Skip to main content

Epics for Beginners: General Research Guide: Databases and Web Sites

This guide makes the study of ancient epics easy and entertaining.

Table of Conents

Table of Contents

Databases and Web Sites

Databases


This page helps you to select databases for your research and to learn more about databases that cover epics. With this papers there is no one right place to start. Begin where you feel most comfortable, and if that doesn't work try something different. our database needs will also vary depending on whether you research your epic directly or look for background information, .


Literarature Resoucre Center


Literature Resource Center is your source for full text overviews, criticisms, and articles about your epic. Literature Resource Center's content is 100% full text and consists of articles taken from Gale's wide range of literary criticism book series, including Epics for Students.

To learn more about how to use Literature Resource Center, try Step by Step with Literature Resource Center.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography

Yes, the Modern Language Association, which creates and maintains this database, also is behind the MLA style used in your works' citeds. MLA International Bibliography is the largest language and literature database in the world, and yes it covers epics, mythology, and the Bible as literature. It is the database your professor consults for his or her own research. It consists entirely of links to articles from scholarly journals. Unfortunately, only a small percentage of this database is full text. Make sure you click full text when searching.

To learn more about MLA International Bibliography, try Step by Step with MLA International Bibliography.

JSTOR JSTOR LOGO


JSTOR is a nearly 100% full text database for older, scholarly humanities, history, and social science articles. This means you can use JSTOR to find out background information about your epic, as well as articles that discuss the epic itself. JSTOR covers a small set of core scholarly journals all the way back to their first issue. To obtain the best results, usually use Advanced Search.

For help using JSTOR, try Step by Step with JSTOR.

Web Sites for Maps and Images

Web Pages for Maps and Illustrations

Below is a short, but effective, list of sites that offer maps and illustrations. To use them, just click on the URL and then search either by your epic's title or by a place name, deity, character etc... Note: Nearly all the images on these pages are COPYRIGHTED. Using them one time on a note card for a class with proper attribution is probably not publishing and may be covered by fair use. Please do not reuse these images on your own web site or Facebook page.


ARTStor on  GALILEO database of famous and ancient images and artifacts.
Creative Commons Use this site to search Flickr for images that have only some rights reserved. You can often modify such images with a clean conscience and publish them on the web or in print material.
Google Images A large image database. If you can't find it anywhere else, it may be here. Note: Google has serious privacy issues.
Images at Ask.com Another large, surprisingly easy to use image databases. Remember, the images are copyrighted.
Google Maps Google Maps shows both the road and terrain for living cities mentioned in epics.