Skip to main content

Georgia Women Speak!: Objectives and Goals

Georgia Women Speak!

Georgia Women Speak!


The curriculum will feature

-Women in the arts - Pearl Cleage

-Women in politics - Shirley Franklin, Cathey Steinberg

-Women in education - Nell Trotter

Students will learn about famous women politicians, artists, and educational leaders in order to study the fundamental elements of rhetoric. Georgia women have a wealth of knowledge and style from which to draw. Students will study rhetoric as an art form focusing on the writing of speeches and the giving of speeches to better their oratory skills.

Objectives

The overarching objectives for this unit are 

- Students will identify within Georgia women's speeches...

   a) purpose

   b) audience

   c) time frame

   d) venue

   e) message

   f) context

   g) body language

   h) speaking style (colloquial, formal, poetic)

Goals

- Students will write and give a speech to the class.

- Students will implement what they have learned by studying famous women speakers in their own speeches.

- Students will practice public speaking.

- Students will learn about the history and art of rhetoric.

- Students will discuss how women have contributed to the oratory history of Georgia.

Common Core Standards

Grades 11-12


CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.SL.11-12.4

Present information, findings, and supporting evidence, conveying a clear and distinct perspective, such that listeners can follow the line of reasoning, alternative or opposing perspectives are addressed, and the organization, development, substance, and style are appropriate to purpose, audience, and a range of formal and informal tasks.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.SL.11-12.6
Adapt speech to a variety of contexts and tasks, demonstrating a command of formal English when indicated or appropriate. (See grades 11-12 Language standards 1 and 3 here for specific expectations.)

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.W.11-12.1.A
Introduce precise, knowledgeable claim(s), establish the significance of the claim(s), distinguish the claim(s) from alternate or opposing claims, and create an organization that logically sequences claim(s), counterclaims, reasons, and evidence.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.W.11-12.1.D
Establish and maintain a formal style and objective tone while attending to the norms and conventions of the discipline in which they are writing.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.W.11-12.2.D
Use precise language, domain-specific vocabulary, and techniques such as metaphor, simile, and analogy to manage the complexity of the topic.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory