GSU Library Research Guides: World Religions: General Research Guide: Islam

Databasees

Atla Religion Database (Atla) This link opens in a new window
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for major religion and theology journals.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage from 1986 - current on formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Be sure to check out the Cambridge companions to American Islam, Classical Islamic Theology, Sufism, and more.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Islamic Studies Online product site has been retired and has now moved to Oxford Reference or Oxford Handbooks Online.
Titles added to Oxford Reference are:
The Oxford Encyclopedias of the Islamic World: Digital Collection, , Liberal Islam, Makers of Contemporary Islam, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford History of Islam, Islam in Transition, Modernist Islam.

Websites

Islam and Islamic Studies
A resource rich directory assembled by Professor Alan Godlas of the University of Georgia.
Euro-Islam
A compilation of news related to Muslims in Europe and North America. Also country profiles.
IslamiCity
Authentic video of events and practices.
Islamic Texts and Art
Though not in approved Arabic, the Koran, Haddith, and many Sufi texts are included on this site.

Sample titles available from GSU Library

Reference books are an excellent source to begin learning about a topic. Be sure to look at the end of an entry to see the books and articles the expert recommends for a topic.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (eBook)
Call Number: BP40 .E525 2004 (Clarkston)
Aimed at the general reader. More than 500 articles, 200-5,000 words in length, describe the Islamic world from its known beginnings to the present day.
Islam (eBook) by Catharina Raudvere
Islam: An Introduction offers undergraduate students of religion and general readers a balanced, sensitive and well informed overview of the world's most intensively discussed religious and cultural tradition.
An Introduction to Islam in the 21st Century (eBook) by Aminah Beverly McCloud (Editor); Scott W. Hibbard (Editor); Laith Saud (Editor)
A global introduction to Islam, covering its history as well as current issues, experiences, and challenges. Directly addresses controversial issues and different responses from Islamic communities.
Islam (eBook) by Malise Ruthven
Call Number: BP161.2 .R86 1997 (Atlanta)
"A Very Short Introduction" offers an essential insight into issues such as the `Jihad' (holy war), why Islam has such major divisions between movements, and how the Shar'ia (Islamic law) has become such an important aspect of Islamic life.
Islam: the Basics (eBook) by Colin Turner
Call Number: BP161.3 .T878 2011 (Atlanta)
This book provides an introduction to the Islamic faith, examining the doctrines of the religion, the practices of Muslims and the history and significance of Islam in modern contexts. Key topics covered include: the Qur'an and its teachings, Prophet Muhammad, gender, and diverse approaches to Islam.