Skip to Main Content

Step by Step with Literary Reference Books - Handouts: Selected Sources about Drama and Poetry

Learn to find both print and electronic, literary criticism, reference books and definitions for specialized, literary criticism and library terminology.

Selected Sources for Researching Drama and Poetry

Where to Go

Back to Step by Step wtih Literary Criticism Reference Books

Also try Step by Step wtih Literary Criticism Articles

Return to Handouts for You

Sources of Literature Criticism
Reference Books

Search Gale Literary Sources

Search Gale Virtual Resource Library

Search Bloom's Literature

Selected Sources for Researching Drama and Poetry

Drama Reference Books
African American Dramatists: an A to Z Guide Ref. PS338 .N4 .A69 2004
American Drama Criticism Ref. Z1231 .D7 .P3
Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome Ref. PA3002 .A5 1982
and Gale Virtual Resource Library (GVRL)
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama Ref. PN1861 .C65 2007
A Companion to Renaissance Drama Ref. PR651 .C66 2002
Contemporary Dramatists Ref. PR737 .C57 1993
 
Contemporary Literary Criticism Ref. PN771 .C59
and Gale Literary Sources
Critical Survey of Drama Ref. PN1625 .C73 2003
Literary Reference Center
Drama Criticism Ref. Z5781 .C65
Literary Criticism Online
Drama for Students Ref. PN1601 .D595
GVRL
Dramatic Criticism Index Ref. Z5781 .B8
The Facts on File companion to American Drama Ref. PS330 .F33 2004
Greek and Roman Authors Ref. Z7016 .G9 1982
The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students Ref. PR2976 .G739 2005
Guide to Critical Reviews Ref. Z5781 .S16 1984 Pt. 1
A History of African American Theatre Ref. PN2270 .A35 .H55 2003
International Dictionary of Theatre Ref. PN2035 .I85
Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism Ref. Z6511 .M25
Magill Index to Critical Surveys Ref. PN524 .M34 1990
Magill Index to Masterplots Ref. PN44 .M335 1994
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama Ref. PN1625 .M3 1984
Shakespeare's Characters for Students Ref. PR2989 .S53 1997
Shakespearean Criticism Ref. PR2965 .S43 1984
Literature Criticism Online
Shakespeare for Students Ref. PR2987 .S47
GVRL
Databases: All are available through GALILEO
Academic Search Complete Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Gale Literary Sources JSTOR
Literature Online (LION) MLA International Bibliography
Literary Reference Center Literature Resource Center


 

Poetry

Poetry Reference Books
American and British Poetry Ref. Z1231 .P7 .A44 1984
Articles on Women Writers Ref. Z2013.5 .W6 .S37 1977
A Companion to Victorian poetry Ref. PR591 .C66 2002
Contemporary American Ethnic Poets: Lives, Works, Sources Ref. PS153 .M56 .L56 2004
Contemporary Poets Ref. PR603 .C6
Contemporary Women Poets Ref. PS151 .C67 1998
Critical Survey of Poetry: English Language Series Ref. PN1021 .C7 1992
Critical Survey of Poetry: Foreign Language Series Ref. PN1021 .C72 1984
Explicator Cyclopedia Ref. PR401 .E9
The Facts on File Companion to 20th-Century American Poetry Ref. PS323.5 .F33 2005
The Facts on File Companion to World Poetry: 1900 to the Present Ref. PN1271 .A73 2008
Greek and Roman Authors Ref. Z7016 .G9 1982
Guide to American Poetry Explication Ref. Z1231 .P7 .R66 1989 (Vol. 1)
Ref. Z1231 .P7 .L46 1989 (Vol. 2)
Guide to British Poetry Explication Ref. Z2014 .P7 .M34 1991
Harlem Renaissance: A Gale Critical Companion Ref. PS153 .N5 .H245 2003
Magill Index to Critical Surveys Ref. PN524 .M34 1990
Poetry Criticism Ref. PN1111 .P63
Literature Criticism Online
Poetry Explication Ref. Z2014 .P7 .K8 1980
Poetry for Students Ref. PN1101 .P756
GVRL
Shakespeare: A Selective Bibliography Ref. Z8811 .W85 1988
Shakespeare for Students Ref. PR2987 .S47 1992
GVRL
Shakespearean Criticism Ref. PR2965 .S43 1984
Literature Criticism Online
Thematic guide to American poetry Ref. Z1231.P7 .B87 2002
Databases: All are available through GALILEO
Academic Search Complete Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Gale Literary Sources JSTOR
Literature Online (LION) MLA International Bibliography
Literary Reference Center Literature Resource Center