GSU Library Research Guides: Technology Transfer: Patents

Derwent Innovations Index

Derwent Innovations Index is a global patent database within the Web of Knowledge platform. The database includes the Derwent World Patents Index as well as the Patent Citation Index. The Index includes information from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities, including data from 1963 forward. Included in the record for patents are links to patents citing a patent, as well as those patents and articles cited by the examiner. Among other features, the database includes an analysis tool for working with large groups of results.

To access Derwent Innovations Index, go to the Web of Knowlege database, click the drop-down arrow next to "Web of Science Core Collection" and select "Derwent Innovations Index".

Patent Databases

Use these databases to search for and read the full text of U.S. and international patents. Start with SciFinder Scholar and the Derwent Innovations Index; after that, try one of the bolded databases depending on when and where the patent application was filed.

Derwent Innovations Index
A global patent database that Index includes information from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. Go to Web of Knowledge, click the drop-down arrow next to "Web of Science Core Collection" and select "Derwent Innovation Index".
esp@cenet
esp@cenet, a free internet service from the European Patent Organization, offers 4 databases of patent records from around the world. Includes U.S. patents after the 1820s.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
PDF Downloads (Patent Fetcher) Full text of all US patents from 1790 to the present. To save a PDF copy, enter the patent number into Patent Fetcher.
Patent Lens
Patent Lens searches the full text of patents from the U.S., Australia, Europe, and worldwide. Use PatentLens primarily for searching within the text of patents.
FreePatentsOnline.com
Covers U.S. (1976+), European, Japanese, and worldwide patents. Use as a supplementary source; contains intrusive ads, but covers some U.S. patents not in U.S. Patent database.
IP Newsflash Patent Family Search
This free service allows you to search for patent families complete with their legal status based on INPADOC data.
Canadian Patent Database
The Canadian Patent Database has been developed by CIPO (Canadian Intellectual Property Office) to provide users with extensive information on Canadian patent documents from 1920 to the present.
Patent Fetcher
PatentFetcher offers free PDF downloads of U.S. patents by patent number, as well as paid downloads of European patents. Use for U.S. patents with known patent numbers only; free PDFs of European patents can be found in the above resources.
Google Patent Search
This patent search engine full text searching of over 7 million patents issued by the US Patent and Trademark Office and works much like Google's Book Search.
WIPO PatentScope
Searches over 10 million international patent documents, including over 1 million patent applications.
European Publication Server
European Patent Office patent applications and granted patents.
WikiPatents
The WikiPatents Community contributes to the US patent system by reviewing issued patents and pending patent applications. WikiPatents features a wiki-like interface to review, rate, and discuss patents -- plus free patent PDF downloads, file histories, and advanced patent searching.
SureChem
Search more than 7 million unique chemical structures in complete full text collections of US, European and WO/PCT patents.

Contact information

Laura Carscaddon
Department head, Research & Engagement
Georgia State University Library
404-413-2804
Lcarscaddon1@gsu.edu