Skip to main content

ENGL2112 - World Literature II: Where to Search

This research guide is designed to help you find sources of literary criticism for selected works as well as information about authors and literary movements.

Databases

Within these databases can be found:

  • Literature criticism
  • Biographies
  • Topic and work overviews
  • ‚ÄčReviews and news
  • Primary sources and literary works
  • Character overviews
  • Critical essays
  • Play explanations
  • Plot summaries

How to find your database's Subject/Search Terms

When searching for articles through the digital databases, use subject terms or search terms rather than keywords to narrow your results. Subject terms and search terms are controlled vocabulary in words and phrases assigned by databases to help retrieve more relevant resources.

Academic Search Complete - terms are found through the "Subject Terms" link on the blue ribbon at the top of the page.

Bloom's Literature - does not have a subject terms thesaurus

Gale Literary Sources - terms can be searched through basic search or advanced search as the top of the page.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Subject Guide Search is found under Advanced search under the keyword box at the top of the page.

JSTORdoes not have a subject terms thesaurus

Literary Reference Center - Subject Index is found by clicking the pulldown tab "More" and choosing "Indexes." Next chooses "Subjects" under the "Browse an Index" pulldown tab.

Literature Criticism Onlineterms are found through the "Topic Finder" link at the top of the page.

Literature Resource Center does not have a subject terms thesaurus

MLA International Bibliography - terms are found in "Thesaurus" link on blue ribbon at the top of the page.

Literature Databases

Using GIL to find books

GIL logo

  • To find books at GSU, use GIL-Find, the library catalog.
  • If you can't find a book at GSU, change the dropdown box in GIL Find to University System of Georgia libraries to look at USG libraries throughout Georgia. (You can request these books using a GIL Express request.) 
  • Use the Quick Search option for a broad keyword search, more like searching on the Internet. A keyword search looks for your search term(s) anywhere in the catalog record.
    Use the Advanced Search option to limit your search to a specific field in catalog records. This can be used to search for a book with a known author or title, or it can be used to search for books by subject heading.

Try using your author's last name in a subject search

Try searching for romanticism or realism as subjects

  • Once you find a book, check the location, status, and call number. Location will tell you which campus owns the book,  status will indicate if the book is available, and the call number will tell you where to find it on the shelf.
  • Don't forget - you can request items from other GSU libraries and USG Libraries. Books from GSU usually take 1-3 business days to arrive and can be picked up at the circulation desk. Books from USG take 2-7 days to arrive.