Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston: Display -- August 2011

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

On Display -- August 2011

Featured Web Sites

Ashliman, D.L.
Folk Texts: A Library of Folk Tales, Folklore, Fairy Tales, and Mythology.
University of Pittsburgh
http://www.pitt.edu/
~dash/folktexts.html

An endless selection of folk tales and links to folk tales from a variety of cultures, with emphasis on European folk and fairy tales.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Atsma, Aaron J.
Theoi Greek Mythology.
http://www.theoi.com/

Welcome to the Theoi Project, a site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
Source: http://www.theoi.com/

Bullfinch, Thomas
Bullfinch's Mythology.
Bartleby.com
http://www.bartleby.com/
bulfinch/

Written to "teach mythology not as a study but as a relaxation from study," these ageless volumes span the ages: from the Olympus of Zeus and the Valhalla of Thor, to the Round Table of King Arthur and the escapades of Robin Hood.
Source: http://www.bartleby.com/
bulfinch/

Emery, David
Urban Legends.
Liveabout.com
https://www.liveabout.com/
urban-legends-468795

When folklore meets the internet, urban legends gain new vitality. These modern folktales clutter your inbox when it is not full of spam and add extra interest to your Facebook surfing. Learn more about the latest urban legends as well as classics at this site.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Parallel Myths
Legends of the World
Savage Myths

Frazer, James George
The Golden Bough.
Bartleby.com
http://www.bartleby.com/196/

A monumental study in comparative folklore, magic and religion, The Golden Bough shows parallels between the rites and beliefs, superstitions and taboos of early cultures and those of Christianity. It had a great impact on psychology and literature and remains an early classic anthropological resource.
Source: http://www.bartleby.com/196/

Har'El, Zvi
Hans Christian Andersen: Fairy Tales and Stories.
http://hca.gilead.org.il/

A collection of nearly all of Andersen's fairy tales. What makes Andersen's work different from many other folk tales is their Protestant, Christian background and their somewhat modern Scandinavian setting. Note: this site hosts the original stories, and the endings are different from the Disney versions.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Internet Sacred Texts Archive.
Evinty Publishing
http://www.sacred-texts.com
/index.htm

A source for: religious texts, modern mysticism, mythology, legends, and folk tales. Search the menu at the left or the search box at the top of the site.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Myths and Folktales -- Myths.
Curlie.org
http://www.curlie.org
/Arts/Literature
/Myths_and_Folktales
/Myths/

A collection of links to myths from nearly every culture and country.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Schlosser, S.E.
American Folklore.
http://www.americanfolklore.net
/index.html

This folklore site contains retellings of folktales, myths, legends, fairy tales, superstitions, weatherlore, and ghost stories from all over the Americas. Learn answers to those pesky folklore questions that keep you up at night, such as: "Why is a black cat unlucky?" and "Who the heck is Paul Bunyan?" So grab a cup of coffee, pull up a comfy chair, and stay awhile.
Source: http://www.americanfolklore.net

Tales -- Fairy Tales
Curlie.org
http://www.curlie.org/
Society/Folklore
/Literature
/Tales/Fairy_Tales/

Links to fairy tales and sites about fairy tales abound in this well maintained directory.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Legends of the Samurai
Myths of Light
The Snow Maiden
Stories of the Hmong

Left Display Panel
Center Display Panel
Right Display Panel
Wide view of the display case
Long view of the display case

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

Greek Myths
Persian Myths
Fairy and Folk Tales of Ireland
1000 and One Arabian Nights
Wooden Gongs and Drumbeats
The Woman who Married a Lion
Encyclopedia of Native American Mythology
Gullah Folk Tales

World Mythology with picture of Trojan Horse

This display offers a panoply of folk tales, lore, myths, and legend from all corners of the globe. There are books and web sites that feature the tales themselves, and books that take a look at the process and implications of mythmaking and tale telling as well.

To see other displays stop by the DISPLAY ARCHIVE

Books about Myths and Folk Tales

Bierlein, J.F.
Parallel Myths. New York: Ballentine Books, 1994.
Call Number: BL311 .B54 1994

In many ways a worthy successor to Joseph Campbell, Bierlein (The Book of Ages, Ballantine, 1992) introduces and compares myths from many cultures and suggests how we may interpret them to make sense in our world today.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Campbell, Joseph and Marie-Jeanne Abadie.
The Mythic Image. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1981.
Call Number: BL311 .C274 1981

Through the medium of visual art, the book explores the relation of dreams to myth and demonstrates the important differences between oriental and occidental interpretations of dreams and life.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Campbell, Joseph and David Kudler.
Myths of Light: Eastern Metaphors of the Eternal. Novato, CA: New World Library, 2003.
Call Number: BL1033 .C36 2003

Myths of Light collects seven lectures and articles on subjects ranging from the ancient Hindu Vedas to Zen koans, Tantric yoga, and the Tibetan Book of the Dead. A worthy companion to Campbell’s Asian journals, this volume conveys complex insights through warm, accessible storytelling, revealing the intricacies and secrets of his subjects with his typical enthusiasm.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Cavendish, Richard.
Legends of the World. New York: Schocken, 1982.
Call Number: GR79 .L43 1982

Richard Cavendish and a team of some fifty historians and authors pick up where Thomas Bulfinch left off, presenting an equally detailed look at the overviews of the enduring myths and fables of all of mankind's cultures.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Davis, Kenneth C.
Don't Know Much about Mythology: Everything You Need to Know about the Greatest Stories in Human History but Never Learned. New York: Harper, 2006.
Call Number: BL312 .D37 2006

Uses examples ranging from Mount Olympus and the Maya of Central America to ancient Rome and the land of the Norse to share tales and commentary pertaining to mythological creation stories, gods, and heroes.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Doniger, Wendy, Yves Bonnefoy, Gerald Honigsblum, and others.
American, African, and Old European Mythologies. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 1993.
Call Number: BL430 .D5313 1993

Mythologies offers illuminating examples of the workings of myth in the structure of societies past and present—how we create, use, and are guided by systems of myth to answer fundamental questions about ourselves and our world.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Doniger, Wendy.
Splitting the Difference: Gender and Myth in Ancient Greece and India. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 1999.
Call Number: BL325.S42 D65 1999

Respected scholar and writer Wendy Doniger brilliantly traces the many instances of doubling, splitting, and impersonation in ancient Greek and Hindu mythology, comparing, for example, the illusory Sita in many versions of the Ramayana with the illusory Helen of Troy, from Plato to Iris Murdoch. She also touches on later versions of the myths, such as Victorian descendants of Narcissus: Dr. Jekyll and Dorian Gray.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Dorson, Richard Mercer.
Peasant Customs and Savage Myths: Selections from the British Folklorists. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 1968.
Call Number: GR141 .D6 1968b

The British Folklorists describes how the influence of folklore extended into many fields such as literature, history, the classics, archaeology, philology, psychical research, legal and medical antiquities, Scandinavian, Germanic, and Celtic studies, and the history of religions.
Source: http://www.press.uchicago.edu/
index.html

Frazer, James George.
The Golden Bough: A Study in Magic and Religion. New York: MacMillan, 1963.
Call Number: BL310 .F72 1963

The thesis on the origins of magic and religion that it elaborates "will be long and laborious," Frazer warns readers, "but may possess something of the charm of a voyage of discovery, in which we shall visit many strange lands, with strange foreign peoples, and still stranger customs."
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Hart, George.
Egyptian Myths. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 1990.
Call Number: BL2441.2 .H38 1990

The rich panorama of ancient Egyptian mythology has survived through tomb paintings, temple inscriptions, and papyri. This account begins with the creation legends of Heliopolis, Memphis, and Hermopolis and illustrates the intellectual struggles of the Egyptians to explain the beginning of the world.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Jones, Danvid M. and Brian Molyneaux.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of American Indian Mythology: Legends, Gods and Spirits of North, Central, and South America. London: Lorenz, 2009.
Call Number: Decatur on Order

An accessible A-to-Z format provides concise, easy-to-locate entries on more than 600 characters, enabling the reader to discover who is who in the mythology of the Americas.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Jones, Danvid M. and Brian Molyneaux
Mythology of the American Nations: an Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Gods, Heroes, Spirits, Sacred Places, Rituals, and Ancient Beliefs of the North American Indian, Inuit, Aztec, Inca, and Maya Nations. London: Hermes House, 2004.
Call Number: E59.R38 J66 2004

An illustrated encyclopedia of the gods, heroes, spirits, sacred places, rituals and ancient beliefs of the North American Indian, Inuit, Aztec, Inca and Maya nations.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Leviton, Richard.
Encyclopedia of Earth Myths: An Insider's A-Z Guide to Maythic People, Places, Objects, and Events Central to the Earth's Visionary Geography. Charlottesville, VA: Hampton roads Pub. Co., 2005.
Call Number: BL312 .L48 2005

An A-Z look at cultural tales from around the world that reflect the true spiritual nature of the planet and our relation to it.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

McGlathery, James M. and Larry W. Danielson, Ruth E. Lorbe, and Selma K. Richardson. Eds.
The Brothers Grimm and Folktale. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 1988.
Call Number: PT921 .B76 1988

Papers from the International Bicentenary Symposium on the Brothers Grimm held Apr. 10-12, 1986 at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Includes index.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Sato, Hiroaki.
Legends of the Samurai. Woodstock, NY: Overlook Press, 1995.
Call Number: DS827.S3 S36 1995

In Legends of the Samurai, Sato confronts both the history and the legend of the samurai, untangling the two to present an authentic picture of these legendary warriors.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Wetmore, Kevin J. Jr.
Black Dionysus: Greek Tragedy and African American Theatre. Jefferson, NC: McFarland and Co., 2003.
Call Number: PS338.N4 W48 2003

Many playwrights, authors, poets and historians have used images, metaphors and references to and from Greek tragedy, myth and epic to describe the African experience in the New World. The complex relationship between ancient Greek tragedy and modern African American theatre is primarily rooted in America, where the connection between ancient Greece and ancient Africa is explored and debated the most.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Willis, Roy G. Ed.
World Mythology. New York: H. Holt, 1996.
Call Number: Dunwoody Reference BL311 .W66 1996

Here, noted mythology expert Roy Willis, brings together a team of nineteen leading scholars navigate a clear path through the complexities of myth as they distill the essence of each regional tradition and focus on the most significant figures and the most enthralling stories.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Woolf, Greg Ed.
Ancient Civilizations: The Illustrated Guide to Belief, Mythology London: D. Baird, 2005.
Call Number:CB311 .A526 2005b

From the dazzling temples of the Acropolis to the strange and enigmatic glyphs of the Maya, Ancient Civilizations takes readers on a fascinating journey back in time. This richly illustrated book explores the beliefs, rituals, arts and myths of ancient cultures across the world, beginning with the first civilizations of the Fertile Crescent and progressing to the early Middle Ages. Informative, accessible text and gorgeous, detailed photographs of art work and sacred sites give readers real insight into our ancient ancestors' daily lives.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

European Myths and Folk Tales

Aldhouse-Green, Miranda J.
Celtic Myths. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 1993.
Call Number: BL900 .G729 1993

Celtic Myths explores the mythology and beliefs of the pagan Celts between about 600 B.C. and A.D. 400. At their peak, the Celtic peoples inhabited a vast area of Europe, Great Britain, and Ireland. As non-literates, they have left no written record of their lives, their beliefs, and the stories which were such an important part of their culture; however, contemporary commentators from the Classical world, later Christian scribes recording oral traditions, and the archaeological evidence can give us fascinating, though fragmented, glimpses.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Burn, Lucilla.
Greek Myths. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 1990.
Call Number: BL782 .B86 1990

Here retold in all their dramatic power are some of the most exciting and influential of all Greek myths: the epic struggle of the Trojan War, the wanderings of Odysseus, the tragic destiny of Oedipus, and the heroic adventures of Herakles, Theseus, Perseus, and Jason. The author introduces the complex pantheon of Olympian gods and goddesses, describing their attributes, genealogies, and often comic relationships, and illustrates the personalities and their stories by drawing upon the artistry of the ancient culture which created them.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Glassie, Henry Ed.
Irish Folktales. New York: Pantheon Books, 1997.
Call Number: GR153.5 .I75 1997

The folktales of Irish history, faith, mystery and magic as well as the traditional "Fireside Tales" Features saints, fairies, ghosts, animals, elves and witches.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Graf, Fritz.
Greek Mythology: An Introduction. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopikns University Press, 1996.
Call Number: BL782 .G6713 1996

This revised translation of Fritz Graf's highly acclaimed introduction to Greek mythology offers a chronological account of the principal Greek myths that appear in the surviving literary and artistic sources and concurrently documents the history of interpretation of Greek mythology from the 17th century to the present.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Hamilton, Edith and Steele Savage.
Mythology. Boston, MA: Little Brown and Company, 1942.
Call Number: BL310 .H3

Since its original publication by Little, Brown & Company in 1942, this author's Mythology has sold millions of copies throughout the world and established itself as a perennial bestseller in its various available formats: hardcover, trade paperback, and mass market paperback. Mythology succeeds like no other book in bringing to life for the modern reader the Greek, Roman, and Norse myths and legends that are the keystone of Western culture - the stories of gods and heroes that have inspired human creativity from antiquity to the present.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

March, Jennifer, R.
The Penguin Book of Classical Myths. New York: Penguin, 2009.
Call Number: BL723 .M37 2009

The myths of ancient Greece and Rome are the most dramatic and unforgettable tales of love, war, heroism, and betrayal ever told. Whether it’s Icarus flying too close to the sun, Prometheus stealing fire from the gods, or the tragedy of Oedipus, their characters have inspired art, literature, plays, and films. Now, renowned classics scholar Jenny March presents a dazzling reinterpretation of these time-honored myths. br> Source: http://us.penguingroup.com

Back to the top of the page.

Marshall, Bonnie C.
The Snow Maiden and other Russian Tales. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2004.
Call Number: GR203.17 .M37 2004

In this delightful collection, you'll find more than 30 Russian tales—animal tales, fairy tales, tales of everyday life, and tales of spirits and the supernatural. You'll discover new renditions of familiar and beloved tales, as well as a number of obscure spirit tales, which were officially ignored by the Soviets. There are tales for all ages and tastes—funny stories, scary stories, and stories to make you think.
Source: http://www.powells.com

Osborn, Kevin and Dana Burgess.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Classical Mythology. New York: Alpha Books, 1998.
Call Number: BL722 .O83 1998

When folks allude to Phaedra, does your brain draw a blank? When conversation turns to the works of Pindar, do you wax noncommittal while waiting for a clue? That kind of trepidation puts a real pall on enjoying the humanity, magic, and humor of classic myths; taking you past that is what the Idiot's Guide series does best. They explore the roots of mythology, introduce the Greek and Roman gods and heroes, and tell a lot of great stories.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Warner, Elizabeth.
Russian Myths. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 2002.
Call Number: BL930 .W37 2002

Russian Myths deals with mythic beliefs, notions, and customs—concerning the veneration of earth, water, fire, and air, demons and spirit-beings in the world of nature, the cult of the dead, and witchcraft—many of which have their roots in the pre-Christian past but still survive to the present day.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Yeats, W. B
Irish Fairy and Folk Tales. New York: Modern Library, 19??
Call Number: GR153.5 .Y4

Gathered by the renowned Irish poet, playwright, and essayist William Butler Yeats, the sixty-five tales and poems in this delightful collection uniquely capture the rich heritage of the Celtic imagination. Filled with legends of village ghosts, fairies, demons, witches, priests, and saints, these stories evoke both tender pathos and lighthearted mirth and embody what Yeats describes as "the very voice of the people, the very pulse of life."
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Myths and Folk Tales from the Middle East and Africa

Burton, Richard F. and Jack Zipes.
Arabian Nights. Vol 1: The Marvels and Wonders of the Thousanda nd One Nights. New York: Signet Classics, 2007.
Call Number: PJ7716.A1 B8 2007

Including "Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves," and "Aladdin and the Magic Lamp," this modern edition of the classic tales weaves a tapestry of stories that are filled with humorous and valuable lessons and magical adventures.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Bushnaq, Inea.
Arab Folktales. New York: Pantheon Books, 1986.
Call Number: GR268.A73 A73 1986

Because this collection of folktales covers the entire Arab world from Morocco to Iraq, no other contemporary collection fills the niche it does. It is divided into six sections in categories such as animal tales or adventure tales. Sectional introductions provide the cultural background useful for interpreting the tales. The approximately 130 tales vary considerably in length and portray heroes and villains, corruption and nobility equally.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Campbell, C.G. and John Buckland Wright.
Folktales from Iraq: A Collection of the Stories told by the Arab Tribes of the Lower Euphrates. Philadelphia, PA: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2005.
Call Number: GR295.I7 C35 2005

Who would not shudder when entering the skeleton-lined cave of the queen of the dead? How would a young man and his sister escape from the prison of a treacherous sultan? How would a poor farmer gain the hand of the beautiful daughter of the wealthiest sheik? These and thirteen more tales are spun in this stunning collection of sixteen traditional stories from the Shia tribes of southern Iraq.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Curtis, Vesta Sarkhosh.
Persian Myths. Austin, TX: University of Texas, 1993.
Call Number: BL2270 .C87 1993

The traditional tales and stories of ancient Iran, which occupied a vast area of Central Asia, describe confrontations between good and evil, the victories of the gods, and the exploits of heroes and fabulous supernatural creatures such as the magical bird Simergh and the dev or black demons.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Edgecomb, Diane and M.A. Ozel Ceto.
A Fire in the Heart: Kurdish Tales. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2007.
Call Number:GR271.K85 E34 2007

A rich offering of traditional Kurdish tales, many never before offered in English, plus background information on the people, their culture, and history.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Maspero, G. and Hasan M. El-Shamy.
Popular Stories of Ancient Egypt. Santa Barabara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2002.
Call Number: GR355 .M37 2002

The tales of ancient Egypt have for centuries delighted and spurred the imagination of anyone who loves a good story, yet sadly, many of these tales have fallen into obscurity over the years. Now these stories have been brought back to life for a new generation of readers.
Source: http://www.oup.com/us/

Muhawi, Ibrahim and Sharif Kanaana.
Speak Bird, Speak Again: Panlestinian Arab Folktales. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 1989.
Call Number:GR285 .S64 1989

Were it simply a collection of fascinating, previously unpublished folktales, Speak, Bird, Speak Again: Palestinian Arab Folktales would merit praise and attention because of its cultural rather than political approach to Palestinian studies. But it is much more than this. By combining their respective expertise in English literature and anthropology, Ibrahim Muhawi and Sharif Kanaana bring to these tales an integral method of study that unites a sensitivity to language with a deep appreciation for culture.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Onuchukwu, Dahi Chris.
Wooden Gongs and Drumbeats: African Folktales, Proverbs, and Idioms. London: Adonis & Abbey, 2003.
Call Number: GR350 .O58 2003

"Once upon a time", he begins, drawing out the words slowly. "And time came upon time", the group replies. "The tortoise and the he-goat used to be best friends", began the old man, a dry smile of superior wisdom on his lower lip." The above is one of the many traditional African storytelling scenes, which Wooden Gongs and Drumbeats seeks to recapture. Funny, witty, light-hearted and highly amusing, Dahi also brings together some of the idioms and proverbs commonly used in Africa. These are, as they say, the salt with which prudent speakers spice words and statements. Their measured and apt usages are also widely regarded as the hallmarks of sober oratory. A must-read to all interested in understanding the African worldview!
Source: http://www.bol.com

Scheub, Harold.
A Dictionary of African Mythology: The Mythmaker as Storyteller. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
Call Number: BL2400 .S24 2000

Scheub offers an unprecedented collection of 400 stories, arranged alphabetically, that touch on virtually every aspect of religious belief. Here are gods and goddesses, epic heroes and divine tricksters, along with epics of the world's origins, the struggle between the human and the divine, and much more.
Source: http://www.powells.com

Smith, Alexander McCall.
The Girl who Married a Lion and Other Tales from Africa. New York: Pantheon Books, 2004.
Call Number: GR358.62.N34 M23 2004

Brings together a treasury of traditional African folktales and lore from the Ndebele people of Zimbabwe and the Setswana people of Botswana, including "Milk Bird," "Why Elephant and Hyena Live Far from People," and other fables.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Myths and Folk Tales from Asia

Cha, Dia and Norma J. Livo.
. Folk Stories of the Hmong: Peoples of Laos, Thailand, and Vietnam. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1991.
Call Number: GR308.5.H67 F65 1991

Describes the culture of the Hmong people, and gathers some of their folk tales
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Davis, F. Hadland.
Myths and Legends of Japan. New York: Dover Publications, 1992.
Call Number: GR340 .D3 1992

This handsomely illustrated book includes myths of gods, heroes, warriors; legends of Buddha, Benten and Daikoku; tales of the sea and of Mount Fuji; accounts of superstitions; and much more.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Davison, Gary Marvin.
Tales from the Taiwanese. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited 2004.
Call Number: GR338 .D38 2004

A wonderful sampling of more than 20 Taiwanese tales that appeal to all ages—from how and why stories, humorous tales, and animal tales to stories that demonstrate Taiwanese values and ethics. Also includes a brief history of the island, discussion questions, and activity ideas to extend learning and enjoyment; as well as simple Taiwanese recipes, color photos, and traditional drawings.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Han, Carolyn J.
The Demon King and other Festival Folktales of China. Honolulu, HI: University of Hawaii Press, 1995.
Call Number: GR335 .H363 1995

The stories included in this collection take readers of all ages on a fascinating journey to the remote villages of four minority groups living within China's borders, each with its own language, beliefs, festivals, and folktales.
Source: http://www.powells.com

MacDonald, Margaret Read and Murti Bunanta.
Indonesian Folktales. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2003.
Call Number: GR320 .I473 2003

Twenty-nine tales provide a moving and colorful image of the diversity and richness of the people and lands of Indonesia.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Nhat Hanh, Thich.
A Taste of the Earth and Other Legends of Vietnam. Berkeley, CA: Parallax, 1993.
Call Number: GR313 .N4813 1993

A Taste of Earth is the retelling of twelve traditional stories. It provides an introduction to the rich mythology of Vietnamese culture.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Myths and Folk Tales from the Americas

Almeida, Liva de., Ana Portella, and Margaret Read.
Brazilian Folktales Westport, CT:Libraries Unlimited, 2006.
Call Number:GR133.B6 A435 2006

Drawing on the varied cultural traditions and ethnic diversity of the country, this collection offers readers a rich brew of traditional Brazilian tales--from creation stories and stories of enchantment to animal and trickster tales. More than 40 stories are included, along with background information, color photographs, recipes, and games.
Source: http://www.bn.com

Barlow, Genevieve.
Stories from Latin America. New York: McGraw Hill, 2010.
Call Number: PC4127.L4 B35 2010

These enduring legends offer insights into the history and culture of Latin American countries. For ease of comprehension, they are told in both Spanish and English, on facing pages.
Source: http://www.bn.com

Green, Thomas A. Ed.
African American Folktales. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2009.
Call Number: GR111.A47 A37 2009

African American culture has a rich tradition of folktales. Written for students and general readers, this volume gathers a sampling of the most important African American folktales. Included are nearly 50 tales grouped in thematic chapters on origins; heroes, heroines, villains, and fools; society and conflict; and the supernatural.
Source: http://www.bn.com

Jones, Charles Colcock and Sullsan Millar Williams.
Gullah Follktales from the Georgia Cost. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2000.
Call Number: GR111.A47 J69 2000

Through Jones' rendering of the sound and syntax of nineteenth-century Gullah, the lively stories describe the adventures and mishaps of such characters as "Buh Rabbit," "Buh Ban-Yad Rooster," and other animals. The tales range from the humorous to the instructional and include stories of the "sperits," Daddy Jupiter's "vision," a dying bullfrog's last wish, and others about how "buh rabbit gained sense" and "why the turkey buzzard won't eat crabs."
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Killon, Ronald G. and Charles T. Waller.
A Treasury of Georgia Folk-lore. Atlanta, GA: Cherokee Pub. Co., 1972.
Call Number: GR110.G4 K54

Anyone reared in rural or small-town Georgia before World War II will remember much of this material. The reader who is unfamiliar with the rural South, or too young to have experienced the joys of a pre-1940 Georgia youth, will find this book to be a collection of the oral traditions which have almost disappeared.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Parsons, Elsie Worthington Clews.
Folk-lore of the Sea Islands, South Carolina. Chicago, IL: Afro-Am Press, 1969.
Call Number: GR110.S6 P3 1969

A collection of over a hundred tales, songs, riddles, and Sea Island folk customs.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Back to the top of the page.

Myths and Folk Tales from the Entire World

Adams, Richard.
The Unbroken Web: Stories and Fables. New York: Crown, 1980.
Call Number: PR6051.D345 U5 1980

In The Unbroken Web (aka The Iron Wolf) he [Richard Adams] frames his re-telling of many different classic tales from around the world in the guise of how a story is actually told: starting with people who have time on their hands, a story teller takes up the torch, they create a segue to intrigue the listener, then spinning the yarn.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Bini, Renata and Michael Fiodorov.
A World Treasury of Myths, Legends, and Folktales: Stories from Six Continents. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 2000.
Call Number: BL311 .B5613 2000

A collection of myths and legends from many different cultures around the world, including those of ancient Greece and the Great Plains Indians.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Bulfinch, Thomas.
Bulfinch's Mythology. New York: HarperCollins, 1991.
Call Number: BL310 .B82 1991

For almost a century and a half, Bulfinch's Mythology has been the text by which the great tales of the gods and goddesses, Greek and Roman antiquity; Scandinavian, Celtic, and Oriental fables and myths, and the age of chivalry have been known.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Hathaway, Nancy.
The Friendly Guide to Mythology: A Mortal's Companion to the Fantastical Realm of Gods, Godesses, Monsters, and Heroes. New York: Penguin Books, 2002.
Call Number: BL311 .H38 2002

Focusing on Greek and Roman mythology but including myths from Africa, Asia, Australia, northern Europe, and the Americas, The Friendly Guide to Mythology is filled with compelling stories of gods, goddesses, mortals, and monsters.
Source: http://us.penguingroup.com/

MacDonald, Margaret Read.
Celebrate the World: Twenty Tellable Folktales for Multicultural Festivals. Bronx, NY: H.W. Wilson, 1994.
Call Number: GR76 .M33 1994

A collection of folktales for use in programs celebrating holidays around the world offers tales from China, Japan, the Middle East, West Africa, the United States, and other areas.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Olcott, William Tyler.
Myths of the Sun: Sun Lore for All Ages. New York: Capricorn Books, 1967.
Call Number: BL325.S8 O5 1967

A survey of solar mythology, folklore, customs, worship, festivals, and superstition, by William Tyler Olcott. Sun worship, in its most primitive form, lies at the foundation of our earliest mythologies and religions.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Traven, B. and Alberto Beltran.
The Creation of the Sun and the Moon. Westport, CT: Lawrence Hill, 1977.
Call Number: PT3919.T7 C72 1977

A retelling of an ancient Mexican Indian legend about how the sun and the moon were created from bits of stars gathered by two brave warriors.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information