Skip to main content

Freshman Learning Communities: Natural Sciences

This portal features guides for each freshman learning community. To get started, click on the tab related to your major.

Library Workshops

In addition to the Research Essentials workshops, the library also offers workshops specifically for students in the natural sciences.

PubMed Skills Workshops
PubMed is one of the natural sciences databases. It is home to thousands of scholarly and evidence-based articles. Students in the natural sciences will find knowledge of PubMed extremely helpful to their various research endeavors. From the basics to advanced research, we’ll address anything you need. 

All PubMed classes will be held from Noon to 1pm, Classroom 2, Library North, 2nd floor

  • Monday, September 16, 
  • Tuesday, September 17
  • Wednesday, September 18
  • Thursday, September 19
  • Friday, September 20

Basic Natural Sciences Research Workshops
Starting your research can be overwhelming! Join your librarians for a brief presentation and discussion of the tools and skills that will be most helpful for you.

  • Dates not yet set.

Science Databases

Looking for scholarly journal articles in the sciences? Start with one of these databases.

Getting Started

Where Should I Start?

Ready to start researching, or need some help writing? This guide will take you through the basics.

Finding Scholarly Sources

For most research in the natural sciences, you'll want to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. The best way to find these is to search in one of the specialized databases (like Web of Science or PubMed) or Discover, which searches the catalog and many of the databases.

Not sure which one to use? Discover is good for non-scholarly sources like magazines and interdisciplinary topics (such as global warming), but it doesn't search most of the science databases. If you're looking for scholarly articles in the sciences, try one of the Science Databases listed below. For tips on using Discover, check out the Using Discover box below.

Writing Your Paper

Once you've found your sources, you'll have to cite them in whatever you're writing. The sciences use a lot of different citation styles, so ask your professor which one you're using and check out these library links on citing your sources:

The Writing in the Sciences research guide goes over what makes writing in the sciences different than writing in other fields.

What Next?

As you take more science courses and do more research at Georgia State, you may find that you want more science resources or need to ask more complicated questions. The science research guides, one for each major, have many more links and tips on how to find what you need in any topic--and your subject librarians are here to answer any questions you may have. Check out the Natural Science Librarians box on the right for links to each guide and contact information for your subject librarian.

Using Discover


GSU Library's Discover Search
Limit Your Results

 


Discover Search Tutorial (1:16)  

The GSU Library has a search box called Discover on the homepage that searches the catalog and many of the databases. To get the most out of Discover, watch the tutorial and keep these tips in mind:

  • Be specific with key words.
  • Put phrases in quotation marks such as  "local food movement" 
  • Use the Advanced search to limit with additional keywords such as United States.
  • Use the limits on the left such as scholarly (peer reviewed) articlesfull text, or library catalog.

Remember, Discover doesn't search many of the science databases--if you're not finding what you need, try Web of Science or one of the other databases.

Chat with Us!