Skip to main content

Primary Sources - History: General Research Guide: Find Articles

This guide is for students seeking original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories.

Accessing GALILEO

Archives and Primary Resources in GALILEO

For a list of databases that include books, documents, photographs, videos, and other primary sources, view this page:

Web Sites with Primary Sources

Here are several websites of collected primary sources covering many topics of history.

- Avalon Project (World History)

- American Memory (American History) Library of Congress

- Digital History (University of Houston)

- The History Collection (University of Wisconsin)

- History Matters (George Mason University)

- The Lost Museum (City University of New York)

Finding periodicals for your project

Periodicals - magazines, journals, and newspapers - written during the time period under study are excellent primary sources.

Identify useful periodicals for your topic:

  • Check magazine/newspaper directories and bibliographies
  • Skim footnotes in the secondary literature for periodical titles
  • Consult histories of the press or similar works

Search library catalogs for periodical titles to locate print, microfilm or online copies.

For journal holdings in GIL, use the Journals tab on the homepage, or, in Classic GIL, the Exact Journal Title search.

To find individual articles use an index. Or, search a fulltext database that contains your periodical.

Sometimes, historians use newpapers or magazines that don't have an index and aren't available online. In this case, begin by browsing key dates.

GALILEO Databases


  • To find articles from journals, magazines, or newspapers, as well as other materials, use the GALILEO collection of databases.
  • To find information databases in GALILEO specifically helpful for Archives and Primary Resources, select this link.
  • To view video tutorials for selected GALILEO databases. select this link.

Try these databases, accessible through GALILEO!

Please note the descriptions of each collection.

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Frequently Asked Questions

Contact Us:

GALILEO Discovery Search

Discovering What’s New in GALILEO

Searching is easy with Google.  Searching is relevant and reliable with GALILEO databases, yet often requires determining the particular subject databases to locate the relevant results. Now in many cases, you may not need to choose between easy AND smart.

GALILEO’s new Discovery Service is easy, relevant, and reliable for many searches. In many cases, basic searches achieve meaningful results. GALILEO provides tools to manage research, such as a personal folder and facets for drilling down to the most useful articles.

When you are off campus, you will need the GALILEO password, and in some cases your username and password for iCollege, in order to access these GALILEO links.

DISCOVER tool handout

The DISCOVER tool is that big search box on the GALILEO homepage. Use it to search many (but not all) GALILEO databases, e-book collections, and the GIL-Find@ GPC catalog.