Skip to main content

Georgia Women Speak!: Assignments

Assignments

Georgia Women Speak!


 For speech, 

Assignment 1:

Think of an important issue in our classroom, school, community, city, state, country, or world. You are going to write a speech about this issue and give it to the class For your own speech, identify:

a) purpose

b) audience

c) time frame

d) venue

e) message

f) context

g) body language

h) speaking style (colloquial, formal, poetic)

Assignment 2:

Think about your audience, purpose, and speaking style now think about the speeches we have watched and read. What elements of these speeches would you like to use in your own speech and how do you plan to do that?

Assignment 3:

Write an outline of your speech.

Assignment 4: 

Write a rough draft of your speech

Assignment 5: 

Get with a partner and say your rough draft of the speech to one another. Speaking your speech out loud will help you smooth out the rough edges and fix any awkward syntax. Help each other do this. 

Assignment 6: 

Practice your speech at home in front of the mirror. You should start working on your body language and speaking style. If you would like, refer to videos of prominent public speakers.

Assignment 7:

GIVE YOUR SPEECH.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory