Skip to Main Content

Step by Step with Literary Reference Books - Handouts: Selected Sources About Novels and Short Stories

Learn to find both print and electronic, literary criticism, reference books and definitions for specialized, literary criticism and library terminology.

Selected Sources for Researching the Novel and Short Stories

Where to Go

Also try Step by Step wtih Literary Criticism Articles

Back to Step by Step with Literary Criticism Reference Books

Return to Handouts for You

Sources of Literature Criticism
Reference Books

Search Gale Literary Sources

Search Gale Virtual Resource Library

Search Bloom's Literature

Selected Sources for Researching the Novel and Short Stories

The Novel and General Literature

Reference eBooks

These books are available in assorted GALILEO databases. Make sure you are logged into GALILEO if you are off campus. Then click each title. Some titles need an extra click.

African American Writers
GVRL 		African Writers
GVRL
American Ethnic Writers
Academic eBooks on EBSCOHost 		American Jewish Fiction: A JPS Guide
Ebook Central
American Writers: A Colleciton of Literary Biographies
Gale Literary Sources
Search within the results with the box on the right. 		Blackwell Literature Handbooks: Crime Fiction Handbook
Ebook Central
British Writers
Gale Literary Sources
Search within results using the box on the right. 		Contemporary African Writers
Gale Literary Sources
Humanities Insights
Ebook Central 		Literature and Its Times 1997 and Literature and Its Times 2003
GVRL
Magill's Critical Survey of Long Fiction
Literary Reference Center 		Magill's Literary Annual
Literary Reference Center
Masterplots II African American Literature
Literary Reference Center 		Masterplots II Women's Literature Series
Literary Reference Center
Masterplots 4th Edition
Literary Reference Center 		Masterplots Definitive Revised Edition
Literary Reference Center
New Handbook of Literary Terms
Ebook Central 		Novels for Students
GVRL
University of Minnesota Pamphlets on American Writers
Ebook Central


The Novel and General Literature

Print Reference Books

These are mainly older, reference books available in the Perimeter College Clarkston Library (JCLRC) reference area on the second floor.

American Fiction to 1900
Print 		REF Z1231 .F4 .K57
American Women Writers
Print 		REF PS147 .A4
Asian American Literature
Print 		REF PS153 .A84 .A82 1999
Black American Women Novelists
Print 		REF Z1229 .N39 W47 1989
Black Literature Criticism
Print 		REF PS153 .N5 B556 2008
Black Writers
Print 		REF PN490 .B53 1994
Contemporary Novelists
Print 		REF PR883 .C64 2001
Contemporary Southern Writers
Print 		REF PS261 .C569 1999
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters
Print 		REF PN44 .M3 1998
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature
Print 		REF PS153 .N5 .E48 2007
Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature
Print 		REF PS153 .I52 .M43 2007
Encyclopedia of the Novel
Print 		REF PN41 .E487 1998
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
Print 		REF PN771 .E5 1999
The English Novel: Twentieth Century Criticism
Print 		REF Z2014 .F4 .E53
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature
Print 		REF PS153 .A84 .G74 2009
Hispanic Literature Criticism
REF PQ7081 .A1 .H573 1994
Modern American Women Writers
Print 		REF PS151 .M54 1991
Databases: All are available through GALILEO
Academic Search Complete Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Gale Literary Sources JSTOR
Literature Online (LION) MLA International Bibliography
Literary Reference Center Literature Resource Center

Short Stories

Reference eBooks

These books are available in assorted GALILEO databases. Make sure you are logged into GALILEO if you are off campus. Then click each title. Some titles need an extra click.


Blackwell Guides to Literature : British and Irish Short Story Handbook
Ebook Central 		Magill's Critical Survey of Short Fiction
Literary Reference Center
Masterplots II Short Story Series
Literary Reference Center 		Short Story Criticism
Literature Criticism Online
Short Stories for Students
GVRL

Short Stories

Print Reference Books

These are mainly older, reference books available in the Clarkston Library (JCLRC) reference area on the second floor.
Facts on File Companion to the American Short Story
Print 		REF PS374 .S5 .F33 2010
Reference Guide to Short Fiction
Print 		REF PN3373 .R36 1994
Short Fiction Criticism
Print 		REF Z5917 .S5 .T5
Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication
Print 		EF Z5917 .S5 .W33 1967 and 1977