Skip to main content

POLS 4256: Political Economy of Japan (Reimann): Find Articles

Information and resources for students enrolled in POLS 4256: Political Economy of Japan.

Tutorials

Use the following tutorials to learn more about how to locate articles in journal and other periodical sources.

What is peer review?

  A peer reviewed journal article is an article that has been reviewed and chosen for publication by the author's professional peers. These peers are scholars in the field, who sit on the editorial board of a journal which is usually published by a professional organization or a university press. Peer reviewed articles can also be known as scholarly or refereed articles. Peer reviewed articles will always provide a reference or works cited list of the sources used by the author in writing the article. You can search for these sources using the library's online book catalog and article databases.

Citation Searches

Need to locate an online version of an article for which you already have the citation? Try the library's

Citation Linker

To use:

  • Enter as much information as you have about the article (title, journal name, volume, issue, etc.) into the form and click GO.
  • From the resulting page, click on the name of the database which includes the year of the article you need.
  • Follow the available options to locate the article.

Introduction to Databases

Use library databases to locate articles on your topic. Library databases (also called indexes) are like internet search engines, but instead of searching for websites, article databases search for articles in scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.

  • Library article databases help you search for scholarly journal articles on a particular topic.
  • Some article databases provide the full text of the article.
  • Some article databases also contain lists of government documents, books, book chapters, dissertations, theses, images, and more.

Below you will find both subject specific and multi-subject databases that will help you locate articles on political science topics.

For articles on other topics, check out the library's list of Databases by Name A-Z 

Political Science & History Journal Databases

Business & Other Journal Databases

Multi-Subject Journal Databases

Magazine Article Databases

Use the following Library subscription databases to locate magazine articles on your topic. Magazines can often be a good source of news on contemporary issues.

News Databases

Still not finding what you need?

 Try the Library's new Discover Search.

Discover searches across most of the library's databases and holdings using one simple search tool.

Advanced Discover Search or use the search box below.

GSU Library's Discover Search
Limit Your Results:

Google Scholar

If you still aren't finding enough information, try searching Google Scholar, a specialized search engine provided by Google that allows you to search and locate scholarly articles on a topic. If used on-campus, it will even provide you with links to the articles that are available through the library's online databases: 

Google Scholar

Database Search Tips

1. For off-campus access, enter your Campus ID and Password at the prompt.

2. Use the Advanced Search option within the database you are using to achieve the best results.

3. Keep your search terms brief and concise.

4. Check your spelling. Library databases do not correct spelling errors.

5. If your first set of search terms doesn't retrieve any results, try using synonyms that describe your topic.

6. You can search for different forms of a word (different word endings of the same word), by typing the first few letters followed by an asterisk. Example:

  • econom* will search for economy, economies, economic, economical, etc.

7. Use double quotation marks around two or more words to search as a phrase. Example:

  • “economic reform" 

8. Use the connecting words AND, OR, and NOT to narrow or broaden your search. Examples:

  • reform AND recovery - to search for articles that include both terms
  • reform OR recovery - to search for articles that contain either term

9. You can create more complex searches by using the words AND, OR, NOT, in combination with parentheses. Example:

  • Japan AND immigration AND population AND (decline OR ageing OR fertility OR "birth rate")

10. If don’t see a full-text link (HTML full text or PDF), try clicking on the

button to determine whether the article you need is available full-text in another database.  If it is, the Find-It service will direct you to the article.