Skip to main content

*SOCI 3030 Sociological Theory (Holland): Finding
Articles

SOME KEYWORD SEARCHING TIPS:

You could try just searching for the name of the theory or theorist:

"symbolic interaction"

"du bois" OR "double consciousness"

Or, if you want to see if it's been applied to a specific topic, add that on:

"symbolic interaction" and identity

("du bois" OR "double consciousness") and identity

Getting to Articles from Databases

1: Look for a "Full-Text" or "PDF" link that will take you directly to the article. If yes, great. If not, go to #2.

2: Look for the FINDIT @ GSU button. Click on it. If the journal title shows up, click the link to see what the online availability is. If not, go to #3.

3: If you see the "Sorry, no electronic full text is available" message, click the link below it that says "We may have a copy in print."  If yes, go to the library to copy the article.  If we do not have it in print, go to #4.

4: Request the article you need through interlibrary loan - typically arrive within 1 day, so definitely worth trying!

Library Databases

These databases are good to search, regardless of your specific topic:

  • Sociological Abstracts - click the Peer Reviewed checkbox under the search field to limit your search to peer-reviewed/scholarly journals
  • Academic Search Complete - do a search, then to the left of the results click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit your search to peer-reviewed/scholarly journals
  • PsycINFO - great for social-psychological theories (e.g., Du Bois's double consciousness, anomie theory) - click the Advanced Search option and limit your results to Peer Reviews and Methodology = EMPIRICAL STUDY
  • Google Scholar - To see the fulltext links for GSU from off campus: On Google Scholar main page, click More and then Settings in top center of screen, then at next screen click Library Links, search for Georgia State University, checkbox Georgia State University - FullText @ GSU.

Then possibly search these other databases for specific topic areas:

  • Ageline (gerontology/sociology of aging topics) 
  • ERIC (education-related topics)  

** The above EBSCOhost databases can be searched simultaneously - Click on Academic Search Complete, then, before doing your search, click the Choose Databases link, select the relevant databases for your research topic, and click OK. **