Skip to main content

On Display at Clarkston: 2011

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

Display -- December 2011

Featured Web Sites

The Beliefnet Guide to Christmas
http://www.beliefnet.com/
Faiths/Christianity/F
Christmas/
Beliefnet-Guide-
to-Christmas.aspx

Beliefnet.

Articles on both the secular and religious aspects of Christmas along with quizzes, recipes, blog posts, and more.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

NY Times Topics -- Christmas
http://topics.nytimes.com/top/
reference/timestopics/
subjects/c/
christmas/index.html

New York Times.

News about Christmas, including commentary and archival articles.
Source: http://topics.nytimes.com/top/
reference/timestopics/
subjects/c/
christmas/index.html

NY times Topics -- Christmas Recipes
http://topics.nytimes.com/
top/reference/
timestopics/subjects/
c/christmas/
christmas_recipes/index.html

New York TimesK

Recipes, slide shows, articles and more from The Times to help you prepare for holiday celebrations.
Source: http://topics.nytimes.com/
top/reference/
timestopics/subjects/
c/christmas/
christmas_recipes/index.html

Kwanzaa: Black Power and the Mkaing of an African American Holiday Tradition
A Harvest of World Folktales

The Beliefnet Guide to Hannukah
http://www.beliefnet.com/
Faiths/Judaism/
Hanukkah/index.aspx

Beliefnet.

Features articles on the story of Hannukah, rules for observance, and also has recipes, videos, and links to blogs and related sites.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

New York Times Slide Show -- Hannukah Recipes
http://www.nytimes.com/
slideshow/2009/12/08/
dining/
hanukkah-slideshow.html?
ref=hanukkah

New York Times.

A slide show with images of and links to nineteen recipes for the Jewish festival of lights. Note: the New York Times has a twenty item limit for free access.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

NY Times Topics -- Hannukah
http://topics.nytimes.com/
topics/reference/
timestopics/subjects/h/
hanukkah/
index.html

New York Times.

News about Hanukkah, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.
Source: http://topics.nytimes.com/
topics/reference/
timestopics/subjects/h/
hanukkah/
index.html

Kwanzaa
http://www.beliefnet.com/
Love-Family/Holidays/
Kwanzaa/index.aspx

Beliefnet

An explanation of Kwanzaa's history and the meaning behind the celebrations. Also offers links to additional sites, and how to's for celebrating this African-American holiday.
Source: Eileen H Kramer

NY Times Topics -- Kwanzaa
http://topics.nytimes.com/topics/
reference/timestopics/subjects/k/
kwanzaa/index.html

New York Times

News about Kwanzaa, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.
Source: http://topics.nytimes.com/topics/
reference/timestopics/subjects/k/
kwanzaa/index.html

The Beliefnet Guide to Ramadan 2011
http://www.beliefnet.com/
Faiths/Islam/
Ramadan.aspx

Beliefnet

A collection of articles, prayers, recipes, and blog entries about the Moslem holy month.
Source: Eileen H Kramer

Huda
What Holidays do Muslims Celebrate?
http://islam.about.com/
od/holidays/f/
holidays.htm

About.com

Explains both major and minor Moslem holidays, the Islamic Calendar, and also offers links to other sites with more information.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Holidays and Sabbats
http://www.beliefnet.com/
Faiths/Pagan-and-Earth-Based/M
Holidays-and-Sabbats.aspx

Beliefnet

Explains the major and minor Sabbats of the Pagan/Wiccan solar calendar including Yule which is the winter solstice.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Jenks, Kathleen
Mythinglinks' Yuletide Around the World
http://www.mythinglinks.org/
wintersolstice~
YuleLinks.html

Mythinglinks

An annotated and illustrated collection of worldwide links to mythologies.
Source: http://www.mythinglinks.org/
wintersolstice~
YuleLinks.html

wide view of case

long view of case

left display panel

right display panel

Click on any of the thumbnail images below to see a full size image. Full size images pop up in another window.

cloved orange logo for World Holidays

This display offers books and web sites about holidays in many traditions and all around the world. Materials cover: holiday history, religious aspects, folklore, cooking, decoarting, and entertaining. Have a happy and joyous holiday season!

To see other displays stop by the DISPLAY ARCHIVE

Stories Behind Holidays

Brandes, Stanley H.
Skulls to the Living, Bread to the Dead: The Day of teh Dead in Mexico and Beyond. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2006.
Call Number: GT4995.A4 B73 2006

Each October, as the Day of the Dead draws near, Mexican markets overflow with decorated breads, fanciful paper cutouts, and whimsical toy skulls and skeletons. To honor deceased relatives, Mexicans decorate graves and erect home altars. Drawing on a rich array of historical and ethnographic evidence, this volume reveals the origin and changing character of this celebrated holiday. It explores the emergence of the Day of the Dead as a symbol of Mexican and Mexican-American national identity.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Dennis, Matthew, Ed.
Encyclopedia of Holidays and Celebrations: A Country-by-Country Guide. New York: Facts on File, 2006.
Call Number: Reference GT3930 .E53 2006

An introduction to world religious and secular holidays, with an emphasis on the ways in which they inform us about different cultures.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Etzioni, Amitai and Jared Bloom Eds.
We are What we Celebrate: Understanding Holidays and Rituals. New York: New York University Press, 2004.
Call Number: GT3930 .W37 2004

How did Martin Luther King Jr.'s birthday become a national holiday? Why do we exchange presents on Christmas and Chanukah? What do bunnies have to do with Easter? How did Earth Day become a global holiday? These questions and more are answered in this fascinating exploration into the history and meaning of holidays and rituals.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Garciagodoy, Juanita.
Digging the Days of the Dead: A Reading of Mexico's Dias de Muertos. Niwot, CO: University Press of Colorado, 1998.
Call Number: Ebooks on EBSCOHost GT4995.A4 G37 1998

In Digging the Days of the Dead, Juanita Garciagodoy depicts various aspects of the celebration - including Prehispanic and Spanish Catholic traces on its development as well as folk and popular culture versions - and describes its changing place in contemporary Mexico.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Heiligman, Deborah and Neguin Yavari.
Celebrate Ramadan & Eid al-Fitr. Washington, DC: National Geographic, 2006.
Call Number: Dunwoody Youth BP186.4 .H45 2006

Describes what Ramadan is, how Muslims celebrate this month-long holiday, and how it ends with the celebratory festival of Eid al-Fitr.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

MacDonald, Margaret Read.
Celebrate the World: Twenty Tellable Folktales for Multicultural Festvals. Bronx, NY: H.W. Wilson, 1994.
Call Number: GR76 .M33 1994

A collection of folktales for use in programs celebrating holidays around the world offers tales from China, Japan, the Middle East, West Africa, the United States, and other areas.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

MacDonald, Margaret Read Ed.
The Folklore of World Holidays. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1992.
Call Number: Reference GT3930 .F65 1992

This compilation explains the folklore surrounding 340 holidays in over 150 countries, excluding the United States.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Skulls to the Living Bread to teh Dead We are What We Celebrate Celebrate Ramadan

Back to the top of the page.

Matthews, John and Caitlin Matthews.
The Winter Solstice: The Sacred Traditions of Christmas. Wheaton, IL: Quest Books, 1998.
Call Number: GT4995.W55 M37 1998

Many of us long for an alternative to the commercial industry Christmas has become. This beautifully illustrated, full-color book, brimming with folklore, stories, recipes, games, activities, decorating ideas, songs, and other resources, will help families who are "burned out" on Christmas create alternative celebrations more in keeping with the heartful spirit of the original Winter Solstice festivals.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Mayes, Keith A.
Kwanzaa: Black Power and the Making of the African-American Holiday Tradition. New York: Routledge, 2009.
Call Number: GT4403 .M39 2009

Kwanzaa: Black Power and the Making of the African-American Holiday Tradition explores the political beginning and later expansion of Kwanzaa, from its start as a Black Power holiday, to its current place as one of the most mainstream of the black holiday traditions.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Riley, Dorothy Winbush.
The Complete Kwanzaa: Celebrating our Cultural Harvest. New York: HarperCollins, 1995.
Call Number: GT4403 .R56 1995

For millions of African Americans, the week after Christmas is a time to celebrate Kwanzaa by reflecting upon seven principles, among them creativity, cooperation, and faith, which are considered the foundation of successful societies. Riley elaborates upon each of these principles through a combination of first-person narratives, poetry, folktales, quotations, and proverbs.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Roy, Christian.
Traditional Festivals: A Multicultural Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2005.
Call Number: Reference GT3925 .R69 2005

This compact set contains alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 festivals celebrated in various parts of the world. The major feasts of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam are described in detail, as are many other important celebrations. Lesser-known festivals include the Ainu Bear Festival of Japan and the Òsun Festival of Yoruba, as well as those celebrated in the ancient civilizations of Greece, Rome, and Mesopotamia and by the Aztec and the Maya.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Rugoff, Milton.
A Harvest of World Folktales. New York: Viking Press, 1949.
Call Number: GR25 .R8 1949

This work features over six hundred pages of myths, poetry, tall tales, from all over the world including the United States. Note: the editor considers folk tales from all the former Soviet Republics as Russian.
Source: Eileen H. Kramer

Straalen, Alice van.
The Book of Holidays Around the World. New York: Dutton, 1986.
Call Number: Reference GT3933 .V36 1986

Presents chronologically an event to celebrate each day of the year, e.g. January 3, Birthday of J.R.R. Tolkien; May 12, the Cat Festival in Belgium; and October 24, United Nations Day.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Folklore of World Holidays Entertaining 101

Tay, Kathlyn.
African-American Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations: The History, Customs, and Symbols Associated with both Traditional and Contemporary Religious and Secular Events Observed by Americans of African Descent. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 2007.
Call Number: GT4803.A2 G39 2007

Provides information about the history and celebration of more than 100 holidays, festivals, and other events observed by Americans of African descent. Features include narrative overviews, chronology of historical events related to holidays and festivals, calendar and geographical listings of observances, bibliography, and contact information and web sites.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Thompson, Sue Ellen and Barbara W. Carlson, Comps.
Holidays Festivals and Celebrations of teh World Dictionary: Detailing More than 1,400 Observances from all 50 States and More than 100 Nations. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 1994.
Call Number: Reference GT3925 .T46 1994

A compendious reference guide to popular, ethnic, religious, national, and ancient holidays, festivals, celebrations, commemorations, holy days, feasts, and fasts, supplemented by a special section on calendar systems, tables of state and national public holidays, special indexes of chronological, cultural and ethnic, geographic, historical, religious, and sports holidays, and a general and key-word index.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Thompson, Sue Ellen, Ed.
Holiday Symbols 1998: A Guide to teh Legend and Lore Behind the People, Places, Food, Animals, and Other Symbols Associated wtih Holidays and Holy Days, Feasts and Fasts, and Other Celebrations, Covering Popular, Ethnic, Religious, National, and Ancient Events as Observed in teh United States and Around the World. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 1998.
Call Number: GT3930 .T48 1998

The new edition of Holiday Symbols describes more than 900 symbols and customs associated with 224 holidays and celebrations in the United States and around the world. The book describes the origins, customs, traditions, and history of each symbol and explains its modern significance. It also presents valuable background information about each holiday, including when and where it is observed, its origins, associated colors, and related holidays.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Thompson, Sue Ellen.
Holiday Symbols and Customs. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 2003.
Call Number: Reference GT3930 .T48 2003

A guide to the legend and lore behind the traditions, rituals, foods, games, animals, and other symbols and activities associated with holidays and holy days, feasts and fasts, and other celebrations, covering calendar, ethnic, religious, historic, cultural, national, promotional, sporting, and ancient events, as observed in the United States and around the world.
Source: http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Celebrating Holidays

Copage, Eric V.
Kwanzaa: An African-American Celebration of Culture and Cooking. New York: Quill, 1991.
Call Number: Dunwoody TX715 .C7865 1991b

Contained in these pages are all the components you need for a meaningful Kwanzaa celebration with ritual and food.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Copage, Eric V.
. Fruits of the Harvest: Recipes to Celebrate Kwanzaa and other Holidays. New York: Amistad, 2005.
Call Number: Decatur TX715 .C7865 2005

Fruits of the Harvest: Recipes to Celebrate Kwanzaa and Other Holidays offers more than 125 treasured recipes from people of African descent all over the world: Jerked Pork Chops and Fresh Papaya Chutney from Jamaica; New-Fashioned Fried Chicken, a dish from the Deep South; and Tiebou Dienne, Senegalese herb-stuffed fish steaks with seasoned rice.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Eckhardt, Linda West and Kathrine West DeFoyd
Entertaining 101: Everything you Need to Know to Entertain Guests with Style and Grace. New York: Doubleday, 1997.
Call Number: TX731 .E25 1997

In Entertaining 101, mother and daughter Linda West Eckhardt and Katherine West DeFoyd provide all the information anyone will need to throw a terrific party at home.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Gayler, Paul.
The World in Bite-Size: Tapas, Mezze, and other Tasty Morsels. Lanham, MD: Kyle Books, 2008.
Call Number: TX740 .G39 2008

Globe-trotting gourmand Gayler (A Passion for Vegetables, The Gourmet Burger, Hot! Hot! Hot!: Cooking With Fire and Spice) has compiled a terrific collection of small dishes in this voluminous, mouthwatering guide to appetizers from around the world.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Kempner, Nan.
R.S.V.P.: Menus for Entertaining People who Really Know How. New York: Clarkston Potter, 2000.
Call Number: TX731 .K4325 2000

New York hostess extraordinaire and inveterate guest of some of the world's most accomplished, Nan Kempner offers a tantalizing glimpse into the homes -- and entertaining philosophies -- of more than two dozen of her favorite hosts and hostesses.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Healthy Cooking for the Jewish Home The Whole Christmas Catalogue RVSP Menus for Entertaining

Kronfeld, Myra.
The Healthy Hedonist Holidays: A Year of Multicutlrual, Vegetarian-friendly, Holiday Feasts. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2007.
Call Number: Newton TX714 .K655 2007

Featuring fresh seasonal ingredients, whole grains, natural sugars, and creative seasonings, these flavorful feasts will leave guests feeling satisfied -- without the guilt that usually accompanies holiday indulgence. Each menu offers both a vegetarian and fish or poultry main course, and a range of side dishes, appetizers, and desserts that can be used in any combination to accommodate individual tastes.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Levy, Faye.
Healthy Cooking for the Jewish Home: 200 Recipes for Eating Well on the Holidays and Every Day. New York: William Morrow, 2008.
Call Number: Decatur TX724 .L415 2008

In this new collection of exciting recipes, acclaimed journalist, cooking teacher, and cookbook author Faye Levy presents a progressive, upbeat approach to nutritious kosher cuisine that highlights the pleasure of preparing and eating mouthwatering dishes that promote well-being.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Rombauer, Irma S., Marion Rombauer Becker, and Ethan Becker.
Joy of Cooking: All About Party Foods & Drinks. New York: Scribner, 2002.
Call Number: TX740 .R575 2002

This guide presents everything you need to be the perfect and attentive host with more than 90 favourite (sic) recipes with information on popular mixed drinks and non-alcoholic beverages.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Tern Enterprises Inc
The Whole Christmas Catalogue. Tuscon, AZ: HPBooks, 1986.
Call Number: GT4985 .W46 1986

A fully illustrated gift book features more than fifty Christmas recipes, as well as a step-by-step guide to making personal gifts, a selection of classic carols and stories, and a look at the origins of special holiday traditions.
Source: http://www.amazon.com

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information