Skip to main content

Marriage & Family: Find Articles

Library resources and research tips for students enrolled in PHIL 3710: Marriage & Family


Use the following tutorials to learn more about how to locate articles in journal and other periodical sources.

What is peer review?

  A peer reviewed journal article is an article that has been reviewed and chosen for publication by the author's professional peers. These peers are scholars in the field, who sit on the editorial board of a journal which is usually published by a professional organization or a university press. Peer reviewed articles can also be known as scholarly or refereed articles. 

Evaluating Articles

Finding articles on your topic is just one step in the research process.

After locating a few articles you should evaluate them to determine whether they are suitable to use for your research project. The following tutorial provides access to pages telling you how to do just that.

Article Databases

Use the following Library databases (search tools) to locate articles in scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines on your topic.

Possible search terms include:

  • India AND marriage AND same sex
  • Nigeria AND family AND law
  • China AND marriage AND one child policy
  • Saudi AND marriage  AND gender roles

Subject Specific and General Scholarly Journal Article Databases

Keep in mind when using the following databases that scholarly journal articles almost always focus on a very specific aspect of a broader subject.. When searching these resources you may need to use very specific search terms to find relevant information.


India AND (marriage OR marry OR marital OR matrimony) AND same sex

Law Journal Databases

Magazine Article Databases

Use the following Library subscription databases to locate magazine articles on your topic. Magazines can often be a good source of news on contemporary issues.

News & Current Events

Newspapers are often the first source to report on a news-related event or a topic of interest to the general public.

Still not finding what you need?

 Try the Library's new Discover Search.

Discover searches across most of the library's databases and holdings using one simple search tool.

Advanced Discover Search or use the search box below.

GSU Library's Discover Search
Limit Your Results:

Database Search Tips

1. For off-campus access, enter your Campus ID and Password at the prompt.

2. Use the Advanced Search option within the database you are using to achieve the best results.

3. Keep your search terms brief and concise.

4. Check your spelling. Library databases do not correct spelling errors.

5. If your first set of search terms doesn't retrieve any results, try using synonyms that describe your topic.

6. You can search for different forms of a word (different word endings of the same word), by typing the first few letters followed by an asterisk. Example:

  • famil* will search for family, families, familia, familiar, etc.

7. Use double quotation marks around two or more words to search as a phrase. Example:

  • “family formation" 

8. Use the connecting words AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Examples:

  • family AND marriage - to search for articles that include both terms
  • family OR marriage - to search for articles that contain either term

9. You can create more complex searches by using the words AND, OR, NOT, in combination with parentheses. Example:

  • India AND (marriage OR marry) AND (same sex)

10. If don’t see a full-text link (HTML full text or PDF), try clicking on the

button to determine whether the article you need is available full-text in another database.  If it is, the Find-It service will direct you to the article.