Skip to main content

Primary Sources - History: General Research Guide: Archives

This guide is for students seeking original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories.

GA Archival Repositories


 The Society of Georgia Archivists provides links to selected archival repositories in the State of Georgia.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)

WorldCat (FirstSearch) includes information on archival holdings.

For best results, search by name or other proper noun.

Select "Archival Materials" in Advanced Search interface.

Local Archives (Distance may enable a visit to the physical site)

GSU Library Special Collections and Archives  Located on the 8th floor of Library South. Collection areas are Southern Labor, Popular Music, Women's Collections, Georgia Government Documentation Project, University Archives, Rare Books, and Photographs.

Atlanta History Center Archives (Kenan Research Center) Collects primary and secondary source materials in all formats conveying the history of Atlanta and the culture of the American south.  Besides Atlanta materials, collection strengths include the Civil War, southeast family history, architecture & decorative arts, and garden history.

Georgia Archives  Run by the Archives & History Division of the Georgia government - collects, manages, and preserves official records of Georgia from 1732 to the present. Materials include vital records, land records, federal and state census records, photographs, and much more.

Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History  A division of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System - the nation's second largest archives specializing in the history of African Americans and Africans in the Diaspora. Collection info

The William Breman Jewish Heritage & Holocaust Museum  This cultural center and archive collects artifacts and information about Jewish history.  Areas of strength include the Holocaust and the experience of Jews in the Southeast, particularly Georgia and Alabama.

Emory University's Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (MARBL)  Collections span more than 800 years of history — with particular depth in modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South.

Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library of the University of Georgia  Includes the Rare Book Collection, Historical Manuscripts, and the Georgiana Collection. Subject interests include Georgia, book arts, theater, music, history, literature, journalism and genealogy.

Jimmy Carter Library & Museum  Part of the Presidential Library system administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration

National Archives - Southeast Region, Atlanta  Regional library administered by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration