Skip to main content

World Religions: General Research Guide: Databases

The guide is designed for students in RELI 1301 and 1301H and for persons with general interest in the major faith traditions of the world.

Internet Directories

There are many directories of Internet resources that have been reviewed and found acceptable by academic professionals.  The directories are browsable more than searchable, so find the category you are researching and open the related list of links.  Here are some recommended for your use.

Religious Studies Web Guide

Saundra Lipton of the University of Calgary has assembled an excellent and very usable collection of web sites for the academic study of religion.

Wabash Center Internet Guide

A comprehensive directory related to the Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in the the Study of Religion.

A source of religious statistics used by many for scholarly purposes.  Be sure to evaluate each information source for authority and currency.

The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)

Find Membership Information for U.S Counties and States, view denominational reports, examine national profiles, explore interactive maps, access teacher and student resources. (Presented by the Reference and User Services Association [RUSA] of the American Library Association: project supported by The Lilly Endowment, The John Templeton Endowment, Penn State University.)


Encyclopedia of Religious Practices

Database Tutorials

If you need instructions on using a particular database, you may find a video tutorial produced by GSU librarians on this page. Tutorials Research Guide.