denemukiado Valladat, 1964.
Call Number: Musical Score M1060.B28 D3 1964

Bartok shows his pride in his homeland, by a classical piece inspired by dances from the land of Dracula. This is a musical score.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Bartok, Bela.
Ket Roman Tanc. Budapest, Hungary: Zenemukiado, 1965.
Call Number: Musical Score M1060 . B28 op.8a W4 1965

This musical score features two Romanian folk dance inspired works for piano.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Bartok, Bela.
2 Roumanian Dances for Piano Solo. New York: E. F. Kalmus, [n.d].
Call Number: Musical Score M30.B37 R8

This is a piano score for two works by Bartok, based on folk dances of Romania.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Boia, Lucian.
Romania: Borderland of Europe. London: Reaktion, 2001.
Call Number: DR217 .B645 2001

Romania occupies a unique position on the map of Eastern Europe. It is a country that presents many paradoxes. In this book the preeminent Romanian historian Lucian Boia examines his native land’s development from the Middle Ages to modern times, delineating its culture, history, language, politics and ethnic identity.
Source: http://www.romanianculturalcentre.org.uk

Back to the top of the page.

Chatahoochee Review Youth without Youth CD Romania & Moldova

Farnoaga, Georgiana and Sharon King eds.
The Phantom church and Other Stories from Romania. Pittsburgh, PA: University of Pittsburgh Press, 1996.
Call Number: PC871.E8 P48 1996

A splendid collection of short fiction, now in a first-time English translation, from the perpetually beleaguered little country whose writers have long struggled against political repression and censorship, most notably during the Stalinist regime and recently under Ceausescu.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Gallagher, Tom.
Romania After Ceausescu: The Politics of Intolerance. Edinburgh, Scotland: Edinburgh University Press, 1995.
Call Number: DR268 .G35 1995

This, the first comprehensive first-hand account of post-1989 Romania, shows how ex-communist officials have used nationalism to delay the country's passage from a closed to an open political system.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Gerolymatos, Andre.
The Balkan Wars: Conquest, Revolution, and Retribution from the Ottoman Era to the Twentieth Century and Beyond. New York: Basic Books, 2002.
Call Number: DR36 .G39 2002

Bosnia, Kosovo, Macedonia. Today's headlines could have been written in the 1800s or in the 1400s. Conflict has raged unabated in the Balkans for hundreds of years and always, writes historian André Gerolymatos, over the same tired issues: nationalism and religion.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Halsey, Stevens.
Romanian Dance. Champaign, IL: Helios, 1964.
Call Number: Musical Score M233.S835 R6

This is a musical score for Halsey's Romanian dance inspired work for piano and strings.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Kaplan, Robert D.
Balkan Ghosts: A Journey through History. New York: Vintage Books, 1994.
Call Number: DR16 .K36 1994

A history of the Balkan Peninsula explores the region’s political, social, religious, and economic past in order to understand the nature of the recently rekindled, centuries-old blood feuds
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Kaplan, Robert D.
Eastward to Tartary: Travels in the Balkans, the Middle East, and the Caucasus. New York: Random House, 2000.
Call Number: DR16 .K364 2000

Eastward to Tartary is a fascinating exploration of places Kaplan has not written about in depth before: "Third World Europe" (Romania and Bulgaria), Turkey, Syria, Jordan, and the confusing conglomeration of countries and peoples in the Caucasus.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Kenney, Patdraic.
The Burdens of Freedom: Eastern Europe since 1989. New York: Zed Books, 2006.
Call Number: DJK51 .K464 2006

The Burdens of Freedom is a history of fifteen countries -- some newly-created -- as they make their way from communism to the present day. For some, the story ends happily, with triumphant entry into the European Union in 2004. Others are caught in limbo, destroyed by nationalist politics, war, and genocide, or crippled by corrupt political practices.
Source: http://www.palgrave-usa.com

Kerrick, Donald.
Historical Dictionary of the Gypsies (Romanies). Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2007.
Call Number: Ref DX115 .K46 2007

There are some seven million gypsies in Europe, an often mythologized people in the past. But now they represent a new political force, both in eastern Europe and as a new westward migration begins. The Historical Dictionary of the Gypsies (Romanies) provides a wealth of definite, factual information about this typically hidden people, and their unique culture.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Mazower, Mark.
The Balkans: A Short History. New York: Modern Library, 2000.
Call Number: DR36 .M39 2000

Mazower, professor of history at Princeton and author of Dark Continent: Europe's Twentieth Century, has written a concise history of Europe's troubled southeastern corner that is both sympathetic to the region's never-ending struggle for identity and freedom from invaders and critical of its inhabitants' recurring failure to reconcile the religious and cultural differences imposed on them by the powers of the West and the East.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

McNally, Raymond T. and Radu Florescu.
In Search of Dracula: The History of Dracula and Vampires. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1994.
Call Number: DR240.5.V553 M36 1994

McNally and Florescu, the authors of several Dracula-related titles, here trace the history of Vlad Tepes, a.k.a. Vlad the Impaler, the murderous Romanian prince upon whom Bram Stoker based his infamous blood-drinking count.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Rebreanu, Liviu.
Ion. New York: Twayne Publishers, 1967.
Call Number: PC839.R4 I623

The novel, Ion, introduces us in the life of the paesants and intellectuals of Transylvania before the war. The action takes place in Pripas village and in the little town Amaradia.
Source: http://www.goodreads.com

Rennon, Rosemary K.
Language and Travel Guide to Romania. New York: Hippocrene Books, 2007.
Call Number: DR204.5 .R39 2007

Rosemary Rennon discovered Romania in 1993 when she went hunting for the small village where her father was born. She was captivated by its scenery and by the simplicity of a country just awakening from its long communist nightmare.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Romania & Moldova Hawthorn, British Columbia: Lonely Planet Publications, 1998.
Call Number: DR204.5 .R526

Discover the Wild West of Eastern Europe, where untouched Medieval villages, vampire legends, dramatic peaks and unspoiled forests await you. This indispensable guide helps you explore these diverse, culturally rich countries.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Romanian. Simon & Schuster Audio, 2005.
Call Number: CD PC639.5.E5 R52 2005

Learn Romanian the way you learned English with the Pimsleur method that combines grammar with convesration.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Steinberg Jacob. ed.
Introduction to Rumanian Literature. New York: Twayne Publishers, 1966.
Call Number: PC871.E8 S8

These selections, each with its own vision of life, reflect in artistic form, landscapes, cahracters, and customs bearing th specific traits of life led by the Romanian people, a people settled along the northern bank of the Danube and astride the mountain ranges of the Carpathians. The univeral significance of their contribution resides in the authenticity of the life they have endeavored to render.
Source: Botez, Demonstene. "Forward." Introduction to Rumanian Literature. Ed. Jacob Steinberg. New York: Twayne Publshers, 1966. ix-xiv. Print.

Youth Without Youth. Prod. Francis Ford Coppola. Sony, 2008.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .Y78 2008

Romania is on the brink of war with Germany and linguistics professor Dominic Matei has little left to live for. On Easter Day 1938, he crosses the street and is struck by a bolt of lightning. Badly burned and nearly dead, he amazes the doctors by healing in only a short time. He defies science and ages in reverse from 70 to 40. There’s seemingly no limit to the wonder and love he can find in his new youth.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Image Credits and Disclaimer

The book jacket images for Malaparte in Jassy and for Ion are both entirely my artistic creation. For the background of Malaparte in Jassy's book cover I used this image by Andrei Stroe. The image on the "cover" of Ion is based on this photo by "TKSDesign." Both images are available under a Creative Commons License.

Banner box for personal information