Skip to main content

Georgia Women Speak!: Course Outline

Course Outline

Georgia Women Speak!


 Day One:

Introduction to Rhetoric Lecture

   - This lecture will delve into a brief history of rhetoric and explain to students why rhetoric is important. For inspiration for this lecture refer to the "rationale" section of this curriculum. The lecture should address:

   - Why is public speaking important?

   - Rhetoric as an art form

         - Invoking the muse 

          - Style

   - Persuasion

Day Two:

How to write a speech

   Establish the important parts of a written speech. 

         a) purpose

         b) audience

         c) message

         d) structure

Homework:

Assignment One

 

Day Three:

Cathey Steinberg

   - Give students a background of Cathey Steinberg's career, her positions, and the context of the speech.

  - Students will divide into partners. Each parternship will have one of Cathey Steinberg's speeches. 

   -The partners will....

         - Study her speeches

         - Identify the four key aspects of her speeches: purpose, audience, message, and structure.

         - How does she address each of these elements in her speech?

Homework:

Assignment Two

 

Day Four:

Nell Trotter

   - This time, give students no context for her speech and tell them nothing about Dean Trotter.

-The Partners will....

         - Study her speeches

         - Students will attempt to identify the four key aspects of her speeches: purpose, audience, message, and structure.

         - How does she address each of these elements in her speech?

         - How do these elements tell us about who she is, where and why she is speaking? 

   - Have several students share what they think is the context of the speech. 

   - Give students actual biographical information of Dean Trotter and explain that a speech should have identifying markers to clue in the audience.

Homework:

Assignment Three

 

Day Five:

How to Give a speech

Homework:

Assignment Four

 

Day Six:

Pearl Cleage

Begin the class with students watching Author Pearl Cleage's video.

As a class:

   - How does Pearl Cleage talk about the process of writing?

   - What does she say about the process of speaking?

   - What elements does she use that are part of the classical oratory tradition? (mentioning legends, celebrities, invoking the muse, repitition, parallel structures)

   - How does Pearl Cleage use humor in her speech? Is this effective? 

   - What does Pearl Cleage say about women's oratory history and traditions?

Homework:

Assignment Five

 

Day Seven:

Shirley Franklin

   - Have students watch Mayor Shirley Franklin's first speech.

      - Identify audience, purpose, message, and context.

      - Replay section 12:00- 14:30, what is she doing specifically during this section? How does her tone change?

   - Have students watch the second speech.

      - Identify audience, purpose, message, and context.

      - How is her tone different in the second video? 

      - How does she build a framework for what she will say?

      - Why does she mention the former mayors of Atlanta?

Homework:

Assignment Six

 

Day Eight:

Class will give speeches.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory