GSU Library Research Guides: World Religions: General Research Guide: General Religion Sources

Databases

Atla Religion Database (Atla) This link opens in a new window
Coverage begins in 1908 for complete articles and reviews from major religion and theology journals.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage of world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 13,000 videos on religions all over the world from different perspectives.

Websites

ARDA
Association of Religion Data Archives, provides national and global maps, charts, national & regional reports, and surveys on the religious beliefs and behaviors of Americans.
Hartford Institute for Religion Research
Academic research, especially of American congregations.
Religion and Public Life
Based on the extensive polling and analysis of Pew Research Center observations on American religious life.
Atla Websites on Religion
Websites reviewed by librarians. Check the starred, top-rated sites.
Religious Studies Web Guide
From the University of Calgary an excellent and very usable collection of web sites for the academic study of religion.
Wabash Center Internet Guide
A comprehensive directory related to the Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in the the Study of Religion.

Sample titles available from GSU Library

Reference books are a great place to learn the basics about world faiths. The experts who write on each topic refer you to other reliable sources. Use the Indexes to help you refine your research to specific terms.

Milestone Documents of World Religions (eBook) by David M. Fahey (Editor)
The set covers all of the world's major religions from Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, and more.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices (eBook) by Thomas Riggs
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact followers' daily lives.
Religions of the World: Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices (eBook) by J. Gordon Melton; Martin Baumann
Covers every country's religions' history, traditions, its major geographical sites, and its major celebrations.
The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions by Bowker, John
Call Number: BL31 .O84 1997 (Atlanta & Dunwoody)
An A-Z guide covering all aspects of World Religions; movements, sects, cults; texts, books; individuals; sacred sites; customs; prayer, biogenetics, asceticism, confession and more.