GSU Library Research Guides: CRJU 8710: Legal Aspects of Criminal Justice: Law Reviews & Articles

Law Reviews

Law Reviews & Journals are another great secondary source for researchers looking to start and expand upon their research. Reviews and journals are the primary forum for legal scholarship in the academic legal community. Generally the articles included in these publications are written by law professors, judges, legal scholars, and law students. These articles contain a wealth of information, including footnotes that cite to primary authority and other secondary resources.

Georgia State University Law Review by Georgia State University College of Law

Quarterly published by 2nd & 3rd year GSU law students. "The fall issue features an annual legislative review known as the Peach Sheets."
Criminal Justice Review by Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, Georgia State University

"...focuses on all aspects of crime and the justice system and can feature local, state, or national concerns."

Here are two good places for locating law review articles:

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Offers four major library collections: Law Journal Library, Federal Register Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library. Note: Access is provided by the Georgia State University College of Law Library.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of legal materials and journals, including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials

List of Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for criminal justice and criminology research journals. Covers all related subjects, including forensic sciences, criminal law, and more.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Criminology: A SAGE Full Text Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of 24 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 20,400 articles and up to 87 years of backfiles.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Offers four major library collections: Law Journal Library, Federal Register Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library. Note: Access is provided by the Georgia State University College of Law Library.
Georgia Legislative Documents This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Georgia Legislative Documents Project has digitized Georgia's Acts and Resolutions from 1799 to 1999. All but a few years are currently available online.
Legal Source This link opens in a new window
Providing indexing and full-text coverage of the most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Source is the authoritative database for current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
A Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.
Proquest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
ProQuest legislative histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of legal materials and journals, including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials