Skip to Main Content

More Database Handouts: Step by Step with ABI/Inform

Sometimes popular and general databases are not enough. Learn to search more social science, local, statistical, and education, and dictionary databases step-by-step.

Step by Step with ABI Inform

Where to Go

Back to Step by Step for More Databases for Argument, Social Science, and Public Policy Papers.

Back to Science Research for Nonmajors.

Have you looked atStep by Step for Finding Books and Using Popular Databases,

Or Step by Step with Science and Technology Databases?

Back to Handouts for You

Search Proquest ABI/Inform.

Step by Step with ABI/Inform

ABI/Inform is the definitive business database. Even if you are not a business student, ABI Inform offers readable information about: science, new inventions, technology, and regulation as well as the full text of the Wall Street Journal’s Eastern and Online editions.


Choose databases A-Z and here's the alphabet 1) Start with the A-Z list of databases below the big discover box on the library web page

2) Select A.

3) ABI/Inform is one of the first choices. Click its blue link to begin searching.

4) A typical college level search often involves two ideas, for example drones in warehouses.

A boolean search on using drones in warehouses in ABI/Inform You need to turn this topic into a statement that ABI Inform understands by combining the main ideas with AND. Drones in warehouses can become drones AND warehouses or if you prefer drones AND logistics (a business term meaning shipping and delivery). You can also use "quotes" to bind "phrases together," for example "unmanned aerial vehicles" for drones.

5) Select the Full Text box before going further.

6) Type in your search. Click the white magnifying glass in the turquoise box to start your search.

The ABI/Inform search box ready to search for drones in warehouses

7) Proquest presents results in groups of 20.

8) There are hints for improved searching in the light gray box at the top of the results list. Click more to see all the "hints."

Proquest presents results in groups of twenty but you only see three



9) You can narrow to Full Text, Magazines etc.... with the facets on the left side of the page. Note: trade journals are can be an excellent source of short, insightful articles.

10) And you can remove older articles, by sliding the knob toward the right in the turquoise date graph in the facet box on the left of the page.

11) You can move between pages with the Next Page and Previous Pagelinks at the bottom of the window, or you can choose a page number. 		A closer look at Proquest's facet box for narrowing searches

12) Open articles by clicking on their blue titles.

13) To see PDF versions of articles, select the PDF icon.  The gray and blue Proquest PDF icon


14) To revise your search, edit what is in the search box at the top of the page and click the white magnifying glass.
15) To print your article, click the blue print link in the light gray box on the right of the page. How you print in a Proquest database